We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book direct or prepare to be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We reserved a double room at the Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, booking via hotels.com. Upon arrival, we found that our room was a twin, with no option to push the beds together because of furniture fixed to the wall.

I asked to be moved to a double room but was told none were available (clearly not the case as our friends who arrived a few minutes later were given a double room). The hotel staff were adamant that the issue was with booking through an agency and that "room preferences cannot be guaranteed".

Annoying as this is (BTW, I consider a "sea view" to be a room preference but things like "non-smoking" or "double bed" to be features of the product being sold), the Duty Manager did eventually arrange for us to stay at the neighbouring Holiday Inn Royal Victoria, but only after I'd repeatedly asked for the Holiday Inn Customer Service number (like many UK properties, this is a franchise, operating under licence).

Incidentally, Holiday Inn's online team were ready to step in and help when I was getting no-where and tweeted my frustration, although I didn't need to involve them after we moved hotels...

Room Tip: Don't book though any agencies - book direct with Holiday Inn Express (and you should get the sa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear MarkAWilson,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room and customer service. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 922 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was difficult to get to: we tried several different routes before being able to access the car park. It really needs to be signposted.
The receptionist dealt with our reservation efficiently. Our room was well maintained, the bed comfortable and we slept well without hearing any noise from adjacent rooms.
The free breakfast was terrible, there was limited choice, items were difficult to find and the scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a great trip advisor score.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that we offer at the hotel. Due to regulations set by the brand we do have a limit as to what we can offer at breakfast, however we will certainly look further into improving the quality of the breakfast we offer.

Please do note that if you wish to visit the hotel in the future, we do have a very helpful website which will offer you assistance in getting to the hotel with minimal confusion.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a stop-over to the Lake District. Rooms very clean, modern, had 3 people in our room with a double bed and a double bed settee, all very comfy. So comfy that we all overslept till 9.30 the following morning!! Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice, only gripe is they don't serve bacon! Overall very good value, small hidden charge of £5 for overnight parking but, for total of £55 for all 3, fantastic deal. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger2002636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely feedback. I am glad you found our rooms that comfy you overslept!

Please note that for your next stay with us, we do offer car parking inclusive rates, these are available on our website or by calling the hotel direct

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our party consisted of two couples staying at the Sheffield Holiday Inn Express. On arrival I parked in the N.C,P. car park which is next to the hotel and the first one you come too, this was a mistake as the hotel has its own car park but to find it you need to drive past the front door of the hotel, but be warned it is not very big and badly laid out with a large number of disabled spaces which were not in use. On check in the receptionist was most helpful and ask if we would like room close to each other, which is always a nice when traveling as a party. The location of the hotel is a bit remote from the centre of Sheffield but as we were on a pub crawl it did not really bother us that much. Our rooms were on the forth floor and were very well appointed with a very comfortable bed but wardrobe space was a bit of a joke if you were staying any length of time as it was just an open rail about 3 feet long at best. The flat screen TV in our room was not working and was quite a complex piece of equipment (for me anyway) and we told the receptionist on departure about the problem to which she said we should have phoned down and it would have been sorted out for us. Breakfast was somewhat disappointing with a choice of sausage beans and scrambled egg on the hot selection but wider choice on the cold side but as it was included in the room price I suppose we could not complain too much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, you feedback is much appreciated!

The receptionist was certainly correct in that we could have resolved your issue with the television in no time as our duty managers are fully trained in the maintenance of the televisions in case of emergencies such as yours. I am however glad you enjoyed our comfy beds, we do get a lot of comments on how nice our beds are!

As the Holiday Inn Express is part of a hotel brand, we do have to stay within the guidelines of the brand for our breakfast offering, which means that we are governed to offer 3 hot breakfast items within our free breakfast offering, however I am pleased that you enjoyed our wide range of cold breakfast options with the free breakfast.

It would be great to see you at the hotel again soon where we have the very best intentions for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was booked to entertain at a function in the Holiday Inn Victoria Sheffield, and the company I worked for booked me and my partner in to the Holiday Inn Express which is right next door. All I can say is everything about the hotel was fantastic and unbeatable value for money, the staff could not be any more helpful, the room was really nice with all the facilities you would find in a top class venue, and the complimentary breakfast was superb, well done Holiday Inn. I would recommend this Hotel 100% if you plan to stay in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for such great feedback Tony!

Please do return the next time you are entertaining in Sheffield

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn express on business for one night, mid-week & we found what we were looking for......peace & quiet in the city centre.....how rare!!!! Great food choice's for a small hotel. Very adequate & healthy breakfast, complemented by the Costa coffee availability. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly & helpful. Comfy beds with a choice of pillows. Excellent sound proofing from the traffic. Very clean & spacious shower/bathroom.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to our family/colleagues & we would definately stay there again, no question!

Room Tip: Corner room facing the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick56911965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Rick,

Thanks for posting such great feedback on the hotel, we really do value your comments.

We hope to see you again soon at the hotel

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is fantastic value for money. Right in the centre of Sheffield, clean and comfortable rooms with a stylish design and very friendly and helpful staff at all times. Plenty of space in the rooms and bathroom with a large walk-in cubicle shower. Beds very comfy and room temperature easy to control.

Downstairs, the bar is well stocked and the breakfast selection on offer was of a very good quality. The only slight inconvenience is that there is limited regular parking spaces (probably only about 15 spaces or so) whilst there is a disproportionate number of disabled spaces (6 or 7). Because there were no regular spaces available when we arrived, we were told to park in a disabled spot but "please keep your phone on at all times in case we need to ask you to move it".

Aside from this an excellent hotel. We will definitely be returning when we are next visiting!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Alex C,

Thanks for your great feedback on the hotel! We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again soon

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $68 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing