We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter the exotic and discover a wild family day out in South Yorkshire! Meet lemurs, meerkats, owls, otters, snakes, lizards, a tarantula and other amazing animals during unforgettable Animal Encounters throughout the day. Take your seat for spectacular shows, featuring free-flying birds of prey, parrots and charismatic mammals! Explore the indoor rainforest; home to butterflies, birds, bats, crocodiles and creepy-crawlies from around the world and meet and feed the friendly residents of the Farm Barn. Discover the charismatic primates of Lemur Heights and meet the inquisitive residents of Otter Springs. Take a selfie with our new dinosaurs and get closer than ever before to some of the most popular animals in the brand new walk-through mammal enclosure. Pre-booked group and School visits are welcome and VIP Experience Days and Animal Adoptions are available to purchase, as well as popular Birthday Party Room Hire. The Realm of Camelot adventure playground, outdoor Wet Play Area and indoor Activity and Craft Centre will entertain children in all weathers, and popular themed events take place at the centre during School Holidays. Facilities include a Picnic Room, Jungle Gift Shop and a modern Butterfly Cafe, serving freshly prepared hot and cold food and homemade cakes and deluxe Afternoon Tea. The Tropical Butterfly House is open daily and is located just 5 minutes from M1, junction 31.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 times lucky”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

this was the third visit we have had to the butterfly house, wildlife and falconry centre and it was good as the first. Staff are always polite, the place is clean and tidy and all the animals/birds etc are actually out and about for you to see. (unlike some places which i think actually pretend to have things but tell you they are just "hiding" ) :-)
there are always plenty of picnic tables for you if you have a big family or need to budget or if you just like picnics.
This is a real "Hands On" activity centre.
GREAT FOR ALL THE FAMILY

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leer0y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    528
    96
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A day out with the grand children”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is really great. Intimate, friendly and compact. Birds, butterflies, small animals and a variety of monkeys.
The lemur walk is very good, where the monkeys come amongst everyone to inspect and show off. The butterfly house is hot, and butterflies fly freely, around your ankles or feet run small birds whilst in the canopy larger birds fly or walk thru trees. In the butterfly house don't be surprised to have butterfly settle on you or land on your hand. The parrots can be fed from food trays.
Outside the battle of the birds with vernon the vulture and Odin the raven are spectacular. Unusually it is not a show of falcons but lesser known varieties, like a kookaborra.

We all thought it was a worthwhile day and value for money £32 for a family of four

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rather impressed”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good family day out, kept us entertained for a whole afternoon.
Quite an intimate place, all staff seemed nice. Battle of the Birds show was good, butterfly house is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DLMcClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out with the grandkids!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rather disappointed with the Meerkat "feeding-time" - the staff just threw some carrots and parsnips into the enclosure from a bucket then said the Meerkats wouldn't actually eat it, but the Porcupines would ... the porcupines were scary though, I wouldn't argue with them!! Butterfly house was great though, according to the kids ... as it was very hot in there we were half-way round before my glasses cleared!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wow.......fab day out for all ages, will deffinatly return again !!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and my hubby went here today, after hubby come across this on trip advisor places to visit . so glad that we went here ! we are in our middle and late 30's so this is for all ages to enjoy. there was so many animals to see, around every corner , there was something else to see . It looks like the place has had a refurb maybe , as it all looks rather new and lovely . there are plenty of areas to wash hands , with hot water, soap and dryers, which is fab after feeding all of the animals . The cost of the entry for aduts is very good indeed at £8.95, and well worth every penny spent as we were there a good 3 hours and was never bored . You can also buy food bundles , at a cost of only £2.75, which again I thought was very reasonable indeed. When we got there we went into the Butterfly café and the prices there are very reasonable. We had a sausage cob( 4 sausages added ) and a bacon cob, both at a price of just £2.50 each...although id have to say, the sweet stuff was a little more, twix chocolate was about 85p each for a standard size bar. the shows were fab, and we got very close to the vulcher birds!! inside the butterfly house, there are some beautiful multi-coloured parrots in there , and if you have any of the mealworms left, they will come and take them from you and come onto your hands....made hubbys day !! while we was outside , a sparrow, and robin , both took worms from him aswell . they must be used to the visitors having these ! just fab !! so in a nutshell, defiantly worth a visit and great value for money !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mandybuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing