We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The first thing that really struck me about this hotel was the friendliness of all the staff. Whether at the reception or serving in the bar or restaurant, I've not seen so many smiles since last year's Red Nose Day! Anyway it's a lovely old building with lots of character plus plenty of tasteful modern extensions. Our room was comfortable and clean and dinner in the restaurant was tasty and very reasonably priced. Freshly cooked breakfasts were an added bonus. Plenty of parking, free wifi everywhere in the hotel, and easy access to the Peak District, Sheffield and Chesterfield. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottmmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Nottmmike,

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with the team.

I was pleased to hear that you took advanntage of our proximity to the Peak District as we try to encourage our guests to do.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul.

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 771 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, looks great from the outside and received a nice welcome. Room was very spacious and bed extreamly comfortable, all very well presented and clean. Used both bath and shower, no problems with getting hot water and high powered shower.
Had a meal, it was quite expensive but tasty and well presented. I had ham hock terrine to start and 10oz sirloin steak, partner had duck to start, 10oz sirloin steak and ice cream. The lady who served us was nice and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was great, lots of choice for both continental and full English. On checking out met with friendly staff.
I thought the hotel was lovely and just what we wanted for a night get away. The old hall has been sympathetically modernised and our room was very comfortable.
Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddyTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Maria W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Your comments are very kind and portray a very enjoyable stay which is very pleasing for myself and the team to read.

I hope that we will get the chance to serve you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul.

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a weekend break at Mosborough Hall last weekend. The hotel is set in a nice location and the room we had was very reasonably priced, clean & comfortable. All staff we encountered were very friendly & cheerful. We didn't eat at the hotel but did use the bar. It has a good range of beers including real ale in bottles, so I was happy.

Would definately recommend this hotel and will use again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_P_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I visited Mosborough Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and his birthday in January. Originally a Groupon deal we upgraded our room to the Robert's Suite - a good move as we had a divine room with tons of space and lots of luxury.
The room was a little bit dated in terms of decor - it could do with a spruce up and a brightening up but those factors didn't detract from our overnight stay. We had the pleasure of the beautiful snow covered grounds to gaze upon.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious. The staff were very accommodating from our arrival onwards. We had towels formed into the shape of a heart on our bed on arrival. Lovely touch. The hotel wasn't busy but it was the middle of January. There's a very modern bar area where they mix a decent cocktail and serve good coffee.
An easy place to find, a good base for visiting local places of interest and highly recommended. We'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmm_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked the Mosborough Hall Hotel on a Groupon offer of £59 - detail the same as other reviews. First impressions were favourable, the room was a good size and very comfortable. The Brasserie was nice to relax in and share a bottle of wine. The free Wi-Fi was a bonus. We had the 2-4-1 Gourmet dinner at £21 for two. This was very good and not the disappointment some other people experienced. The big selling point for me was the friendly and attentive staff, although to be fair there were hardly any other guests that night. I would stay there again, especially with a Groupon offer which was exceptional value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxonHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just had a weekend here with family. Staff very friendly and relaxed. Rooms modern mainly in extended building, good size, clean, decent bathrooms.
Re food, breakfast was good, with wide choice, both Continental and English.
However dinner on the fixed menu was generally very poor. Why bring a hot starter on cold plates, and a chilled sweet on a warm plate...where it immediately melted... Pork Terrine starter had a large piece of bone in it, jarring my brother's teeth. The Trainee chef was blamed... Set three course menu was £21 (though we were there on a reduced Groupon offer) but for £21, there is considerable choice around of excellent food...so this was way over-priced. Limited choice on set menu, and these were generally poor...my fish cakes were stodgy and self /sister both left most of ours after tasting.
Eating out is so competitive these days, and if Mosborough Hall were not a hotel, they would not survive on their restaurant. For £21 for the limited set menu, I can immediately think of a dozen places in the region with far superior food, including a number of 'gastro pubs'.

Room Tip: Rooms are standard other than suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterIlkley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked by my husband for a birthday treat. Excellent value for money deal. Friendly staff and a spacious bedroom tastefully decorated and one of few where I have found the mirror, chair and hairdryer all together. Large TV in room and spotless bathroom with lovely shower. Bed really comfortable and bedding super white which has not always been the case in some hotels I have stayed in. Non of them Best Western I must add. Check in was quick and simple and we were greeted by smiling friendly staff which is always a good start. The night began at 7.00 with a pre dinner drink in the bar, excellent house wine at average price for a hotel. Then into a charming room with long tables set out so everyone has a clear view of the stage. 2 course meal is served and the food is wonderful and just the right sized portion allowing room for a few drinks during the night and to sit comfortable without feeling stuffed whilst watching the enertainment. Three comedians who's names we had not heard of before to open as to what to expect. All three had the whole room participating and laughing within the first few minutes. Our table was a mixture of ages from late 20's to retired so definatley catered for all tastes. After the comedians had finished which was around 11.15 it was a choice of staying for the disco in the room, retreating to the bar or strolling through the garden to the main bar for a nightcap. Being in our mid forties we opted for the latter and sank into a nice comfy sofa to enjoy a nightcap before returning to a lovely warm bedroom and watching a film. The last part of the package was a fantastic breakfast in the main dinning room where the staff and service were excellent and the food once again outstanding. Everything you would expect for a Continental Self Yourself alongside a well cooked really tasty Full English where my husband, very particular about his meat, gave a thumbs up to the quality of the bacon and sausage served. All in all a very pleasant short stay and we will be back again for the Comedy Night Package

Room Tip: If your like my husband and you like to keep an eye on the car during your stay you can request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyandAdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear MandyandAdy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on the comedy club package deal.

Your comments ar very pleasing indeed and have been shared with the team and also the company that supply the comedians.

We have a number of dates booked for the remainder of the year and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Paul.

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#7 of 53 in Sheffield
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $58 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 46 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 46 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing