We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great service but super expensive bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Aston Hall Hotel for one night for my sisters wedding. The room we stayed in was a basic double room but it was lovely. The bed was huge and the sheets were nice quality and clean. The facilities were good we got tea and coffee making facilities, towers and a good range of toiletries. The room was really modern, clean and quite large. The only down side was that we couldn't sleep because some body was doing something outside, sounded like a car, not sure if it was anything to do with the hotel. The room she got married in was good but they had left a noisy heater on! All the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. During the evening do the drinks at the bar were really expensive. The room that the bride stayed in was pretty spectacular, don't know how much she paid but the fixtures and fittings were lovely. Breakfast was also really nice and the room we ate in was nice and modern. Overall it is a good hotel which can offer some really lovely rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachGary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the outside noise, when reported, our staff will do all they can to stop it or minimise it, but at times it may be something beyond our control (cars in the car park, etc).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 682 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting a client in Sheffield quite regularly and was booked in here once when the hotel nearest the client, and just about every other hotel in Sheffield, was booked up. I would not willingly return.

First impressions were good, but quickly went downhill after I arrived. It was awkward and confusing to find my room (which was in the modern addition). The directions I had been given by the front desk were not good. When I obviously looked confused, i had expected an offer to guide me, but they obviously didn't have enough staff to do that and keep the front desk manned.

Most of the hotel flooring (including my room) was covered in a poorly fitted ugly brown wall-to-wall carpet. The bathroom was gorgeous, and looked recently made over. Too bad I cannot say the same for the room.

There is both a bar and restaurant on-site. The bar was lovely. The restaurant, where breakfast is served, was uncomfortable, with tables that are too small and a decor desperate for a make-over. As a vegetarian I couldn't eat in the restaurant anyway as there was nothing for me. So, I went to the bar where I could find at least 2 or 3 things I could eat on the menu.

The final nail in the coffin was at breakfast in the morning they were playing inappropriate music thru a poor quality boom box. Silence would have been far more preferable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank R053mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

I am sorry to hear you would not give us a second chance. I noticed you stayed in July 2013 and since then, quite a few areas have been refurbished, including the restaurant and bar. All of our menus have vegetarian options at all times. Besides, our team of chefs is quite accommodating and will cook something off the menu, provided we have the ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed on 19th October 2013 and this hotel is an absolute gem - definitely the Best Best Western I have ever stayed at and I've experienced many :-)
The tree-lined driveway and imposing building on arrival is stunning and only 1 minute from M1 - it really didn't feel like it when you were inside though...it felt as though you were in the middle of nowhere...SO peaceful. We received a warm and friendly welcome at Reception on arrival and the service throughout our stay was excellent from reception and all the bar & restaurant staff.
Our room (Tempest/406) in The Darcy building was stunning - the decor was really beautiful, it was spacious, quirky, spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable and the bathroom was fab with it's double sinks, double shower and free standing bath. The cuisine at breakfast and dinner was delicious, as was the bar snack we had in the bar when we arrived. The ingredients were fresh and there was plenty of choice. I had a showround of the hotel and its facilities and saw a few different styles of bedroom in the main house and west wing all of which are individually designed and lovely. The hotel has conference suites which are versatile and well furnished and the grounds and marquee are great for many types of functions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on business or leisure in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotfemale66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As we live locally we booked into the Bamford restaurant last Friday evening and had a superb evening. The food is of a very high standard with the presentation being first class. The service in both the bar and restaurant were again superb and Carl behind the bar was a legend! All this and prices that you find in some pubs - we will be back again very soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Restaurant. I will ensure Carl is aware of your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night, was lucky as it was very quiet because of no weddings that evening. Booked a package which included evening meal and breakfast. Both excellent!! Ordered chocolate dipped strawberries for our arrival, wouldn't bother with these again, they were pretty lame. The only thing is the bathroom is a 'shower room', so when you have a shower the WHOLE bathroom gets wet. Wouldn't normally be a problem however it can be extremely dangerous when going to the loo after someone has had a shower as it was very very slippery. There is a small sticker that I guess covers Aston Hall from any claims as it says 'slippery when wet'. I wouldn't book this hotel for an elderly guest because of the above reason. They could easily fix this problem with a glass partition in the shower.

Room Tip: Try and get one that doesn't have a 'shower room' for a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzieandapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We have six wet rooms in the hotel, and the majority of the bedrooms are a shower over bath. We will be looking into your comments, though. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Another team meeting held at aston hall. Had a lovely room again very spacious modern and clean, love the little touches like velvet cushions.
Had an evening meal with the team, staff are very accommodating with request for different sides and service was excellent.
Meeting rooms are spacious with everything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Aston Hall. We appreciate your custom!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at this hotel for one night as a weekend treat. We paid the extra and stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. This was well worth it- the decor was lovely and there was even a bath in the bedroom! (We stopped in the Tang room). The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from. Would definitely recommend this hotel- within easy reach of Sheffield and the Peak district.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room- worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
7.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,318 reviews
10.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $80 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing