We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasent surprise”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time in Holiday Inn Express and pleasently surprised. Stayed over for a sports tournament with my daughter

Very helpful staff in reception who saved me some money on the car park. Room was spotlessly clean and well equipped for the price. Plenty of towels which seems to be unusual at this price.

Got a good night's sleep with no disturbance from the other rooms which was good. Had breakfast very early so missed any queues that there might have been later on. Breakfast was fine for us as it was included in price, with the exception of the orange juice which was one of the most revolting concoctions I have ever tasted.

Good value , decent location close enough to the city centre if you know which way to walk! Maps given out by the hotel were hopeless.

Will stay here again for sure if need to come back agaiin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners ending 01 seem to have bigger pitcure windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungerfordbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind comments.

We will look into the orange juice offered during breakfast as this is the first comment we have received on this matter, many thanks for this feedback.

I will also review the maps that we distribute to guests as they are there to help the guests as much as our staff are.

I am pleased to see that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    370
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
166
244
38
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel location is a 5 - 10 minute walk away from central Sheffield. Our room on the 7th floor was large; very clean and had a good sized bed (mattress was a little hard). The bathroom was a good size and had a modern shower. Stayed on the Sunday evening of Bank Holiday weekend and had a good night's sleep, with no noise from other guests.

The bar area is nice and offers a relaxed atmosphere - when my group were there anyway! The staff that I came into contact with were friendly; professional and willing to help. There are snacks and drinks available from the reception area (quite expensive). The car park is 'pay and display' and is £5 for 24hrs. You'll need to speak to reception to get the £5 rate (added to your bill), or you will pay £8 if you use the machine in the car park.

This hotel is excellent value if you get a good rate online. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback and its good to hear that you would stay with us again!

Hope to see you again soon


Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a very pleasant experience. A modern, clean, well equipped hotel with good beds, great showers, nice view, and a very friendly and helpful staff. If they also had a little more space to accomodate all the breakfast guests, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Try to book a room viewing south, that is not at the side of the very busy road, for otherwise openi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great comments and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night after attending a concert in Sheffield. We didn't need parking as we arrived by train and the location is about a 10/15mins walk from the train station, across the bridge and straight to the hotel. We arrived at about 2:30pm and check-in was instant and welcoming, we were advised of breakfast times and pointed to the lifts to take us to our room on the 7th floor (top floor).

Well the room was spotlessly clean. Huge double bed, nice view of river, large shower cubicle with power shower, stylish interior for a budget hotel I thought. Also included kettle and teas/coffees and hairdryer, one sofa seat, one table chair and flat screen TV with a fair amount of channels in various languages. Choice of soft or firm pillows available on the bed and the bed was really comfortable. With the window open it was fairly noisy with traffic below, but closed we didn;t hear a thing, and we both slept well.

We popped down after our concert at about 11:30/midnight to the bar and bought a bag of sweets and two fizzy drinks to take back to our rooms. You could also get baguettes, biscuits etc as well if you wanted or get drinks from the bar area.

We came down to breakfast at about 9:45am ish and there was a bit of a queue for food but not much waiting. The breakfast includes cooked options - scrambled egg, sausages, baked beans, toast and also other bits such as cereals, crossiants, danishes, cheeses, yogurts, fruit ect with the usual condiments. Drinks included orange, apple and tropical fruit drinks, water, tea and coffee. You just walked round the corner of the bar and the help yourself area was there, plenty of tables to sit at. Only suggestion would be to think a bit more about the layout of the food area as it was very small and many times people were waiting for certain foods thatt no one else was actually after, but they were being blocked out by someone else getting something else becuase of the layout. There also wasn't much room to put your tray either when you were filling your plate up.

Checked out at about 11:30am and no queue again - so very happy with the stay all in all. £52 including breakfast - great value for money. We would definitely stay again. Booking early definitely saves you a lot of money too.

Room Tip: 7th floor was nice and quiet - but may well be the same on all the floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments, we are pleased that you and your partner had a great stay with us and we hope you will return soon

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn express for 1 night after attending a concert at the motopoint arena. There were 9 of us in total. When we arrived our rooms where not available even though the booking stated 2pm check in. Also we where asked to leave a £100 deposit secured on a credit card this also was not stated at the time of booking. Finally settled into our rooms around 3.15pm. The rooms where lovely although no welcome pack or times for breakfast anywhere...had to ring down to reception. The breakfast was nice but if you are expecting a full english breakfast then you will not get one at this hotel! Check out..well that was an experience....we had to have our rooms checked by a member of staff before leaving which I find shocking after all the average age of our party was 30! requested 3 taxi's to the station only 2 arrived so had to rebook almost missing our train home. would I stay here again... probably not there is alot of other hotel in the area and would try one of them next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummypig84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay with us.

Asking guests for a deposit against the room is a regular procedure for the hotel, we do this to cover the room against any incidentals which may occur in the room or for if you chose to charge items to your room. If guests do not wish to leave a cash deposit then we do accept a credit or debit card instead. I do apologise that you found this an inconvenience and it delayed your check out. We do not intend to upset or inconvenience our guests it is simply a security process we put in place and you would most definitely find the same procedure in other hotels around the UK. Having said this, I will most definitely look into the procedure to ensure that is becomes more efficient and guest friendly.

You are correct in saying that our check out time is stated as 2pm, and this means that your rooms should have been ready for when you arrived. Having looked into this matter further, I believe that your wait was due to ensuring that all of your rooms were located close to each other with the intention of making your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. However, this is no excuse for you having to wait to be checked in to your rooms.

I am pleased that you found breakfast 'nice'. The breakfast is a free option which we offer to guests and due to brand guidelines, we are limited in offering any more. However, we do have a sister hotel also in the centre of Sheffield who offer a great full English breakfast so if this is what you are looking for when you are next in Sheffield, be sure to look us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times now, it is always our first port of call when staying in sheffield. The rooms are very clean and larger than you would expect for the price. It is a very comfortable hotel with everything you expect. Breakfast is included in the rate, which includes a hot buffet style, plus the usual continental selection. The location is good, easy to get into town, only a 5 minute walk. Overall its a great hotel which offers good value for money in a central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner - you get great big windows that go round the corner of the room, plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Steed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thanks for the great feedback on the hotel!

We hope you return to the hotel the next time you visit Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darkest suffolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Comfortable and well run this was our second visit.
Breakfast has improved with a good range of hot and cold food.
The room was well presented and had a double bed and sofa bed.
The staff are very attentive and the public areas well kept.
We would recomend this hotel for a break as it is only a short walk into the city centre.
Good on site parking

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locoman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks for staying with us again and for the positive comments,

Hope to see you again soon

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing