We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid front rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avoid front rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stay 2 nights 6b &9a both at the front of the building,rooms at the back could be better, away from the main road.Basic rooms but tea/coffee available,tv,towels,H/C water, all you need for a short stay.Breakfast is a must have at at £5.00,served by friendly staff. Not brilliant accommodation but then,you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAZ756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
11
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Alara for 5 nights from 21/10- 25/10. I was in Sheffield on a course and I found that it was exactly what I was after.
I was warmly welcomed to the B&B, there is a good amount of off road parking and my single room was of a decent size. It had a comfortable bed, TV, tea making facilites and a wash basin. The Shower rooms were clean and the toilets always stocked well with toilet paper, clean hand towels and hand soap. The Breakfast was good, full English, toast and cereal. The Cook was always very polite. I understand that the stairs are quite steep and probably arnt ideal for people with mobility issues but it's an old building, the stairs are well lit which helps though. The B&B is well located for hillsborough for the footy fans out there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTFCNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlandas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked the Alara at the absolute last minute as we needed a place to stay when taking our daughter to Sheffield University. Only then did I read the shocking reviews. We decided to stay anyway as we really had no choice and thought that all experiences are ultimately enriching. Upon arrival we parked at the rear of the Hotel and were greeted by a huge terrifying looking dog! Looks can be deceptive. The dog was a lovely creature and so friendly. We were taken into a very old hotel and led up the VERY steep stairs to our room. The room was small and basic, the TV didn’t work. We reported this and found that it wasn’t the TV that didn’t work it was that we had been taken to the wrong room and hence given the wrong remote. He then moved us to another room that suited the remote that we were supplied; yeah I know? He should have just changed the remote but no problem. The room was definitely clean in terms of the fact that had indisputably been cleaned. But it was kind of grubby in places; furniture very worn. The bed was lumpy and the room noisy because we were next to the road. Anyhow we stayed in our room during the evening had a drink and watched TV. All good.
The experience of walking out of the shower in the morning to find a lady walking out of her shower (we were both dressed) was odd I must say! I guess that’s the deal; with communal showers and toilets? The shower was reasonably clean and shampoo and towels supplied!
The service and the breakfast was the thing that really impressed! We were asked if we wanted a large or small breakfasts? Daft question! Large please. Two huge English breakfast were brought to our table, they even made a vegetarian version for my wife. A pot of tea and a pot of coffee plus the option of extra toast if required. Brilliant!
This Hotel isn’t great. But…All in all we had great hospitality, 8 cups of tea a pot of coffee two huge breakfasts a shower a bed for the night, free wifi etc enclosed parking and all for £50.00!!! and just to be clear the £50 was the total bill for two everything included
Honest people making an honest living with what they have got and offering great service. Will we be going again?
Yes I think we will.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The place is set on a main road next to Sheff Weds ground. The rooms are really basic and toilets and showers are at the foot of some stairs that can only be discribed as hymalayan. Spend a little more and stay at travel inn etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fkdbeyondrepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spent a night here on my way to Scotland. I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming and the double room and shared bathroom were both very clean. The staff were also very helpful in terms of recommending places to eat and methods of transport. This is an old, old building and so the steps leading to the bedrooms and shared bathrooms are very steep and narrow. It would not suit anyone with mobility problems and as I have bad knees I did find the steps a bit tricky. Noise was also an issue as it faces a busy road. None of this can be helped as this is the structure of the building and its location but I do have a couple of recommendations for the owners. One would be to buy blackout curtains for the windows and the other would be to put mattress toppers on the beds as mine was slightly uncomfortable due to some bulging springs.

Room Tip: Ask for an 'A' room or an ensuited room as this faces the back of the building away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I picked this place as it was close to work. It was reasonably clean. It could do with updating.
The staff were very friendly, breakfast was good. They have off road parking.
The bed they had for me needed the sheet changing (was stained with sweat) I moved to the other bed in the room. They have wifi which was good. I did have issues with some people tuning up at 1am they were not too noisy.
I wanted somewhere on a budget and it delivered that. It includes a cooked breakfast. Not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Needed a b&b for one night while we watched the mighty YEOVIL beat Sheffield Utd in the playoffs, and this was just the job! This b &b is only 500 yeards away from Sheffield Wednesdays ground so if you are a fan , its an ideal location.clean and very nice people ! Dont worry about the dog either, big softey !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeboha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
The Garrison Hotel
The Garrison Hotel
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.1 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.4 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alara Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alara Bed and Breakfast
Address: 981-987 Penistone Road | Hillsborough, Sheffield S6 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alara Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last eight years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alara Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alara Hotel Sheffield
Alara b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing