We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    282
    144
    45
    25
See reviews for
71
197
114
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have stayed at the ibis a few times now. Although a late check out on the website is available. the 3 times I have requested this I have been told no.
in fact on this last occasion was told the hotel was full but when enquired if I could book for an extra night there was rooms available. I do not appreciate being lied to and also having the inconvenience of having to leave by 12 noon. Because of meetings this made things dufficult. I appreciate yout site states if available but this never seems to be the case. I was prepared to pay for tge latr checkout.
I would like to say that all ithrr aspects of the hotel are above averafe, but sadly being lied yo by memvers staff have ruinef the posite review of this hitel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and i'm sorry that you were disappointed with your experience of Ibis Sheffield City Centre. As discussed with you, late check outs are subject to availability and not normally available on Saturdays, especially to late afternoon, as, given, most weekends we have several groups and individuals attending various events and functions and invariably arrive much earlier than the 2pm check in time. In respect of room availablity this can change on a minute by minute basis, subject to the type of bookings that are made for a given date. I'm pleased that we were able to offer you an extended check out on your last visit .
I do hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is probably the nicest ibis I've stayed in. Good location only 10 min walk to bus & train station, and around a 10 min walk to the bars etc.

only cost £50 for a double room to for a Saturday night.

Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't stay for any.

I'd defiantly stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindsey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We're very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was ideal for you visit.
I hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great central location, easy to find, very clean and comfortable hotel.
I particularly liked the seating area in the room, a small thing perhaps, but a lot of hotels just give you the one hard chair, not exactly comfortable or useful for 2 or more people.
The bathroom 'pod' was fab, spacious and clean, plenty of elbow room in the shower cubicle!
I only really have two complaints; It was a little noisy due to the main roads and tram line nearby. The windows worked well at cutting that out, but not good for fresh air fiends like myself, I felt a little suffocated during the night but couldn't have slept with window open. Second complaint? No biscuits to go with my coffee, I thought that was pretty standard these days and one freebie I always appreciate and enjoy whenever away on a trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your review and glad that you found our location ideal for your visit, however we're sorry that we did not fully meet your expections but hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Ibis Sheffield City is quietly located near Park Square and close to city centre shops and within a 5 minute walk from the bus interchange and about 8/9 minutes from the train station.
As usual, I was on a fairly tight budget, but was pleasantly surprised by the affordable rate shown for this hotel.
The check-in was friendly and efficient and I requested the optional good value English buffet breakfast offer as I knew from previous visits that this would sustain me for the rest of the following day.
Rooms at the hotel are en suit, quite spacious, clean, quiet and have nice comfortable beds that guarantee a good night's sleep. There is also multi-channel TV, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi available, although I did not use the latter.
There are bars and restaurants fairly close to the hotel, but you can also get snacks, meals and drinks in the hotel until quite late.
Both breakfast and check-out staff were friendly and helpful and so I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ibis Sheffield City to others as it offered very good value, comfort and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for another very generous review, my team and I really do appreciate your kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

As a regular at Ibis hotels I knew that the check in would be fast and efficient plus we were allocated a room suitable for disabilities at my request. The room was clean & spacious but here is the big warning :- the floor of the shower when wet is lethal and I did a full dive onto the floor and bruised a very delicate part of the sitting down equipment. There is a very small notice in the shower that bathmats are available but I would suggest these should be mandatory in the disabled rooms. Hotel good but showers deadly !!.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. My team and I appreciate your review and I take your comments in respect of the shower very seriously. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing