We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem!”

National Emergency Services Museum
Ranked #13 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Emergency Services Museum is located in one of Yorkshires first purpose built combined Police, Fire and Ambulance Stations in the centre of Steel City, Sheffield.Opened in 1983 with just 2 Fire Engines and a few small exhibits and only 2 of the buildings 46 rooms open for the public to view the museum has grown and grown year by year. Now with thousands of exhibits and 26 exhibition areas, around 45 vehicles on display and not forgetting many more exhibits and vehicles currently in storage ready to be displayed we are still developing. The Museum is a Registered Charity and does not receive any major funding. Everything that you see here at the museum has been achieved by donations and your entry fee's.We are always working to update the museum and make the museum more hands-on and interactive for visitors!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute gem!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our first visit to the museum was a surprise. There was more there than I expected and I thought the visit was excellent value for money. I would recommend it, especially if you have children, but there's plenty for adults too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    70
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visited the museum on a Saturday and had a good day but were informed that it was their open day the following day so we returned to see it all again and were pleased to see Lenny the Lion, Poorly Bear, Bleeper and Welephant, my grandaughter loved them, especially them dancing on top of the fire engine

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for children who love fire engines”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We visited with our two boys, one of which is fire engine mad and we weren't disappointed and neither were they.
What a great little place, only £11 for a family of four ticket, lots of interesting things to look at and read about, but the best part is the children (And adults) can climb on/sit in some of the engines, try on different uniforms and watch the volunteers come down the country's longest fireman's pole!
It's set in a lovely old building and there is a cafe (although we didn't eat there) and a little shop.
It's run by volunteers, who were very friendly and helpful and they even opened up some other engines for the children to sit in and try out the horns. There are also police cars and ambulances to sit in, police cells to get locked in and a great model train display.
We would def go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great fun and very informative. Boys loved it! Especially the ride on the fire engine. Had fun trying on all different firefighters outfits and enjoyed locking them in a police cell

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value family fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was ideal for families, both girls and boys and big boys too!

Good pricing and something different for young families. The fire engines were great, you could go in them and loook around

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Minipeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Emergency Services Museum also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to National Emergency Services Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing