We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swanky Franks - CLOSED

Swanky Franks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Texan Grill & American Diner in the heart of Woodseats, Sheffield.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Came here for a meal on a Friday night not expecting much as the restaurant looks a bit odd from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised, its actually quite nice inside. The food is really reasonably prices and the portions huge, we literally could not move afterwards. Its not going to win a Michelin star but if you want a cheap and cheerful burger then give it a try. One of the waitresses was hilarious and made our night! Only complaint is house wine was a bit expensive in comparison to the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    79
    36
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great night and you won't leave hungry! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A great place to go for burgers and the desserts are to die for. Very relaxed atmosphere with funky musiv. Thanks Phoebe and Lyndsey for such a warm welcome!

Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham, yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers n massive portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Visited here last night with my husband and two sons. first of all the staff, from the minute we arrived till the minute we left the service we received was fantastic!! Polite and attentive without being overbearing.
The food.. Oh where to start soo many choices all of a reasonable price myself and my sons opted for the midweek menu offer this didn't disappoint and my husband went for a T-bone steak off the specials board. The portions are huge!! And the burgers are
Moist,tender and very tasty! Make sure to sample the homemade desserts snickers cheesecake and Oreo bash amazing!Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to Swanky Franks since it opened and the level of service, quality of food has never changed. It is still one of the best in Sheffield. The atmosphere is brilliant, the staff are friendly and you always guarantee a song will be played we can join in with. Great night again Swankys.... Thank you x

Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food here cant be faulted. Generous portions if you have a good appetite as we do. we don't care for the décor its not kind to the eye and doesn't go with the American diner theme. It would look more at home in a surf café. Everything else is spot on. Great food, great service, great portions, just very casual.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swanky Franks also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing