We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, knowledgeable and enthusiastic art gallery.”
Review of Cupola Gallery

Cupola Gallery
Ranked #68 of 167 things to do in Sheffield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cupola Gallery, established in 1991, is very lively and friendly with a reputation for quality shows and innovation. With four exhibition spaces plus a fabulous sculpture garden, the gallery stocks work from more than 300 local, national and international artists and makers. The main exhibition space plays host to a breathless turnover of shows - approximately ten a year.Cupola is also committed to providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere and to that end provides free chocolate cake every Saturday and free hot drinks to all our visitors any day. Children are always welcome. Cupola boasts an excellent award winning sculpture garden and the upstairs gallery is home to the Long gallery and the Craft gallery. Cupola regularly showcases painting, sculpture, printmaking, ceramics, glass, textiles and jewellery. In addition, Cupola Framing is our well established framing department situated adjacent to the gallery offering high quality bespoke framing as well as selling local artists prints and cards.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic, knowledgeable and enthusiastic art gallery.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Always something new and different to tempt you, intrigue, or please the eye. This is a gem of a gallery in which the busy roads surrounding it melt away into tranquillity and contemplation. Friendly, helpful staff too. Charming but down to earth. They have a framing business across the road and are always happy to welcome you in and both places simply buzz and yet maintain a calm at the same time. Well worth a trip by car, bus, bike or tram.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPrincevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cupola Gallery, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
What a lovely review! Thank you very much. We will try and live up to this review and ensure we give you and every new visitor our warmest welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most AMAZING art gallery you'll ever visit!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Cupola Gallery is a fantastic gem of a place - perhaps surprisingly, located in Hillsborough in Sheffield. Karen, its founder and owner, herself an artist, has boundless energy, enthusiasm for art and a real eye for amazing pieces. The gallery hosts solo as well as themed shows alongside a range of other art pieces - these include painting, sculpture, printmaking, textiles, jewellery and, I'm sure, more! There are local, national and international artists. Karen has a determination to make art accessible to more people so she creates a relaxed atmosphere (including tea/coffee and free cake on a Saturday!), is endlessly knowledgeable and has clever ways of helping customers spread out payments! If you love contemporary art and you've not been to Cupola, you must!

Helpful?
1 Thank EAnoukB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cupola Gallery, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Wow! What can I say? Thank you very much. I'm sure its all the cake that keeps my energy high lol! I love what I do and I'm glad it shows. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An artistic experience not to be missed come rain or shine.”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I had the pleasure of living near to Cupola for many years and visited often, even though I now must travel much further to get my fix, it is worth it every time. Cupola has a charm unlike any other gallery, the quality and diversity of the work on display and the unassuming spaces create a treasure trove that begs to be explored, dreamt about and revisited. The endlessly accommodating and knowledgeable staff add to the comfortable and informal atmosphere, offering teas, coffees, cake and exceptional customer service. Bring parents, children, friends, colleagues and small pets, they will all thank you!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleri1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cupola Gallery, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am just so pleased that we are able to create a warm and welcoming environment for people to enjoy the artworks on display. Art is something I love and am delighted when people enjoy it. We'll keep the tea and cake coming as long as you all still keep visiting! Welcome one and all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unassuming and constantly evolving space, offering convivial surroundings in which to appreciate the exibits.”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It's been a while since I visited this gallery, entirely due to work commitments, and I am planning another trip soon.

Great people, great space. No pretence and a lovely, relaxed feel, with a great mix of artwork on display.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cupola Gallery, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Oh that pesky work! We will have to try to lure you back more often. I am very pleased you enjoy visiting the gallery and the broad range of work. We are constantly trying to keep new stock coming in and evolving so don't leave it too long before your next visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupola Gallery also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cupola Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing