We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food...as usual.”
Review of the hearty oak - CLOSED

the hearty oak
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food...as usual.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just had a lovely dessert at the Hearty Oak with my wife and our son. Whenever we're looking for somewhere local, which is good to eat, it's a place we consider and we have yet to be disappointed. It was fairly quiet tonight, but the service was still warm and friendly and the food was delicious (the chocolate browny is very yummy). Can't wait until we have Matthew's christening meal there in April and sure it will meet our expectations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    3
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christening Party”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had our son's Christening party at the Hearty Oak today. From the initial booking, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet was fantastic and the range of food meant it was perfect for all ages. I would definitely recommend The Hearty Oak. It was superb value for money and a great day was had by all. A big thank you to The Hearty Oak and all the staff!! Emma M

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Food good, toilets need a clean though (and toilet roll)”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went here for a meal with the in-laws, wife and kids, 8 of us in total.
Service was friendly, food was good, you got plenty to get through and it was good quality, fresh and what we had was reasonably priced.
There were a few things on the menu that caught my eye, a gourmet double cheeseburger for over £18 (would prefer a fillet steak burger for that price), the emphasis on Real Chips all over the menu as though its a speciality to make chips, they were ok but no better than the hand cut chips I do at home !
Also we waited a long time for the food to arrive, another table arrived after us, had 2 courses, paid the bill and left before we ate, it appears this was down to the fact someone had to pop out and get some beans for the kids meals, if they had of just said "we have no beans", the kids would have been happy enough without them, can't fault them for going out of their way to do this but would have prefered the food slightly quicker.
A few things bugged me also, when we arrived in the car park there was a half filled pint glass right in the middle of it taking up a parking space, if customers can see this surely someone who works there would have seen it as they arrived to work in the morning and moved it.
Took my daughter to the toilet in the mens and there was pee on the toilet seat, ok it could have been the last dirty person in that did it, give it a wipe with toilet roll, "what no toilet roll !", had to rush her back out as she was already platting her legs and the missus had to take her into the ladies !
In my opinion people should be checking the toilets every day for cleanliness and to make sure its stocked up.
I am not an overly fussy person usually and this place could be a lot better if they ironed these few little gripes, as first impression last (as they say).
All in all would I eat here again, Yes I would, but if you read this Hearty Oak get some toilet rolls in for the men and check the car park in the morning !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyjcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, traditional pub - perfect for a personal family party”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked out the conservatory for our son's Naming Ceremony on 6th October and despite some initial confusion we received excellent attentive service throughout the day.
We booked the room about 3 months in advance with the (then) manager and initially paid for the basic £69 buffet. In the following weeks we had several converstations with the manager regarding alterations and additions we wanted to make to the buffet and the room layout, which we were told was fine and would be noted in the diary. 1 week before the ceremony we popped into the pub again to pay off the remaining bill and finalise the plans for the day. We found out that the manager had quit suddenly and had in fact not noted any of our requirements or alterations under our reservation. At first we thought our special day would be ruined and might have to be cancelled, but the stand-in manager, Oliva, could not have been more helpful and bent over backwards to ensure that everything we had planned with the previous manager would go ahead. When we arrived on the day of the Naming Ceremony the room was all set out perfectly for the occasion, all the buffet was set out in the bar area (as we requested in order to create more space in the conservatory, and included all the additional food we had paid for)
The bar staff even completely re-arranged the room from the formal ceremony set-up to an informal buffet area during the 10 minutes we spent outside taking photos. Olivia regularly popped over to us, making sure everything was running smoothly for us and asking if there was anything she could do to help. The whole day went perfectly without any hitches and we never had a thing to worry about, which was all down to Olivia and the rest of the bar staff.
To add to this, the room was fantastic and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend The Hearty Oak for anyone who is looking for a traditional, personal venue with extremely helpful staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will be back”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had our dinner in the Hearty Oak on Friday night, and we found it a fantastic venue. The newly decorated conservatory was a really nice environment in which to eat, we were informed this isn't the main dining area as that was currently being used for a function but we were more than happy in here, if anything i thing it is nicer. Having the function in the other room halped provided a good atmosphere to the place as the staff were kept busy and therefore much happier but they never let our service drop and we were very pleased with the whole experience. Very good selection of specials which we guess change regularly and were very fresh. I advise all to go and even though we were informed a managment change has occured we never sensed it and felt the staff to be very knowledgeable if not coping much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tjed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the hearty oak also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing