We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out with small children”

Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter the exotic and discover a wild family day out in South Yorkshire! Meet lemurs, meerkats, owls, otters, snakes, lizards, a tarantula and other amazing animals during unforgettable Animal Encounters throughout the day. Take your seat for spectacular shows, featuring free-flying birds of prey, parrots and charismatic mammals! Explore the indoor rainforest; home to butterflies, birds, bats, crocodiles and creepy-crawlies from around the world and meet and feed the friendly residents of the Farm Barn. Discover the charismatic primates of Lemur Heights and meet the inquisitive residents of Otter Springs. Take a selfie with our new dinosaurs and get closer than ever before to some of the most popular animals in the brand new walk-through mammal enclosure. Pre-booked group and School visits are welcome and VIP Experience Days and Animal Adoptions are available to purchase, as well as popular Birthday Party Room Hire. The Realm of Camelot adventure playground, outdoor Wet Play Area and indoor Activity and Craft Centre will entertain children in all weathers, and popular themed events take place at the centre during School Holidays. Facilities include a Picnic Room, Jungle Gift Shop and a modern Butterfly Cafe, serving freshly prepared hot and cold food and homemade cakes and deluxe Afternoon Tea. The Tropical Butterfly House is open daily and is located just 5 minutes from M1, junction 31.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A great day out with small children”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I visited here with my friend and her three year old daughter. It's not A massive place but was great for our needs and my daughters friend LOVED it! It was a beautifully sunny day to which made the walk around the enchanted forest even better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,203
    525
    96
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good day out, but not made to feel welcome!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visited with my two children aged 7 and 4 and two friends with children of similar ages. I paid about £24 for us to get in, which I thought was reasonable because there was plenty to see and play areas too. I like the fact that you can buy food to feed the aminals (the mealworms are live, much to the amusement of my children!), some places, such as Cannon Hall Farm near Barnsley, have stopped doing this.
We watched the parrot show, which was good. The staff who care for the animals are very knowledgable.
I've dropped a ratings point for a couple of reasons - firstly the very officious parking man, who was very particular (down to the last cm) about where you should park! And secondly there are notices all around the park stating (for example) "Do NOT feed the lemurs - anyone found doing this will be asked to leave the park" and in the playground "Do NOT attempt to remove any toys from this area, anyone found doing so will be asked to leave the park". I just thought the signs were a bit too OTT, but maybe they've had problems in the past. Also, at the entrance the first thing you are greeted with is two suits of armour stuck onto the building's support posts with big "DO NOT TOUCH" signs in them. Again, not really very welcoming.
We went into the lemur heights area, where you can go into the enclosure - the staff member on the door letting people in was really miserable, there was no "hello" or welcome, just a gruff "don't touch the lemurs" on entry and "you have to wash your hands now" upon exit.
We didn't use the cafe, took our own picnic (we ate at the picnic tables in the over 4's play area, but there is an indoor picnic area too). We bought takeaway coffee though and that was ok (from a machine).
Overall the children had a good day and we would return. Maybe I'll send my husband with them next time so I don't have to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a great day out”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited on the strength of the positive reviews and were really pleased we did!
Its clean, well kept and well designed. Our 2 (hard to please) teenagers loved it too.
You can buy little bags of food to feed the animals with as you go round, the meerkats loved the mealworms. The butterflies are beautiful and the new lemur enclosure is super.
We watched the bird shows which were really interesting, the keepers were knowledgeable and its pretty good value for a day out (we spent a good 5 hours there.)
It deserves the good feedback, I'd love to try a 'keeper experience' with the lemurs next time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank helzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for 4 year olds!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Couldn't believe how great this place is, as it is right on our doorstep! So much to see and do, the live shows were great and plenty of activities on the way round. We went in the afternoon not expecting to spend that much time there, but wished we had gone earlier as my 4 year old nephew loved it and didn't want to leave! The food was also really good, they had home cooked dinners and not too expensive. We will definitely be returning!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindzi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant holistic approach to wildlife education”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited today with my 3 kids (2,6 &7) after searching through tripadvisor for a new interesting place to take them. Was not disappointed! The park is very well kept - immaculate and well set out. The staff were all really friendly and seemed to genuinely like working there (and who can blame them?!). There were loads of shows and talks on all day which all 3 kids found interesting (as did I), although we didn't have time for all of them. The tropical house was the best we've been in (having visited 3 others in the region) and we spent ages spotting different birds, insects, snakes & lizards, and of course butterflies which were truly spectacular!
We especially liked the nature trail / wildlife area (which seemed the least populated area of the park) as it provided lots of opportunity for all 3 kids to use different senses to learn about British and international wildlife - as well as safely run about in beautiful surroundings. There are lots of nice little touches dotted about, such as African drums to play, a fairy land, and "how fast can you run?" speedometer. There were also free tractor rides.
They loved feeding the meerkats with the food we bought (70p), and also enjoyed the indoor activities in the classroom area.
The cafe was very reasonably priced with a good selection of sandwiches and homemade meals. Ice lollies were cheap (£3.50 for 4!), and the play park is great for all ages (up to 10).
We will definitely return and tell our friends as we think this is a great wildlife park and much better value (as you can easily fill a whole day) than others in the area.
This is how to run a business!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ukgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing