We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and time by the log fire place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loadbrook Cottages Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were looking for a overnight stay near to Sheffield and found a gem! Alison made us feel so welcome and we enjoyed our time in the tastefully decorated lounge reading by the wood burner. Bedroom was great size with views up over the countryside and got a great nights sleep. Came down to a beautifully set breakfast table with every thing we needed. After a filling breakfast we were set for the day!
High recommended and if we need another overnight stay in the area No need for us to look any further

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFarmer187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our first visit to Loadbrook B & B, certainly won't be our last. Alison made us feel so welcome that it felt like we were staying with friends.

Accomodation was spotlessly clean and full of character, location was beautiful. Great access to both the countryside & the city.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been coming here for many years with what is sometimes a large group of friends. We always look forward to it - it's like coming home. Alison's hospitality is second to none. She is so kind and nothing is too much trouble for her. She even organises extra accommodation across the way for us. We always come in December, usually arriving after it's dark, and I love waking up to the wonderful view the next morning. Her home is delightful both inside and out. All the rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast superb. Where else are you asked - what time do you want your breakfast? Alison knows that we stay up late - the comfy sofas and wood burner in her lounge are hard to resist and there is never any pressure to be out by 10am the next day. I hope we continue coming to Loadbrook Cottages for many more years.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just spent a brilliant weekend at Dungworth. Went there with a group of friends for Carols at The Royal. Stayed at the nearby, beautifully situated Loadbrook Cottages, and could not have been made to feel more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a real 'home-from-home' feeling, and the best night's sleep I've had since we were there _last_ December! Thank you Alison....I just love coming to stay with you.

Room Tip: Tell Alison what is important to you and she will match you with the room that best suits....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Is it possible for somewhere you already have high expectations of to be EVEN BETTER than you thought it would be ?? Well yes it is, because Loadbrook Cottages is one of the loveliest places we have ever stayed and we can be very picky ! Nothing is too much trouble for Alison - she goes out of her way to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The bedroom is beautiful, the bathroom huge and sparklingly clean, looking out onto their sloping field of sheep and the wood beyond and the added bonus of the use of the lounge, resplendent with cosy log fire was the icing on the cake. Breakfast is hearty and tasty - traditional fried breakfast but also a good mix of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and toast. It feels like it is right out in the heart of the countryside but is actually only about 15minutes drive from Sheffield which gives the best of both worlds. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay long enough ! We will definitely be looking for an excuse to return...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I plus our three adult children stayed at Lode Cottages overnight prior to my daughters Graduation at City Hall Sheffield and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. It was exactly how I expected and we loved the cosiness and intimacy of the place. Alison the owner was extremely helpful and we loved the fact we had a roomy area to ourselves which included two double rooms a large landing and a large family bathroom, making it an ideal place to stay for a family. To accommodate my three children in a twin bedded room there was a very comfortable put up bed which still left plenty of room to move around. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was lovely, powerful and hot. You may require an extension lead so that you can dry your hair and look in the mirror at the same time though.
Breakfast was all beautifully laid out when we got up and we had a lovely dining room area to ourselves. There was fresh orange juice, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit prior to a full English breakfast with toast which was lovely and tasty with tea and fresh ground coffee. It was all very characteristically rustic. A gem of a place.
If like me you prefer character and personal attention in a beautiful setting at a very reasonable price over large shiny impersonal hotels then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having stayed at Loadbrook Cottages last week, we now join the long list of loyal fans, eager to find a reason to return. Sat on the edge of it's own wood, moorland and pond, Loadbrook cottages is a wonderful house in an idyllic countryside location. Whether it be walking, cycling, driving or just relaxing, Loadbrook cottages provides outstanding accommodation in a sleepy Yorkshire hamlet. The house is stunningly furnished, clean and comfortable with a relaxed and welcoming feel. Alison made us feel incredibly welcome, fed us the best cooked breakfast we've ever eaten and was only too happy to point us in the right direction for good pub grub after a busy day. Loadbrook Cottages cannot be beaten and we can't wait to book a room for our next trip to Sheffield- in fact next time we may add on a few days and explore the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Go for a walk- the area is stunningly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
5.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,301 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,045 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Padley Farm
Padley Farm
#4 of 32 in Sheffield
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loadbrook Cottages Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loadbrook Cottages Bed and Breakfast

Address: Beeton Green | Loadbrook, Nr Stannington, Sheffield S6 6GT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: $59 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loadbrook Cottages is a family run B&B set in the beautiful Peak District yet only 5 miles from Sheffield city centre. Ideal for visitors to the South Yorkshire or North East Derbyshire area who prefer an out of town location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing