We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE - IT'S AWFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell Scott Hostel
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can't emphasise enough how AWFUL this so-called 'hostel' is. DO NOT STAY THERE. You couldn't PAY ME to stay there again. This isn't a hostel. It's a scummy, disgusting house with some random guys supposedly running it as a 'business' on a shoe string. It felt extremely unsafe, both from a hygiene and crime point of view. Every room I saw was FILTHY, particularly my bedroom. We stay in a 'private room' (I wouldn't even use such a room as a broom cupboard or cellar, let alone a bedroom). I can honestly say I have never smelt such a strong stench of mould in my life. The walls were crumbling, there was one huge hole where it appeared someone had punched the wall, the wall 'art' was mouldly... The worst thing was the filthy finger prints and stains on every single door - disgusting. You might think it's cheap, but believe me - IT ISN'T CHEAP ENOUGH. Stay somewhere, anywhere else.

Room Tip: AVOID this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsPExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hostel is what it says on the tin! Cheap! If you want a hotel, then book a hotel!! Our stay would have been terrible but for the fact we met some great Lithuanian people who were shop fitters staying there. We will be keeping in touch. The best part of the Hostel is the kitchen/dining area, it is a place where everyone goes and has food and drink together and socialises, we had some good nights and will not forget my stay there in a hurry lol

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at Russell Scott Hostel for only one night in early September, 2012. I took the National express bus to Sheffield Interchange from Leeds with huge luggage. I booked a taxi to pick me up at a pub called Old Queens Head. After about 10 minutes taxi ride I finally arrived at the hostel, a bit surprised. It's located on a steep hill in Upperthorpe, suburb of Sheffield. It took me minutes to drag my huge luggage into the hostel..and it was raining outside. Certainly a lot of effort.

The guy at reception was Libyan British. He said he was born and raised in Sheffield. But he didn't sound so to me. Anyway the hostel owner, or the guy who was in charge, was from Yemmen if memory serves. The guy at reception was nice. I told him i was very interested in Arabic and he very kindly copied Arabic learning material to my USB stick.

The neighbourhood was a bit run-down with a lot of ethnic stores (selling mainly halal food). It had a large Tesco though. I bought a ready-made chicken tikka masala. I brought it back to RS hostel and nuked it in the kitchen. Really LOVED it. I ate chicken tikka masala 10 days on end after that.

Wifi connection at the hostel was somewhat sporadic but generally speaking it was not too bad. They didn't have lockers there so I had to constantly worry about my stuff. One of my roommates was from Australia who left the comfort of home and chose to work at a local restaurant serving boring traditional English foods (Fish and chips, yorkshire pudding sort of thing). He'd been staying at the hostel for at least a month so he really made himself at home. He was basically going commando with only a dirty towel wrapped around his waist. The way he was addressed was more like someone from a third-world country. He had to do shifts. Not sure if he still lives there anymore.

The pillowcase, sheets, blanket were not very clean. Presumably they hadn't been changed or cleaned for days. The night I stayed happened to be extremely cold. And my bed was next to the window. I could literally feel the chilly winds blowing towards me. Unfortunately the heaters inside didn't work. So I had to go to bed with my thick hoodie and jeans. They offered to give me a blanket and asked me to change to another bed slightly further away from the window at midnight. But I declined cuz I was only staying there for one night and couldn't be bothered to do that.

I got up early the next morning and had to jump into the freezing shower (water was very cold and no heating).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

From start to finish our experience with Russell Scott was TERRIBLE. An hour before we were due to arrive we received an inaudible message telling us there was no room at the hostel despite having booked 3 weeks prior.

We were told we would be accommodated nearby but the price was £60 for one night (double the price we had paid)- We were also told that we would be reimbursed for the extra cost.

Upon arriving to our new hotel the owners had no idea what Russell Scott were talking about and said no room had been booked!

Luckily they had a spare room and were able to put us up last minute or else we would have been without a bed for the night!

Over 4 weeks later and we still have not received the money Russell Scott owe us and we have been lied to on several occasions!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I had two single rooms booked here, however, when I turned up, I had to wait in the sort of reception for ten minutes until somebody came, when they came and looked at the booking sheet, they advised that the rooms were unavailable due to a water leak. I was offered beds in a shared room for free but if I'd wanted to share with people I didn't know I would have booked that way. I should have been advised before arrival.

Stayed: December 2012
4  Thank 720Nick720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had placed a reservation with this hostel over 6 weeks prior to our visit. Only to receive a phone call as we walked up the road to the hostel to check in to explain that our reservation was being cancelled as the hostel didn't have any availability- when challenged on the ridiculousness of this statement the excuse changed to we don't accept website bookings anymore and they were not able or willing to honour there written contract with me. Nor where they prepared to help arrange an alternative.

Whatever the reason this is a totally unsatisfactory way to operate a business. DO NOT BOOK in to this hostel- Do Not accept this kind of service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toby_7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were advised that this was a cheap hotel, so were surprised to find out it was a hostel. However no problem we can do this. We could not check in on arrival at midday, check would be after 2.00 P.M. As we had a 1.00 appointment we did not see the room or the facilities. The 3 bed room was clean the beds were okay but the toilet downstairs smells of mould and damp, (must be a leak) the upstairs bathroom has a bath with shower attachment but no rod or holder for the shower head. Shower head in one hand soap and rinse with the other. A less than satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: Stay somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,545 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Scott Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Scott Hostel

Address: 28 Brandreth Road, Sheffield S6 3JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sheffield
Price Range: $21 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Scott Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Russell Scott Hostels also known as R S Hostels offer our guests safe, secure, clean, spacious budget accommodation being the only backpackers hostel in Sheffield, South Yorkshire. We are not profit driven. With you having a great time in Sheffield and staying with us, is all we wish for! We do not believe in making extra from you, your basic needs are all taken care of - internet access, washing machine, bed linen, breakfast all inclusive in the room/bed rate.We believe that small is beautiful. We pride ourselves in offering cheap accommodation by which we don't mean over crowding the place or reduce the facilities we offer. For example our dorms have single beds in them and the maximum no of people in our dorm is six even though the room could easily accommodate eight people. Knowing what it is like to be a backpacker/traveller and knowing little needs go a long way, we decided to provide value for money accommodation with no compromise whatsoever on the quality or most of the perks that you would enjoy in a star hotel for one third of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell Scott Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing