We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely rooms and super breakfast”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely rooms and super breakfast”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding, great service and lovely rooms. We stayed in a suite which was very nice lots of room and fantastic bathroom. The public rooms are slightly institutional but in a way that makes them quirky and rather nice. The food was fabulous - the wedding food was really good and the breakfast excellent. The service was charming and the staff were all very helpful. I would highly recommend - although it isn't in the centre of Sheffield, it is near the Botanical Gardens and not too far from town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Travellingtricia,

Happy New Year! So happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us! It's always great for me to read that our guests had great service whilst with us. I agree about the food - our kitchen team are pretty great! I'll definitely pass on your lovely comments to all of our team!

Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    214
    72
    26
    13
See reviews for
173
312
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex, england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was a student at Sheffield University about a hundred years ago (well, early 80's really) and I remember Halifax Hall well (not that I lived there, I was in the neighbouring establishment Stephenson Hall).

I was in Sheffield with my wife and friends for a weekend trip and decided to stay here.

Amazing, a transformation - in places unrecognisable and in places strangely familiar.

The rates were very reasonable (epecially with the alumni discount), the rooms comfortable and well equipeed (if a little small) and the food good although I think we challenged the kitchen a bit by asking to eat early so we could go out for the evening and the orders weren't quite right.

Stay again? Certainly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamtrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear steamtrainian,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear your meal orders weren't quite right - I will touch base with the chef. However glad to hear you did enjoy your stay and even more so to know you will be visiting us again!

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Right between Fulwood and Ecc Road. Rooms are compact and very well decorated. The staff were friendly and professional. Exceptional value for money. Public rooms still have a charming university building feel. Have the cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Mart S,

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope if you're in Sheffield again you think of us. Hope you had a safe and pleasant flight back to Switzerland.

Have a very Happy New Year,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely helpful staff. Nicely decorated and comfy bedrooms. Great breakfast and room service. But weird location surrounded by uni halls of residences. Good location for South and west of city and easy to get to town. The public rooms need attention though. Lighting is far too bright, decoration too institutional. Breakfast room squashed although didn't stop me enjoying lovely scrambled egg and bacon!

Room Tip: Go for a suite it's worth the extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Maurdunn,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Halifax Hall, especially our breakfasts! Although based on Endcliffe campus, we are very lucky in that our neighbours never bother us. I hope you think of us the next time yor are in Sheffield.

Have a very Happy New Year,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed at Halifax Hall while in Sheffield visiting old friends and from the moment we arrived we were impressed.
We arrived about an hour and a half early but was told our room was ready,reception staff were warm and welcoming, showed us to our room and some of the facilities we could use while we stayed, there was a problem with the coffee machine but she immediately went and fetched us two, we also asked if we could get anything to eat and was told that there was a wedding reception which they were catering for but if we would like a sandwich she would ask the chef and no more than 20 minutes later our two club sandwiches arrived at our door.
The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom also with a excellent shower.
We would definitely recommend staying here for anyone, only a 10 minute taxi ride from Sheffield railway station, close to plenty of local bars and restaurants Halifax Hall is a great place to stay for a over night or long weekend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank conrad113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear conrad113,

Thankyou for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy to know our service met your expectations. Please think of us the next time oyu visit Sheffield.

Have a very Happy New Year,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel rooms and staff are excellent. It is the first time in years that someone has actually walked me to the room and explained how things work and I am a frequent global business and leisure traveller. It was a really professional service.

Some reviewers have complained about not having tea and coffee making facilities in the room. What they may have failed to mention is that the upside to this is that the drinks are of a great standard, with fresh milk and lovely cookies. Even when we came in at 1am the night receptionist got us some more cookies as ours had run out!

The cold breakfast offering is great. The only slightly less than optimal aspect was the cooked breakfast. In our opinion it did not deliver in a number of aspects specifically: it was advertised as being served with sautéed potatoes but we actually just got some whole boiled new potatoes, we thought this was a little odd; the black pudding was burnt; we thought the sausages had a funny taste and the beans were watery; you had to make your own toast to go with the breakfast which was quite hard to co-ordinate.

However, this is a minor point as the breakfast does not cost any extra but we think that by improving the breakfast this could be a truly excellent option for a trip to Sheffield.

I would definitely stay again and recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear BingoManchester,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am always so happy to hear the service you received was excellent. I am so sorry to hear your cooked breakfast was not to our standard, I will be sure to pass this onto the chef who can ensure this doesn't happen again.

We look forward to you hopefully visiting us again one day,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Together with a colleague from my university year I organised a reunion dinner at the Halifax Hall Hotel in Sheffield. The reunion dinner was for 39 members of our Group held in November 2013. Without exception the 38 of us who were able to attend voted it a very enjoyable and memorable experience mainly because the Hotel looked after us in exceptional style, both in terms of comfort and catering. It is described as a Boutique Hotel and we consider it came up and exceeded our expectations. For Sheffield University graduates considering a year reunion we could not recommend anywhere better. In our situation we were granted a concession on our room reservations as we were returning graduates from Sheffield University which made it even more appealing from a cost viewpoint. The manager - Paul - made a point of personal attention to our every need and the staff in general were most helpful and courteous in every detail.
We'd give it 5 stars for comfort, service and cuisine.

Room Tip: The Johnson suite was most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear IAN B.

Thank you for choosing us as our reunion dinner hosts! There was a lot of planning involved on your part so I'm happy to hear you loved your night with us! We had a great evening meeting you and all your guests!

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Property: Halifax Hall
Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing