We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Planners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Planners”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our special day couldn't have been made if it wasn't for the wedding planners Tara and Zoe. They couldn't have been more helpful and no request was too much for them both.
The hotel itself was amazing and over 20 of our guests stayed the night with not 1 complaint about the rooms. Bespoke rooms are special but the standard rooms are equally as plush and very comfortable. Breakfast was really nice with a large selection and room for us all to sit together. The room was perfect and we had some special requests all of which were met without hassel from Tara and te Aston Hall staff. Our wedding was personal and just as we wanted. High points are the food is exceptional and we asked for a bespoke buffet in the evening of back naps and mini fish&chips which wasn't on the options. I cannot stress enough how much we enjoyed our day and how many comments we've had from guests.
Tara is great at making the day go with ease. Highly recommend this venue and the wedding FAiry Godmothers!!

Married Oct 2012 Mr & Mrs Jarvis

Room Tip: Tang in the main building is lovely and the newer extension has fab rooms with. Silver and purple t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We are very pleased to know your day was just as you dreamed of.
We look forward to welcoming you again!

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    171
    73
    20
    29
See reviews for
140
184
14
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We held our daughters wedding at the hotel on the 29th Dec and it was a fantastic day from start to finish. The support from Tara, the wedding coordinator, was superb and she was there to guide us through all the stages leading up to the day and then through the proceedings on the day itself. All of the staff at the hotel were excellent and were efficient, friendly and professional at all times and nothing was too much trouble. The food for the wedding and for the evening buffet was really good and was enjoyed by everyone. Many of us stayed overnight and had lovely rooms and a good breakfast the following morning that again was served by courteous staff. We would recommend this venue to others because of the superb service we received on this very important occasion and would like to to send a massive thank everyone involved

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments!

One's wedding day needs to be memorable and I am glad all had a good time!

All the best for the newly weds and a Happy 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Came with a large group for dinner on Christmas day this year and couldn't fault Aston Hall from start to finish.

From the moment we arrived it felt like it was personal service, almost like the whole thing was being put on for us. Starting with the champagne and very nice canapes then the meal itself, which is possibly the best Christmas dinner I've had!

The staff were all really friendly and added to the experience to make it more than just a normal meal out.

The only minor complaint to be had was that apparently there hadn't been very good communication from them leading up to the day, in terms of confirmation, receipts and replies to emails. When it's something like Christmas day with a lot of people going it's pretty important that you're confident it's all right.

Otherwise, very impressed though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your feedback!

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable Christmas Day lunch. Hopefully we will see you again next Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great New Years event- venue/entertainment and food very good. Hotel room large and spacious with excellent facilities. Good breakfast and attentive and courteous staff. Would recommend and we will return ... K and S Chesterfield,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to hear you had a good time!
We hope to see you again at the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked a one night stay on 8th dec, I choose the hotel as it look like a quiet location and upgraded the room to a luxury.

The room it self was lovely but needs a bit of upgrading the tv was old and small for the room, the bath had a defect and meant I could not use it, and a bedside lamp was missing,

We did experience severe car and people noise disruption during the night to the early hours, which was due to Xmas functions, the hotel did refund a proportion of stay, but my main review would be that the staff are pretty miserable, and don,t give a warm welcome during your stay. Even when I complained to the hotel and they refunded me, they just sent a receipt in the post, no apology.

I also understand the hotel changed owners in the summer, and its evident that this change is having an impact service and facilities wise.

And ok stay... But I would recommend mercury Sheffield city centre for a really friendly welcome for a similar price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank macymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I spoke to you over the phone and also via email more than once and apologised every time we interacted. So did the manager on duty in the morning of your check out and the staff members you dealt with. I am sorry if you believe this was not sufficient. We have a schedule of works to be done throughout the hotel, upgrading the facilities in several areas. This includes some of the TV sets in certain bedrooms. The issue with the bath is already being fixed and unfortunately, the hotel cannot control the traffic of taxis outside the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Booked our Xmas party here in great anticipation of a lovely night but unfortunately we were somewhat disappointed, didnt feel too confident before we got there due to lack of communication during the booking (I'm still waiting for a receipt that I have asked for afew times) no one has bothered to reply to the 2 emails I have sent! Upon arrival it was a shame to see that there was a lack of Christmas decorations in the room the party was held in, the Dj looked very tired and grumpy, he didn't want to be approached and was slumped over his laptop all night..the food was ok but nothing special and extremely small starters.. Luckily we filled up on vegetables that came with the main.. The cheap crackers were a joke.. Very disappointing all round... I really expected more from Aston Hall and we won't be booking next year I'm afraid..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink3rbell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Aston Hall. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly, so I can get more details about the issues you have raised. Our Christmas decorations in the function room were to the same standard we have had for the last two years, and all guests seemed very pleased with them. We will look into what improvements we can put in place for next Christmas, though. We have already discussed your comments with the DJ, to ensure this does not happen again. Our food portions were served according to our usual standard, and while doing satisfaction checks we had no negative comments on the night about any of the starters. We will also be looking at improvements in terms of the Christmas novelties we provide. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured we are working hard to correct any issues raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were attending the Xmas party night with a group of friends and had made the decision to stay over rather than drive. The room was great and although compact had everything we needed. The meal at the party night was excellent and my partner who is vegetarian was really pleased with the food. To say how many were being catered for the food was amazing thank you.
The only concern we had was that the dj was quite poor and spent most of the evening slumped over his desk, no interactions with the guests and seemed little interested in what he was ment to be doing, we did raise our concerns at the time.
However this did not spoil the fun. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and the staff member serving breakfast was most polite, efficient and professional.
Finally we would like to comment on how homely this hotel felt and how welcoming it was.
For future reference I would look at customer service training to up skill the receptionist as she is the first impression of your team and talk to the dj about the spirit of Christmas but apart from that great stay

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and also enjoyed your Christmas Party night! We have already discussed your comments with the DJ and we have implemented a rolling customer service/standards training. We appreciate your constructive comments and are already sorting any minor glitches.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
9.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
992 reviews
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
8.7 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
721 reviews
10.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing