We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous friendly service”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for 3 days as organiser of a conference. The staff could not have done more to help, or been more friendly and professional. Rooms are gorgeous. Dinners and breakfasts delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FMC398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear FMC398,

Thank you for such a lovely review. Our staff are here to provide you with excellent guest service to ensure you have the most comfortable stay whilst you are with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    212
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
172
307
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We decided to stay in this hotel after reading a wonderful review on trip advisor. However, I can't really see why the person found it so amazing.

Granted, we arrived at 9pm due to traffic but it was a friday night and it was disappointing to find the restaurant was closed and the bar was completely devoid of atmosphere.
Halifax hall has a very conference-like feel, and does not give a very luxurious impression. The receptionist was lovely & welcoming and showed us to our room which was spacious, and a lovely bathroom, although it was rather chilly which was unfortunate.
Breakfast wasn't too great either - the buffet is somewhat limited & you can order from the menu but it wasn't the best. Service wasn't too great either...
Location was perfect for us though as we were visiting Sheffield University.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Terri P,

I'm sorry to read that our hotel didn't surpass you’re expectations. As Guest Service Manager it’s disappointing for me to read that you felt our service wasn't to our usual standard. Our kitchen does close at 9pm, however please know we have a 24 hour room service menu that was available and the bar is open 24 hours.
We feel our breakfast selection has a large variety, including toast, cereal, fruit and yoghurt, hams and cheeses, and we have ample hot cooked choices including full English through to pancakes, bacon and syrup which is included complimentary for all our guests so I’m sorry to hear you didn't feel there was enough choice.
Thank you for your review, have a lovely day.
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for one night only. On the up side, there's free parking - a rarity in Sheffield. It's brand newly opened as a hotel (it was a hall of residence) and in general it's quite elegantly done. Wifi was good, the walk in shower lovely, and the staff were very friendly - as is always the case in Sheffield. The downsides to all this were that I was at the far end of a long corridor on the second floor with no lift service and with three sets of fire doors to negotiate. Since there are only tea facilities by the staircases I'd have had to walk with my drink about 50 yards and through fire doors. The promised home made cookies on each floor weren't there, either. In addition the room was very small and hot, the paint was still soft to the touch, and breakfast orders weren't accurate - the dining room is tiny too. I'd stay again but wouldn't pay a penny more.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sleepysand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax_Hall_Sheff, Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Sleepysand2014,
Thank you for your review. We are proud of the ample free parking in which we have onsite here at Halifax Hall. You are correct there are no lifts within the building but at check in we offer to help all guests to there room with luggage.
We feel our premium coffee offering has served much better for our guests, and we always make guests aware that we would be happy to bring any hot drinks complimentary to your room for you. Unfortunately our cookies are so delicious that they seem to empty quicker than we can fill them, so I will definitely pass on your cookie worries onto our Food and Beverage manager to ensure they are fully stocked.
We do however offer a tea and coffee tray that can be requested on arrival for those not wishing to use our premium offering. If we were made aware of your discomfort it would have been our pleasure to deliver drinks to you.
Your feedback is welcomed regarding your breakfast and this will be looked into. Our dining room is the original music room and we think this offers atmosphere and individuality. Here at Halifax Hall customer service and the experience of stay is of upmost importance,
I'm glad to hear that you would return to Halifax Hall and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this new hotel on 20th march on route to Newcastle. It's really comfortable, modern and spotlessly clean. Very quiet. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. On every floor there was beverage making facilities, freshly prepared cookies every day, together with a basket of fruit. Lovely touches. The white company toiletries in the bathrooms plus lovely big fluffy towels. I would definitely recommend this hotel and have already done so to my son who travels to Sheffield on business regularity. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountmellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax_Hall_Sheff, Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear MountMellick

I love reading reviews like yours! Its great to hear that the coffee stations on the bedroom corridors are going down a treat, as are our home-made cookies. Thank you for your feedback it really is appreciated! We hope to see you or your son soon!

Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here on the night of March 14 and had a very pleasant stay. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, with all the nice little touches you would expect from a good hotel. The breakfast menu was very comprehensive and the food itself was excellent. The close proximity to student accommodation was not a problem for us and the students were not noisy or intrusive during our stay. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 949Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear 949Pam,

What a wonderful review. I'm so happy to read that our guests are thoroughly enjoying everything about their stays with us. We genuinely hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I picked this hotel mainly due to its location being near our daughters student accomadation .. It was so close she was waving to us from her apartment as we pulled into the entrance ! Although this may be too close for comfort for some people it was ideal for us ! Our room ( 207 ) was small but perfectly adequate for our needs and very clean with lovely views over the garden . Although we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening the menu sounded very nice and reasonably priced . The tea/coffee stations on each floor are a great idea although the home made cookies were in short supply as were cups when we came back after our night out . The breakfast was great ..you must try the homemade pancakes ! All in all we had a great stay at a very reasonable price for a Saturday night . A special mention for all the staff who were unfailingly friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayrae61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Kayrae61,

Thank you for your review, so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure our food and beverage staff keep those cookies topped up, they're so delicious I think they go quicker than we realise so thank you for that. Hopefully you choose us the next time you visit and maybe even join us for dinner!!
Best wishes,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Ideally situtated if you're visiting your children at the University of Sheffield as this place is in the student village. Also wonderful if you're old alumni - particularly if you lived there! The rooms are clean and comfortable and although there's no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, it is available from coffee stations along the corridors on each floor. Breakfast is always fabulous with a really good selection of fresh fruit, cereals and of course a variety of cooked breakfasts.
We opted to try the restaurant this time and I have to say the food was very good although being the only diners, there was not much atmosphere. Nevertheless, I love this hotel and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Suzanne B,

So lovely to know we have so many guests now who keep coming back to us! Your review is great thank you, we hope you continue to think of us the next time you are in Sheffield.

See you soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Property: Halifax Hall
Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing