We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bound to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Hull
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bound to improve”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Opened this summer, it's a welcome addition to Sheffield. Difficult hotel complex to get into by road, i was disappointed by several things: very slow reception; only 1 lift operational;my room key didn't work;dirty towels in the bathroom;tv not tuned. Having said all that, i was accompanied back to my room to ensure I could get in; towels and tv were sorted when I was at dinner. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Cooked breakfast a lovely addition to the Express way of doing things. All will improve, I have no doubt. A very modern, comfy bedroom and fabulous to die for shower. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are not so spacious BUT still enough room if you prefer to sleep separate !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PushyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your GREAT feedback.

I will look discuss the bedroom issues with my head housekeepeand hope you will find a significant change on your next visit.



Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    377
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
171
248
39
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great location for the city centre, trams, buses, Ponds Forge venue etc and streets ahead of the other budget hotels in the vicinity. Stayed here as a family when it first opened in August and was more than satisfied with the clean, modern look and feel. Breakfast experience felt very chaotic however, but I put this down to recent opening and bedding in.
Returned for another 2 night stay recently (wife and kids in tow) and was sadly disappointed with some of the basics. What I thought was a rogue long black hair on the bathroom floor, turned out to be one of many, scattered around the floor, gathered under the toilet or attached to the bathroom tiles. Not great!
Had to pop down to reception to get some regular coffee as the room only had decaff. The following day the used coffee cups, sachets, milk pods had been left untouched on the tray, although a new supply of decaff & milk had been left. Asked one of the maids in the corridor for some regular coffee but they just said they didn't have the stock!
The breakfast serving area still doesn't work. An 8ft sq area with no safe place to balance your tray on one side does not lend itself to a relaxing start to the day and feels like there's an accident just waiting to happen.
Note to chef(s) - cook the sausages a little longer so they don't look like they've just come out of the packet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12houses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your feedback. I will be discussing the cleanliness of the rooms with my head housekeeper and am already looking at the lay out of the breakfast area as several guests, especially in the weekend when we have a lot of double occupancy have commented

Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Sheffield has been a bit hit and miss for hotels for a long time. The addition of a centrally located HIE is welcome and this one has been built and fitted out to a high standard - much better than standard HIE fayre, this is more boutique hotel than medium level chain. Didn't try the bar - HIE beer is generally rubbish. Free breaksfast was decent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your GREAT feedback.

Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed here for one night when visiting Sheffield.

The hotel was about 10 minutes walk from the station, and was quite easy to find. The staff were friendly and check-in was easy.

The room was comfortable and very quiet and the bed comfy. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit odd (very dim, and mostly blue light: it reminded me of the lighting they use in dodgy public toilets to stop people injecting drugs!)

I thought that the breakfast was fine - at this price I'm pleased to have any breakfast at all, and the toast, croissants and coffee were all perfectly OK.

I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed for one night here. The room was nicely furnished and clean,with a choice of soft or firm pillows.The bathroom was clean modern with a large walk in shower.
The main let down was the breakfast.The only hot choices were beans,value sausages and lukewarm scrambled eggs.The choice of cereals was cornflakes or honey cornflakes.Tea coffee and the fruit juices came out a machine.The milk was away from the tea and cereal. The chocolate pasties were nice but the other pastry which resembled a crossiant weren't fully cooked.There didn't seem to be any staff clearing away and the tables were sticky.Also there didn't seem to be enough tables and some people were eating at the bar.
Lastly it was an extra £4 for the car park we only just managed to get a space.
All in all will try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcurrantjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your I will look into the lay out of the breakfast area and hope you will find a significant change on your next visit.

I was sad to hear about the selection of FREE breakfast items as we actually have 5 different
cerials and many bread and fresh fruit options.

I hope you will try us again in the near future so we can confirm the high standard we should/will have in place.


Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A city centre hotel. Modern and adequate.

DIY breakfast a bit chaotic.

Beware of car parking charges and make sure you pay and display, or you may receive a demand for payment. If you add the parking charges to your bill keep the receipt

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muhyiddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your GREAT feedback. I will look into the lay out of the breakfast area and hope you will find a significant change on your next visit.



Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We used to stay at the Royal Victoria Hotel over the road, but saw that this place was much cheaper. It is new and clean and right in the middle of town. The room was surprisingly comfortable. We arrived late and they don't do much in the way of food, but the staff made me a pizza with extra toppings and I was very grateful. The staff were genuinely caring, although for some reason they are paranoid about the parking lot which I think is owned by the City not the hotel. It is not easy to find a way in by road...one of those hotels where you can see the sign from miles away but never find the way to it, but once in it was a pleasant enough stopover. Breakfast was less chaotic than at some other Holiday Inn Express hotels, so I couldn't complain on that front. It could benefit from a business centre....only one PC in the lobby, and always surrounded by people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Sir

Many thanks for your GREAT feedback.

Our food offer is limited as directed by the brand head office, but as we are a sister hotel of the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria you are free to dine in the Holiday inn bar or restaurant and have this charged to your room at the Express

I look forward to your next visit with us in Sheffield.


Best regards

Steven Vandevelde - General Manager ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing