We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, peaceful and clean.”

Etruria House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Etruria House Hotel
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, peaceful and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Etruria House was just what we needed for a single night in Sheffield. The guest house was clean and peaceful with beautiful gardens. Our room was huge with high ceiling and a large window overlooking looking the front of the building and Sheffield beyond. The bathroom (not en-suite) was immaculately clean and the shower was hot and powerful enough. Cooked breakfast was spot on; eggs the right amount of runny and good quality bacon (very important!)

Definitely recommend and would return if we went to Shefffield again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineAndJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKington, Owner at Etruria House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your evaluation which is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
12
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel as one of our daughters had a Graduation ceremony at Sheffield Uni.We had a very comfortable double room on the ground floor.The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet, so we got a good nights sleep.The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really excellent.The location of the hotel and ample parking was ideal for our needs.We had an excellent experience and felt that we got good value for our money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonKington, Owner at Etruria House Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Just read your kind review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. it makes it all worth while when you get something right. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here to be close to our daughter's student accomodation. Friendly people, a building full of character (photos don't do total justice to the building's internal features), and an English breakfast the equal of, or better than any I have had in over thirty years. Whilst the ensuite was a little on the small side, I don't think that the original room could have supported a much different arrangement than the conversion has offered. Nonetheless I thought there was plenty of space for two in the bedroom as a result. Just like a previous reviewer we were able to leave our car in the car park for a few hours after checking out. This is handy in this part of Sheffield as there is little enough on street parking to be had (unless you don't mind moving every couple of hours when your parking ticket expires). Will gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

while visiting the nearby hospital we stayed for four nights,everthing was available for us,unable to give a leaving date they held the room for us,very understanding.ideal location for visiting the hospital and city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much. Nice room, good breakfast and good service! Will definitely be returning in the Summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TurleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having read the reviews after I booked the hotel for myself and my partner, I was unsure as to what I would make of our stay. We spent two nights here visiting friends at Crookes nearby; the location was ideal for us and the room provided us with everything we needed. The lady of the hotel was most welcoming and provided us with additional help with places to eat/go. She even let us leave our car in their car park the following day. I feel some of the reviews against this hotel are unnecessary and from my experience, are incredibly untrue. We should be encouraging small, characterful businesses rather than chain hotels!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fox2009_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed at this very homley hotel after moving my son out of one student accomodation into another. Its location is perfect with bars & resturants within easy walking distance. I walked into the center of the city in 20-25 min. I was made to feel very welcome, my room was clean with every thing I needed in it. I would much rather stay here than a chain hotel that has no soul or history.
Breakfast was excellant. parking was free.
will be going back to stay for graduation next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#31 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hillsborough Hotel
Hillsborough Hotel
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etruria House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etruria House Hotel

Property: Etruria House Hotel
Address: 91 Crookes Road, Sheffield S10 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned 10 bedroomed hotel offering en suite accommodation in a homely atmosphere. Located in the leafy suburb of Broomhill and within walking distance of both the Universities and Hospitals. Conveniently placed for restaurants, bars and shops. Ideal for Sheffield City Centre and only a short drive to the Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Etruria Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing