We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit. Great place to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Emergency Services Museum

National Emergency Services Museum
Ranked #13 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Emergency Services Museum is located in one of Yorkshires first purpose built combined Police, Fire and Ambulance Stations in the centre of Steel City, Sheffield.Opened in 1983 with just 2 Fire Engines and a few small exhibits and only 2 of the buildings 46 rooms open for the public to view the museum has grown and grown year by year. Now with thousands of exhibits and 26 exhibition areas, around 45 vehicles on display and not forgetting many more exhibits and vehicles currently in storage ready to be displayed we are still developing. The Museum is a Registered Charity and does not receive any major funding. Everything that you see here at the museum has been achieved by donations and your entry fee's.We are always working to update the museum and make the museum more hands-on and interactive for visitors!
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit. Great place to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have visit the museum in February it was a little bit to cold inside but it didnt spoiled anything. Old fashion museum but very interesting. Very friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    68
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“belt up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

well i dont know what some people want for 4 quid a person,we visited sunday 04/08/13 after going to magna,which i would describe as derelict,as most of the interactive stuff didnt work and the water bit outside was full of green slime!we had just the best time at the fire and police museum,the cafe was not a glorified vending machine as stated below!it was staffed by very friendly staff that had time to talk to you,and my fave a ride in a real life fire engine with a lovely knowledgeable gentleman driving it,all in all if you want to get ripped blind looking at stuff that doesnt work then go to magna,if you want an a very intresting few hours talking to real people then come here highly recommend it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hornboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with my husband and our 3 year old. My daughter loved this place as she was allowed to climb into the vehicles and dress up she also got to go around the block in a fire engine which she loved.
The entrance fee is reasonable priced so is the gift shop and the cafe. All the staff were friendly and helpful I would recommend this place to others

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorrilowLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A small museum but a good one.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Mainly dedicated to poilce and fire, but has some other vehicles too. Sited in the old poilce/fire station my kids loved the place and wanted to return the day after. Lots of old fire engines and ambulances to climb on and costunes to wear for the little ones. Theres even a small fire engine ride around some streets on certain days.

A definitie attraction to book a couple of hours to.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick_at_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“At your service .... Fire and Police”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The museum is housed in a very interesting building and has lots of fascinating exhibits including old fire engines, police cars and ambulances. There are displays of police and fire fighting tools etc and cells where some famous prisoners were held, one is haunted. If you arrange a guided tour you will get a lot more out of your visit. Prepare to stay all day there's a lot more there than you would think. There's a little cafe that sells basic drinks and the odd bit of food and is housed in a very old part of the complex. the shop sells some interesting items too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C1S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Emergency Services Museum also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to National Emergency Services Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing