We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks great until close up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“looks great until close up”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked this place as a reccomendation, it was a business trip and cost £85 for the night. Upon arrival i went into reception to find the desk unmanned and waitied over 5 mins before being greated.

When walking into the room the first thing i noticed was a smell of mould, I put my things down and went for a shower to freshen up after a 5 hr drive. the bathroom air vent never went off and this I am sure was enginered due to the black mould behind the toilet where there was a leak. I spent the whole night smelling it and in the morning when checking out, another gentleman was moaning about mould and leeks in his room.

Would I go back - No

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Townman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Townman21,

Thank you for your review.

I was very disappointed to read of the problems you had with your bathroom.

We do have a manager on duty 24 hours a day and if you had made us aware of the problem we could have rectified it for you or found you an alternative room.

I hope that in time you will see fit to give us a chance to provide you with our usual levels of service.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    223
    101
    46
    33
See reviews for
159
311
19
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed one night in November. All in all a very pleasant stay. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The bar area was very pleasant to sit in being a glassed in area giving views to hotel grounds and also to the original old building to the inside. As with many hotels the presence of a decent cask ale would be a welcome addition to the drinks on offer. We ate in the restaurant which was comfortable, reasonably priced and the food served was good quality. The service was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was as expected with a range of cold buffet items, cereal, yogurts fruit juice etc. The cooked breakfast had a wide choice of items and was good quality. If staying in the area a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewWaltham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at the Mosborough Hall Hotel. The staff were very friendly & helpful, always a service wih a smile. The room was basic , but comfortable, We had breadfast an an evening meal, which both were very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffandtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I wanted to stay here as I discovered some of my ancestors once lived here. The present old house is 18th century with some earlier Elizabethan ( 16th C )rooms . It has a modern , stylish, glass-framed bar and restaurant , all well lit in blue light .It is on the eastern countryside edge of Sheffield so not central but well placed for the M1 . The story of the 2 haunted rooms are fascinating but I didnt have the courage to stay in one of them ! Lady Mary Boleyn came to live here with , it is said ,Henry VIII's ginger-haired love child, who became Henry Carey , Ist Baron Hunsdon. King Henry then discovered Lady Anne Boleyn and the rest is history ! Watch the excellent movie "The Other Boleyn Girl"

Room Tip: The De Stuteville room is the most haunted . Try it if you dare !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were not happy with our stay at this hotel at all. We paid £95 for our room (discounted due to attending a wedding) and were left very disappointed. The room was extremely basic and of a poor standard considered the £95 charged. The bathroom was very dated (we estimate 1980's) and the décor probably from the same period. The cleanliness was not the best either with cobwebs and dust on the ceiling and light shades. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. We have recently stayed in a Premier Inn at a cost of £29.99 and this was 5* compared to Mosborough Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBump197806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear MrBump197806,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction.

We currently have seven bedrooms that are decorated in a traditional fashion. These rooms are due to be refurbished early next year in the modern style of the vast majority of our bedrooms.

I am sorry that you did not like the room you were allocated. Had you made us aware we could have found you an alternative room immediately.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you experienced issues with the cleanliness of your bedroom. This is certainly not up to our normal standards of service.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed a week last Sunday on a deal. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable hotel and pleasant evenng meal...........and a good location, The bar area was comfortable, and all in all, a pleasant break

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay here every time we visit friends and family 4--5 times a year, and there is always a warm welcome, the staff stays mostly the same (a good point actually) as you are recognised immediatly you check in. We find the beds lovely and comfortable possibly the best hotel beds we have slept in, The rooms have always been fresh and clean although lacking drawer space, During cold weather they can be a little cool, but this is soon recfified by requesting a portable fan heater (according to choice). Breakfast menu has a wide choice of options, all food chosen is always freshly cooked and nicely presented plus on 3 times I have requested something not listed and it was supplied with a smile. A point I would like to make is that although there is`nt a designated porter the maintenance personel are prepare to help with luggage, this matters if you have a disabilty, thank you Wain!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear June T,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased that you enjoy to stay with us so much. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

In particular Wayne is delighted that you have chosen this forum to highlight the excellent service he provides. As maintenance manager his work often goes unnoticed, this really made his day.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
10.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
230 reviews
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing