We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and overnight stay (Superb)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
2 reviews
“Wedding and overnight stay (Superb)”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at Aston Hall 16th September, was a friends wedding. This must be one of the best if not the best wedding location around Sheffield. The service was excellent and the buffet food was far better quality than any wedding that I have attended before.
Myself and my wife had a double room, this was a large room with an enormous carved wood bed and spacious bathroom with roll top bath.
We had food delivered to our room, it arrived within about 15 minutes and was delicious. Similarly at breakfast the service was of the highest order and the food once again was excellent, was a perfect way to start the day.
My only regret was that we were only booked in for the one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyBoy123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your experience at Aston Hall.

All the team appreciate it!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    167
    71
    20
    28
See reviews for
135
181
14
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Aston Hall for a family wedding. We had a pleasant room in the West Wing overlooking lawns and trees. A well equipped room with ironing biard and iron, hairdryer, teamaking equipment and a good TV. A smart designer bathroom though two small criticisms - the shower was over the bath with no grabrails to steady you as you stepped in or out with slightly slippery foothold.
We ate the first night in the bar where the full restaurant menu is also available. Good draft San Miguel beer and competent food, not Michelin star quality but pleasant enough.
The wedding was very well organised with a charming and helpful lady supervising. We were fortunate that, despite the recent rainy weather, on the wedding day it was bright and sunny. So after the wedding we went into the lovely grounds and had all the photographs taken in the shade of the trees whilst the staff changed the marquee from wedding seating into 7 eight seat tables, all named after F1 racing car teams! A very enjoyable wedding luncheon, excellent prawn starter and a generous helping of salmon and a good choice of vegetables, though I had to ask for the tartar sauce which got lost somewhere. I had eaten more than adequately and did not have a dessert but they certainly looked very attractive.
I think the younger guests thoroughly enjoyed the evening dancing though the very loud music was not to my elderly taste. We had the buffet supper, which was plesant but I really did not have room for a large evening emal.
The one disappointment of our visit was in the food at breakfast which was the Yorkshire cooked breakfast as the sausage was a poor cereal stuffed effort, the bacon was only half a slice and the so-called "hash brown" turned out to be a circle of fried bread.

Apart from that minor huccup it was a good wedding and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The West Wing has an elevator whilst the rest of the house, being a listed building, only has a gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are happy to find out you had an enjoyable stay. We will be looking into the breakfast issues you pointed out to implement improvements.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our daughter got married here on 5th August 2012. The place was beautifully decorated, the food was good and the whole atmosphere was wonderful. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We stayed over the weekend and were very comfortable. The marquee interior was really nicely decorated and was just the right size for our wedding party. Aston's wedding organiser was also extremely helpful, enabling everything to go smoothly. All in all, a good weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your daughter's wedding at Aston Hall. We firmly believe that one's wedding day must be memorable for the right reasons and we all work hard towards it. We hope to be able to look at the wedding photos and relive some of those special moments.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What can I say WOW! My daughter got married on 21 July 2012 and was fortunate to have a beautiful sunny day following all the rainy days previous. The Hotel, its grounds and staff made my daughter's wedding so special they could not do enough for us. I must say a big Thank You to our wedding organiser, who was very professional and made our wedding preparations run smoothly.

The food at the reception and evening buffet could not be faulted. Drinks at the bar were reasonable compared to other hotels in the area - our guests had no complaints. The rooms we stayed in were at a good rate, very clean, comfortable and modern. Breakfast was once again very enjoyable with the usual choices available.

The function room was stunning, tables were set out by the Hotel staff, who did everything for us apart from the chairs and backdrop. Lighting around the ceiling looked beautiful which was provided by the Hotel at no cost.There was ample parking for our guests in the Hotel grounds also allowing them to attend the Church which was adjacent the Hotel. Many of our guests commented on the wonderful day they had had which was pleasing to hear.

I would definately recommend Aston Hall Hotel as an excellent Wedding Venue.

Well done everyone Aston Hall Hotel!

Carole & Steve

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your daughter's wedding at Aston Hall. We understand how important the wedding day is to the bride and groom and also family and friends and we do all we can to ensure it is unforgettable.

The team would love to be able to welcome you all again at the hotel in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were wedding guests.
The hall looks beautiful from the outside but not so stunning inside.
Nice sunny day so could spend time outside with other guests the drinks were very over priced over £10 for a pint of lager and a glass of wine.
The evening party was great and everybody had a good time.
The morning after breakfast was served in the same room as the evening wedding party and on closer inspection the room looked very grotty dirty walls and carpets

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICKNBLONDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We have already put measures in place regarding the points you have raised, and we hope those issues will not have a detrimental effect on your views of the hotel.

We would love to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Aston Hall looks beautiful from the outside and has stunning gardens. When we arrived, the receptionist was very helpful, as we were running late she moved our dinner reservations back for us as well as upgrading our room (at our request). We then went up to our room which was beautiful, it had it's own reception area with a large mirror and wardrobe and a very clean bathroom. The room had very high ceilings which me and my partner loved, a four poster bed, as well as a corner sofa and a fire in the room. The view from our room was lovely, we could just see the top of the Peak District. As I mentioned earlier the bathroom was VERY clean and modern, shower over the bath. We went down for dinner and remembered we hadn't packed toothpaste! the very helpful receptionist ran off and come back with some and some travel toothbrushes! we ate from the A La Carte menu i believe (not the set menu) and the food was amazing!! the starters were fab but the fillet steak main was sensational, cooked to perfection. Unfortunately we cannot comment on breakfast as we overslept!! due to the hotel being ever so quiet, did not hear a single noise in the evening and the bed was extra comfy. Overall i would recommend this hotel to anyone and I certainly will be returning on our next trip to Sheffield.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Helve but were told if we liked that (we loved it) we would love the Penthouse suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAM844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were all delighted to read your review and also to see the lovely photos you posted of your room and the hotel. The bedrooms in the main house are all individually designed and we hope you will be able to stay in different one each time (or your all time favourite, if you prefer).

The team look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Hall facade overall was in need of some TLC. The grounds were very neglected, over grown in places and appeared 'unloved'. Interior was little better, neglected' even the fire doors felt 'sticky'. The three small steps leading directly to our bedroom door made entering and exiting 'tricky'. Our room was only basic, but even so the decor was poor, tea/coffee making facilities were located in the 'wardrobe' and of only limited supply, there was insufficent drawer space (one drawer). The room itself was very noisy, being located above the kitchen and its extractor fan units (which we were not made aware even though we booked six months previously). The bathroom, although pleasantly decorated and clean, did have one or two glaring faults, mainly the shower over the bath as it had no grab rail or anti-slip mat to prevent slipping, also the pop up plug was broken and had to be removed when showering to prevent the bath from filling. In addition, the bathroom sink was not securely fixed to the work-surface. The breakfast, whilst sufficient, was not particularly appetising and was served in a room that had a distinct air of dampness. Having said all this, the staff were very friendly and obliging. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane6427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am awfully sorry to read we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We have already looked into the points you have raised and started implementing new procedures and fixing any physical faults raised in your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope you would reconsider visiting Aston Hall again in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
8.7 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
9.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
7.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing