We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This authentic Italian restaurant is Sheffield's best kept secret!”
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Reserve with OpenTable
La Luna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #830 of 1,453 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This authentic Italian restaurant is Sheffield's best kept secret!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've been to La Luna many times and it's by far one of my favourite restaurants.

The food is always consistently excellent and the waiting staff are always friendly, polite and efficient.

If you've ever been to a true little family run side street Italian restaurant, you'll recognise this gem! There are many 'Italian' restaurants around but this is by far the most authentic I know outside Italy.

Other things to mention are there is free parking in the car park at the rear of the restaurant and it's a bring your own wine with no corkage charges! There is a small off licence opposite, however, their selection isn't great. There is a Co-Op just down the road with a better selection.

They're also currently doing a £10.95 offer for a starter and a main course which means a very inexpensive night out when you take your own wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W417OCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    21
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE LALUNA!! :)”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My family have been visiting this restaurant for a few years now and have never had a bad experience yet! The staff are always so friendly and the atmosphere is great! It is now in our hearts as I just got engaged there!
I couldnt think of a better restaurant for it to take place as its a really rustic warm place that always delivers great service.
I would reccomend this place to any italian food lovers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie-June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a date night”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wanted to go for a nice meal on a Saturday night. Googled restaurants and this came up. First people in,(bit awkward) but staff made us feel welcome by friendly chatting. Service was fast and food was great! Really enjoyed it. Ended up getting really busy, staff were busy but still tried their hardest to serve us. Defiantly would recommend :) thank you :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Efficient service”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Came here in a group of seven mid week and we couldn't fault the food or the service. Agree the decor is a little dated but we were all impressed with the food. No long waits like some reviewers experienced and it all tasted freshly prepared and was hot. The waitress couldn't have been more attentive. I hadn't been here before and think it's a great place for group dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“tasty food, BYOB, friendly staffs”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Was here with some friends for dinner, before visiting the last laugh comedy club. Also we came quite early and were the only table to be served for the first half an hour.
the restaurant was quite small and a bit dark, and tables are smalls.
Not for fine dining occasion, old tables, old italian style restaurant.
But cosy enough for dinner with friends. And the staffs were friendly and helpful.

We all got different starters, but from bruscheta to king prawns, all were tasty and fresh. My friend`s sea bass was excellent, although my lamb cutllets was even better!

as we are allowed to bring our own wine, we did save quite a lot (my three friends are keen drinkers lol)
We spent about 90 pounds for starters, mains and desserts, and left the restaurant as 4 happy persons. And for that quality, it is acceptable price.

my friend who lives in Sheffield said we need to call for reservation as they are usually busy on week ends.
will visit the restaurant again when i visit Sheffield next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing