We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for young children”

Kelham Island Museum
Ranked #9 of 163 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out for young children”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My son and I visited Kelham Island museum on a regular basis when he was little (pre-school and infants). He has also been on school trips there too. The large engine can be quite noisy for little ones and when he first saw it he was a little scared, although they do give you warning first. Sadly a few things have changed over the years, such as the interactive science rooms (which was where he would want to head first when little), but overall it is still excellent value for money and really interesting. A practical way for children (and adults) to head back in time and experience what life was like in industrial Sheffield

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    165
    26
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Misters Cafe and Bistro”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We held our son's 4th birthday in 'The Smelting Room' play area of the museum followed by a birthday tea in Little Misters which is within the museum complex. The party food they prepared was fantastic with a good mix of typical party food with healthy options and all made to a high quality on site and fresh. The amount made was spot on, the staff were attentive and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this as an option for any child's birthday. Further still, the quality of one of the fish snacks was so good my wife will be booking in for a meal at the bistro as soon as we can!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Prinz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Incredibly interesting artifacts on our doorstep!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the steam powered engines to the tool displays and the varied displays of engineering and social artifacts - a real insight into the industrial revolution and the huge part Sheffield played in it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingerworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A social history”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We brought our young children here who loved it. There was nothing for little hands to break and the staff are warm and friendly.
It gives a real sense of the the steel industry in sheffield and the importance steel in an industrial society. This is also a journey of social history of the city, it's workers and their families and how the decline of the steel industry impacted an local people.
There is plenty to interest the whole famliy and ideally situated within the city centre.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Educational but fun”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This museum was very educational, but it would be fun for children as well.There were lots of activities for them to do as they learnt more about the steel industry and the other industries such as cutlery making. As adults we found it very interesting, especially the contents of the shop! Never have we seen so many saws in one place!

It was a shame the large engine was not able to run due to annual maintenance, this would have made it a 5* attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hooligan-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelham Island Museum also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Kelham Island Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing