We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you looking for a convenient no frills city centre hotel then this will fit the bill. Rooms are of a good standard, beds comfy, well decorated but no extra goodies like shampoo etc just body wash, ugh no way would I wash my hair with that stuff. And wi-fi doesn't come free, that's extra. Car parking extra too, £16 for 2 night visit, have just read some reviews and think you need to be pushy with the reception staff to get the £5 deal. And movies expensive £12!!, cheaper to go to the cinema. Breakfast very average, nothing cooked fresh to order but its a reasonable standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlMatfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    385
    131
    28
    14
See reviews for
181
257
40
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well im hard to please so when i give praise it is well deserved, our room was warm, clean, well decorated with good sized beds. I was with my shower loving 19 year old daughter when she saw clean well fitted shower it certainly pleased her, the towels were fluffy and good size.
Staff very helpful with a welcoming smile. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked car park and busy road but no traffic noise heard so room 1312 ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzielizzie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

As its a new hotel everything is immaculate. The room was spacious and the bathroom was more than adequate. The shower is fab and even has several shelves for shampoo etc. We were on the top floor so it was lovely & quiet. Breakfast was simple but nice except for the 'scrambled egg'

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express the night before a swimming gala. We arrived around 8pm and unfortunately the car park on the same level as the hotel was full. Therefore we enquired at reception, who told us when we booked in we could use the adjacent car park which is near the Holiday Inn (£5 for the entire stay payable on check out). This was simple once booked in as you then get a swipe card for the lift. My only issue was that you have to plan to leave and take all your gear to the car before checking out and surrendering your card. For us not a problem once you know the system.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We needed the sofa bed making up in our room and they attended to this. The room was clean and compact. It was a little warm, however the AC was great. The noise level from other guests was fine and had a good night's sleep.

We did not have breakfast although this was included in our room rate - so can't comment.

We certainly would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: floor 6 quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwiftNickLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn express in Sheffield UK. The location is very convenient being closely located to the rail station, the local universities, and most important - food. The hotels staff was always very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were about the right size. I did read Katmf's review and it reminded me that we had the same issue - parking in the overspill lot - had to have the key to go down the lift. Not well thought out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEARBOLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here before and liked it, great deal at £42 for a double incl breakfast. We knew from last time there isn't much parking but we arrived about 7 and went to the overspill as we knew there was a lift to reception. This time however we needed a room card to operate the lift and as we hadn't checked in we didn't have one. This meant a walk in the rain in a quite badly lit area. If I was by myself I would not have felt safe at all. Mentioned this at check in and they said you need a card for security and I agree that security is needed but at least make the area you need to walk along a bit nicer so women esp if they are alone feel safe.
The room was great, very spacious and clean. This time we faced the main carriageway and I didn't sleep well due to traffic noise. If we stay again I'd ask for a quiet room.
Breakfast was quick and efficient.
Frustratingly we saw lots of people parked in the hotel car park in unmarked spaces and, when we left the barrier on the car park wasn't down and so it wasn't necessary for us to be charged the £5 parking fee as it was not a secure car park which was what we were paying for. Not sure if I'll return, might go back to using thd copthorne if there's not much difference in £

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynsdohadinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am saddened to hear that your stay was not as good as the first time. In response to the car parking issue, please note that the car park is operated by a third party called Parking Eye and is fitted with a number plate recognition system as well as multiple CCTV cameras for security. With this in mind I do hope that you and your car would feel more secure staying at the hotel again in knowing this.

Regarding the lift access control, this was installed for security reasons when the hotel was build. However, we are currently investigating to possibility to modify the access control to allow unrestricted access during day light hours as we do appreciate that it can be an inconvenience for our guest to walking around to get to the hotel entrance.

It would be great to see you return to the hotel again where we can hopefully show you what a great hotel we are and offer you the service which you deserve.

We appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

12th October 2012 Room 1501 Double

We booked through expedia, as a secret hotel, which we were not told where until after payment. It was £48 for a double room including breakfast. It was easy to find the hotel and it had plenty of parking. Its also within 10 minutes walk of the town centre, which we walked easily.

On arrival, the staff were very helpful, pleasant and informative. The check in process was quick. In reception they have a nice spacious seating area, a drink & sandwich cabinet & a snack machine. There is also a small bar, with a fairly large seating area with tv. After going out to eat, we returned to the bar for a few drinks and found it to have a very pleasant atmosphere.

The bedroom was really spacious, although wardrobe space was limited. The bed was REALLY comfortable, and the tv big enough and mounted on the wall, so visible from the bed. There was also a large sofa/sofa bed and a desk. There is a telephone in the room for room service as well as tea & coffee making facilities. There is also a hairdryer in the room plus irons available at reception.

The bathroom was fabulous. Lighting was fantastic with plenty of sink space and a huge mirror. The shower was also large with body wash provided, and lots of hot water.

The room (1501) faced the side of the hotel, overlooking the carpark and river. It was actually rather quiet too, and it wasnt until about 7am that i heard the first traffic noise. The room was also really dark, with no light getting in from outside, but if your like me and like some subdued lighting in the room at night, there is a lovely blue light you can put on in the bathroom. EVERYTHING was spotlessly clean, not a single speck of dirt. Housekeeping is obviously a high priority here, and i was very impressed.

In the morning we went down for the self service breakfast (which was included in the price of £48), and although it was unexciting, it was edible & ample for a start to the day. Plenty of tea, coffee and juices. They had cereal, fruit yoghurt, toast, sausage, beans and scrambled egg. The egg actually tasted better then it looked, which was a bit colourless, but it was freshly made and edible. Plenty of jams & butter etc. It was fresh, basic but filling. For £48 for 2 people in a double room with breakfast, I was very impressed.

We used the multi story carpark, which used a token system, It cost about £7 for an overnight stay, which isnt to bad.

The only downside, was the cost of drinks at the hotel bar. Im glad we took a few bottle with us for in the room. We had 4 single vodkas with mixers, from the bar, which cost £19.75!!! I've had cheaper drinks in London...

We had a very enjoyable evening at this hotel, and would stay again ;-)

Room Tip: 1501 is a generous double room and fairly quiet. Watch out for the drinks prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkythreads2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing