We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Encounter the exotic and discover a wild family day out in South Yorkshire! Meet lemurs, meerkats, owls, otters, snakes, lizards, a tarantula and other amazing animals during unforgettable Animal Encounters throughout the day. Take your seat for spectacular shows, featuring free-flying birds of prey, parrots and charismatic mammals! Explore the indoor rainforest; home to butterflies, birds, bats, crocodiles and creepy-crawlies from around the world and meet and feed the friendly residents of the Farm Barn. Discover the charismatic primates of Lemur Heights and meet the inquisitive residents of Otter Springs. Take a selfie with our new dinosaurs and get closer than ever before to some of the most popular animals in the brand new walk-through mammal enclosure. Pre-booked group and School visits are welcome and VIP Experience Days and Animal Adoptions are available to purchase, as well as popular Birthday Party Room Hire. The Realm of Camelot adventure playground, outdoor Wet Play Area and indoor Activity and Craft Centre will entertain children in all weathers, and popular themed events take place at the centre during School Holidays. Facilities include a Picnic Room, Jungle Gift Shop and a modern Butterfly Cafe, serving freshly prepared hot and cold food and homemade cakes and deluxe Afternoon Tea. The Tropical Butterfly House is open daily and is located just 5 minutes from M1, junction 31.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A GREAT DAY OUT”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

What a wonderful place. We came across it whilst looking for somewhere to take visitors. The butterfly house was full of colour as exotic species flew round about us. Do look out for the leafcutter ants marching in a never ending line across the width of the butterfly house. The daily animal encounter saw us holding a snake and other small creatures. There is so much to see - the farm animals, lambs, goats, geese and chickens, a viisit to Meerkat Manor, displays of birds in flight and a peek into the small animal house. The play park and picnic area looked inviting and afternoon tea in the restaurant was first class. Not cheap to visit but good value for money. We were especially impressed at the cleanliness in all areas and the many points where handwashing facilities were available after we had been in contact with the animals. Not cheap to visit but good value for money and you could easily spend a whole day there. I'd give it a five- star rating.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anmerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,207
    526
    96
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday visitor”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Visited for the first time this Easter Sunday, (visiting Sheffield-weekend away.)

Although smaller than other centres I have been to, they have made a great effort to provide a good day out for all. We were a group of 4 adults, so naturally we didn't try out the numerous easter weekend activites for the children, which they appeared to enjoy. However, the talk and showing of the owls were fantasic. Never have I had the chance to hold an owl in a centre like this before. And it wasn't just me who could do this-every single person got the chance to. Great photo moment!

Also watched a 'Shirley Holmes' show, again aimed at children with an Easter theme, however, the birds were beautiful to see fly.

The tropical butterfly house was smaller than I thought it would be, saying this I did enjoy looking at the wonderful aray of colours.

Tip: arrive early for parking.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Saw loads of great animals who looked happy and well cared-for. The centre itself was spotless with extremely clean animal enclosures and great signage. We saw the Meerkat, Bugs and Birds of Prey presentations and all were professionally presented and informative. The staff did attempt to rehearse their Easter show with Sherlock/Shirley Holmes and a Full Size rabbit, but it didn't go according to plan... not to worry though - they pulled it round and gave a great presentation! Only one suggestion would be that the gift shop sold some higher-quality merchandise that was directly linked to the ethos of the centre itself rather than peddling cheap children's tat. Really... ...what does a fart machine have to do with butterflies, wildlife or falconry - come on guys!!!

Fully recommended for a great day out!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wibble41c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More animals than last time.”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Excellent for half a day. Still not really enough to fill the whole day. Butterfly house good as you get close to the animals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic day for all the family”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went with my daughter and had a fantastic day, food was really nice in the cafe and not to badly priced, drinks were a little on the expensive side, there was loads for my daughter aged 6 to do, she really liked the craft room where she could pain draw and make small craft things ( for a small charge) please be aware they charge if you use your debit card for anything under £10

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mumtokandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical Butterfly House, Wildlife & Falconry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing