We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel last week and were amazed to find it set amongst some superior quality halls of residence which in no way imposed on the hotel itself. The hotel is relatively new and the rooms are compact but very well furnished, and large bathroom was luxurious, and everything was exceptionally clean and well provided for. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was superb, with very generous portions, the steak was to die for, and the service was very good. We asked that the chef be complimented on his cuisine! Breakfast was top quality products and everything in plentiful supply, and again service was very good. The reception staff can't do enough to help, and we also spoke to the manager who was charming and informative too. We cannot wait to stay again, my husband said this is the 2nd best hotel he has ever stayed in, and his top one is a 5* in Zurich, so that is a real compliment! Thank you Halifax Hall for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsy186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Magsy186,

Wow what a compliment that is! Reading reviews like yours makes our days here at the hotel! Ill ensure the chef is passed on your compliments and also the staff. I’m glad you enjoyed our dinner and breakfast offerings as we work hard to ensure there are plenty of choices.

We look forward to seeing you again,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    212
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
172
307
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Used this hotel for accommodation for a conference (the hotel was the venue). Nicely done, modernised rooms, excellent service and delicious food. Totally recommended and would happily stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelHeart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear RebelHeart2014,

Thank you for your lovely review. Lets hope you have another conference with us again soon, otherwise maybe a weekend visit to Sheffield?

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Strange location, in the middle of University halls of residence. No noise from students while we were there however. Duty manager on reception was very helpful; he showed us to our room and then went to our car to put a parking pass on the dashboard. Room was clean and contemporary if a little small. Dinner menu was limited and portion sizes small, but the food was of a high standard. Good choice at breakfast. Waiting staff were all young and seemed very nervous, not really knowing what they were doing. At breakfast my plate was cleared before my husband had finished eating. Some of the public rooms seem to be in a state of flux, emptied of furniture. This hotel has potential, but some improvements needed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beatbaby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Good morning Beatbaby34,

Thank you for your review and suggestions. All feedback is fed back to all area managers to ensure we are continually providing the best service we can to our guests. Our bedrooms are built into existing bedrooms from the girls halls that were part of the university for around 50 years. Although some could be considered on the smaller side, we hope to have provided all the amenities you would need during your stay in them, including bathrobes, slippers, hairdryers, and complimentary ‘White Company’ bathroom amenities. All of our staff are trained in each department to ensure great customer service; they are key for us providing our guests the best possible stay whilst with us.

We hope you enjoyed your stay at Halifax Hall and we look forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very impressed with this lovely boutique hotel. Excellent customer service, with friendly, helpful staff.
Guests for 4 nights, during first time staying in Sheffield.
Room - although compact - had a great ensuite, breakfasts were first rate and evening dinner didn't disappoint.
Within a short walking distance of Botanical Gardens which are well worth visiting.
Once you get the hang of the bus routes, the hotel , while well out from the city centre,is accessible if you dont mind a bit of walking in an attractive part of Sheffield.
Would definately recommend Halifax Hall & hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground floor & found it very quiet, with no disturbances - apart from a series of unex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJN168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear KJN168,

What a lovely review of our hotel thank you. Customer service is a priority for us so I’m always happy to read when we really provide the best to all our guests. I hope you enjoyed your first time in Sheffield, and if you are ever back in the steel city please think of us!

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire lass!
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday night at Halifax Hall after my husband booked it online. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and took us to our room. Halifax Hall can be difficult to find as it is in the grounds of some of Hallamshire Unis grounds, there is a large sign for the Hotel, you just have to look out for it! Our room was very nice, simple decor in neutral colours with a flat screen tv and complimentary bottle of water.The bathroom was large and modern with a lovely large, clean shower! There was a coffee station outside our room with various coffees and cookies and fruit..All free!!. We enjoyed the cooked breakfast and buffet style too...there was plenty of choice and it was delicious! The restaurant serves food but we ate out..see my review of the Indian restaurant (Masala I think)..My husband had a cider at the hotel and it was not overpriced. Would definitely stay there again..Lovely!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 107 which overlooked the garden,,i think most of the rooms do anyway. we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhair!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Redhair!

Thank you for your review. We are located on Sheffield University Halls property but as you said very well sign posted and we send out directions with confirmation emails prior to all of our arrivals to ensure a (hopefully) smooth arrival to our hotel. It’s a shame you didn’t stay for dinner with us but you got to sample our breakfasts and as you said home made cookies which I’m glad to read you enjoyed!

We hope the next time you are in Sheffield you think of us.
Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and what a fab place it is. A great welcome from Jamie on reception (so helpful and down to earth) who showed us to our room - the bedroom area is small but has everything you need and is finished to a very high standard. The bathroom was huge and featured a lovely free standing bath and large walk in shower. The rose petals and swan towels scattered around were a lovely touch. The refreshment stations on each floor are a great idea and much better quality than the usual sachets you get. Fresh tea, coffee, hot chocolate and a variety of fruit and cookies were available free of charge. We went out to dinner but sampled the breakfast the next morning which was lovely. The menu had a great variety and I particularly liked that you could pick and choose the items on a full english!! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered - all very friendly and eager to please. Great location - 10 minute walk to Ecclesall Road with a huge variety of bars and restaurants, 10 minutes in a taxi to the city centre, 5 minutes from Endcliffe Park. Ignore the negative feedback about the university halls - if you read about the history of the place you'll understand the surroundings and it caused us no issues at all. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Good Morning Rochky81. Thank you for your great review of our hotel and our service.
First of all, Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend it with us at Halifax Hall! I’ll pass on particularly to Jamie your kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we offer. We love our premium coffee offering so I’m happy to read you enjoyed it too. We like to think that particularly due to where we are based, all of our guests really can relax and enjoy their time with us without the worry of noise and disturbance from busier town centre roads, but as you said within walking distance to some of Sheffield’s great night life.

Hopefully see you again soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Gorgeous part of Sheffield, extremely quiet out of term time.
Staff were exceptionally friendly, so helpful and ready to help with anything, including take out sandwiches for breakfast when we left at 4.30am to go watch the Tour de France!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear helen t,

Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope you enjoyed your day watching Tour De France! I'm happy our staff were able to assist with early morning breakfast sandwiches.

We hope to see you again soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Property: Halifax Hall
Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing