We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal”

Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 1,453 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Café Rouge Sheffield is set in the heart of the shopping district and is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day shopping, or a break in between! We've taken inspiration from the famous steel and cutlery production since the 19th century. You'll find little touches to delight throughout the restaurant, like antique pendants and romantic black & white photography. Don't forget to visit us when the sun's out as well and enjoy large outdoor seating areas.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night. Food was gorgeous & staff were polite & helpful. They let us have mussels for our starter when they were only listed as a main course. Really good value for money & we will return next time were in Sheffield .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    118
    81
    56
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Poor food snd service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on way to a concert, thought it was over priced bland snd although staff were polite never bothered to check what we thouhht of the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BASIC BUT REASONABLY PRICED AND THE STAFF ARE VERY ATTENTIVE.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a chain of restaurants ,but unlike others it serves good food at reasonable prices.
The staff are so attentive which makes all the difference.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAISY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch or tea”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our first visit here. The staff were very friendly. We had to go inside to get someone to take our order after we had been given the menues but that may have been because we were peckish rather than because the waitress took a while to come out. We shared a "sharing board" which comprised Sharing board of pâté maison, petit saucisson, houmous, olives, aromatic cured pork, marinated goats cheese boulée, red pepper tapenade & rustic breads. It came within about 10 minutes, was well presebted and really tasty - especially the pate and houmous. We ordered a glass of wine, I had the merlot which was different to that on the menu - was informed up front by the waitress and it was lovely - as was hubbies wine.

I had cottish salmon fishcakes, rolled in oats with lime & coriander mayonnaise and frites which was lovely. The only negative comment was that the frites were very thin and aneamic looking. Hubby had the pork medallions and mash and veg from the specials menu which he enjoyed. For dessert we shared a tarte tatin which was lovely - no thick horrible pastry and we had a cappucino and an espresso.

We would definiately come back for lunch or tea

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatureLoverSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited cafe Rouge on a Saturday night and it was barely half full. The waitresses service was unprofessional to the extremes - all common sounding, all sounding a bit surprised that people are actually ordering food, ditzy, having a natter in the corner and SLOOOWWW.

Visited many cafe Rouge's and this is by far the worse - the one in Cambridge is excellent! I guess it's like any chain restaurant - created to make money, rather than created through passion and love of food by a chef. You may come across good ones and some bad ones.

Don't visit! I sure won't be again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing