We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for a lovely wedding or pleasant base for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good venue for a lovely wedding or pleasant base for a short stay”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our 2 night stay for a family wedding was a very pleasant, relaxed experience with a lovely atmosphere. The historic setting was enhanced by sunshine allowing us to enjoy the grounds and photo opportunities. Dining in the bar on the first night gave flexibility to suit everyone and a good choice from the menu to suit all. The rooms were well appointed, clean and spacious. Staff were pleasant, helpful and managed the wedding change overs well to create appropriate spaces and support the smooth running of the day. A point for improvement was checking out which proved lengthy as the card machine on reception was not working requiring the receptionist to process each stay and then accompany the bill payer to the bar till which was not efficient but did not detract too much from an overall good experience.

Room Tip: The named suites have lovely roll-top baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review about your recent visit to Aston Hall. Your comments are very much appreciated by the team.

We did have some technical issues with the credit card machine in reception for a few weeks. However, I am glad to say, those issues have now been resolved and we have fully functional credit card machines in all areas. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    168
    71
    20
    28
See reviews for
136
181
14
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

visited here for my aunts wedding on 29th september and stayed for one night in room 106. Most of the guests also stayed. The hotel is beautiful with lots of original features yet modern at the same time. The hotel is an amazing wedding venue and everything went to plan. We had a cooked breakfast in the morning which i must say wasnt very nice the bacon and sausage i didnt even attempt. This was the only let down but overall i had a fantastic weekend and would reccomend this hotel to anyone. We heard some guests complaining about the noise from the wedding party so maybe just check if there is a wedding on before you book if your looking for a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you were, overall, happy with the hotel. We will be looking into the areas of shortfall you mentioned in your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some valued feedback.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. the setting is stunning ..... all true and we enjoyed our weekend stay very much but for a hotel marketing itself as a 'luxury' hotel there are a few details that let them down like no glasses in the room only teacups and in our otherwise lovely room no dressing table with a mirror. Our breakfast was disappointing. The buffet continental selection was good but the cooked breakfast was 'average' and the service both then and the evening before in the bar was not great! Their staff could do with a little more training. Overall tho', good value and I would stay there again

Room Tip: If you like large rooms then paying a little more for the rooms in the original house are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and we will be looking into the areas you highlighted.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We recently hosted a one day event at Aston Hall Hotel. The meeting room was spacious and the staff and service that they provided both on the day and during the lead up to the event was excellent. The food was also delicious! Many of the attendees were greatly impressed with the hotel and it's facilities. A great venue for a meeting - easily accessed off the motorway and a beautiful setting. Thankyou to Raquel and all your staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback! I am glad to hear the conference went well and the facilities were satisfactory.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our sons wedding was was all under 1 roof, the ceremony, the wedding lunch, and later the buffet, we also stayed the night. We cannot fault it, the staff were fantastic very attentive also very polite. The food was 5 star even though they were catering for a large number.The bedroom we were allocated was large, very clean and most important comfortable. When we went down to breakfast the selection was vast from continetal to a proper cooked breakfast with everthing.I would reccomend Aston Hall for that special day.

Room Tip: No traffic noise even on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read your son's wedding was a success!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some valued feedback!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at Aston Hall 16th September, was a friends wedding. This must be one of the best if not the best wedding location around Sheffield. The service was excellent and the buffet food was far better quality than any wedding that I have attended before.
Myself and my wife had a double room, this was a large room with an enormous carved wood bed and spacious bathroom with roll top bath.
We had food delivered to our room, it arrived within about 15 minutes and was delicious. Similarly at breakfast the service was of the highest order and the food once again was excellent, was a perfect way to start the day.
My only regret was that we were only booked in for the one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyBoy123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your experience at Aston Hall.

All the team appreciate it!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Aston Hall for a family wedding. We had a pleasant room in the West Wing overlooking lawns and trees. A well equipped room with ironing biard and iron, hairdryer, teamaking equipment and a good TV. A smart designer bathroom though two small criticisms - the shower was over the bath with no grabrails to steady you as you stepped in or out with slightly slippery foothold.
We ate the first night in the bar where the full restaurant menu is also available. Good draft San Miguel beer and competent food, not Michelin star quality but pleasant enough.
The wedding was very well organised with a charming and helpful lady supervising. We were fortunate that, despite the recent rainy weather, on the wedding day it was bright and sunny. So after the wedding we went into the lovely grounds and had all the photographs taken in the shade of the trees whilst the staff changed the marquee from wedding seating into 7 eight seat tables, all named after F1 racing car teams! A very enjoyable wedding luncheon, excellent prawn starter and a generous helping of salmon and a good choice of vegetables, though I had to ask for the tartar sauce which got lost somewhere. I had eaten more than adequately and did not have a dessert but they certainly looked very attractive.
I think the younger guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening dancing though the very loud music was not to my elderly taste. We had the buffet supper, which was plesant but I really did not have room for a large evening emal.
The one disappointment of our visit was in the food at breakfast which was the Yorkshire cooked breakfast as the sausage was a poor cereal stuffed effort, the bacon was only half a slice and the so-called "hash brown" turned out to be a circle of fried bread.

Apart from that minor huccup it was a good wedding and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The West Wing has an elevator whilst the rest of the house, being a listed building, only has a gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are happy to find out you had an enjoyable stay. We will be looking into the breakfast issues you pointed out to implement improvements.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
8.7 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
9.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
7.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing