We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expecting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre

Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre
Ranked #1 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter the exotic and discover a wild family day out in South Yorkshire! Meet lemurs, meerkats, owls, otters, snakes, lizards, a tarantula and other amazing animals during unforgettable Animal Encounters throughout the day. Take your seat for spectacular shows, featuring free-flying birds of prey, parrots and charismatic mammals! Explore the indoor rainforest; home to butterflies, birds, bats, crocodiles and creepy-crawlies from around the world and meet and feed the friendly residents of the Farm Barn. Discover the charismatic primates of Lemur Heights and meet the inquisitive residents of Otter Springs. Take a selfie with our new dinosaurs and get closer than ever before to some of the most popular animals in the brand new walk-through mammal enclosure. Pre-booked group and School visits are welcome and VIP Experience Days and Animal Adoptions are available to purchase, as well as popular Birthday Parties which include a guided tour and disco! The Realm of Camelot adventure playground, outdoor Wet Play Area and indoor Activity and Craft Centre will entertain children in all weathers, and popular themed events take place at the centre during School Holidays. Facilities include a Picnic Room, Jungle Gift Shop and a modern Butterfly Cafe, serving freshly prepared hot and cold food and homemade cakes and deluxe Afternoon Tea. The Tropical Butterfly House is open daily and is located just 5 minutes from M1, junction 31.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than expecting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having grown up near to this place, I was expecting for it to be tiny. It was a cheap enough and there were plenty of animals that you can feed yourself which the little ones loved. Highly recommended but not a full day out, I would say 10am - 3pm we were there from.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank princessleah1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    503
    87
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always something new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been visiting this place since it opened and love every addition made. I liked to go after school time during the week with two of my grandchildren and as it was quiet they could choose what they wanted to see. After seeing their favourites and the new comers they would finish the visit with a trip to the cafe and the play area. A great hour or so at the end of their day.
Not too pleased they have stoped the family card which allowed us to go in for less. The card was expensive, but I felt was well worth the expense for the convenience of taking different grandchildren at different times.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fun packed day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoyed a great day out despite the weather, Enjoyed the walk through the butterfly house with all the butterflies & birds flying around near you, great variety of animals through out the park, cant wait to visit again when the Lemur experience is open, managed to see the parrot demonstration, the birds of prey and the meerkats, all very informative. Indoor picnic place also was a bonus !!!!!. Entry fee reasonable for what is inside, kids also enjoyed playing on the tractors and in the play area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millergirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasntly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went along here to burn some time on a day out- however, SO pleased we went.

£8.95 per adult in to the park, much cheaper than the Yorkshire Wildlife. Its located 30mins drive from Doncaster centre, but that wasn't a problem for us with a car.

I adore butterflies, so this was ideal for me! Being able to go into the butterfly house and have a butterfly land on me! Total happiness! There were all sorts of creatures on the prowl, birds, lizards, ants, it was AMAZING! Not just for kids!

There were talks throughout the day, birds of prey, where I got to stroke and meet all sorts of birds, forget the kids- I LOVED IT!

Such an amazing day out!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

i was expecting this to be a mojor let down but i was pleasantly proven wrong ! Great little place for a day out, Butterfly house was very well done with random animals like lizards and parrots etc laying about, plus all the other animal in the park

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank runie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing