We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than a Travelodge at a top price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Less than a Travelodge at a top price”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were not happy with our stay at this hotel at all. We paid £95 for our room (discounted due to attending a wedding) and were left very disappointed. The room was extremely basic and of a poor standard considered the £95 charged. The bathroom was very dated (we estimate 1980's) and the décor probably from the same period. The cleanliness was not the best either with cobwebs and dust on the ceiling and light shades. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. We have recently stayed in a Premier Inn at a cost of £29.99 and this was 5* compared to Mosborough Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBump197806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear MrBump197806,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction.

We currently have seven bedrooms that are decorated in a traditional fashion. These rooms are due to be refurbished early next year in the modern style of the vast majority of our bedrooms.

I am sorry that you did not like the room you were allocated. Had you made us aware we could have found you an alternative room immediately.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you experienced issues with the cleanliness of your bedroom. This is certainly not up to our normal standards of service.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    219
    97
    44
    33
See reviews for
156
305
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed a week last Sunday on a deal. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable hotel and pleasant evenng meal...........and a good location, The bar area was comfortable, and all in all, a pleasant break

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay here every time we visit friends and family 4--5 times a year, and there is always a warm welcome, the staff stays mostly the same (a good point actually) as you are recognised immediatly you check in. We find the beds lovely and comfortable possibly the best hotel beds we have slept in, The rooms have always been fresh and clean although lacking drawer space, During cold weather they can be a little cool, but this is soon recfified by requesting a portable fan heater (according to choice). Breakfast menu has a wide choice of options, all food chosen is always freshly cooked and nicely presented plus on 3 times I have requested something not listed and it was supplied with a smile. A point I would like to make is that although there is`nt a designated porter the maintenance personel are prepare to help with luggage, this matters if you have a disabilty, thank you Wain!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear June T,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased that you enjoy to stay with us so much. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

In particular Wayne is delighted that you have chosen this forum to highlight the excellent service he provides. As maintenance manager his work often goes unnoticed, this really made his day.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely old building with a blended in new annex, set in a housing estate, but hidden by trees. Set quite high overlooking Mosborough area. I had read previous reviews about poor service, but we found it excellent and staff very obliging.The breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. The bar was expensive,paying £4.20 for a pint of larger!. The rooms were clean, but did lack space for clothing...no drawers!!. The room was a bit shabby (paint work/trim) but it was warm( efficient heating seeing as it was a cold w/end), and on asking for an extra blanket, actually got a second quilt. There were weddings, one each day we were there, but didn't impact us really. It was an expensive weekend at £112 per night for two with breakfast, but it was close to where we needed to be and we found it a pleasent experience, even if rather expensive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkjackson3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed here on two seperate occasions and both times have had a fantastic time.
From checking in too checking out all the staff were polite and friendly.
We have stayed in two different suites both were absolutely stunning four poster bed, ensuite bathroom with shower one of the suites has a bath in the room too!
On both occasions we ate in the restraunt and had lovely meals both times, the chunky chips are yummy ;)
The bar is lovely to have drinks in and adds a modern touch the lovely old building of the hotel, there is a modern building with hotel rooms but we stayed in the 'old' part which in my poinion had much more character etc,
Would defo recommend staying here for an adult get away from the kids lol

Room Tip: Book one of the suites if you are going for a romantic stay defo worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMosborough, Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Carolyn J,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your two stays with us. Our two feature rooms are indeed full of character and it is pleasing to know that you enjoyed staying in them.

Thank you also for your feedback on the modern extensions which we went to a great deal of effort to ensure were sympathetic to the original buildings.

We get a lot of comments about our homemade chunky chips, I'm glad you got the chance to enjoy these also.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Another Best Western overnight stop and overall quite satisfactory. Check in was fine and my room was clean and boasted a very comfortable bed and flat screen TV along with usual coffee etc

I ate in the restaurant at night which was fairly empty and a little chilly sat by the window. I also wasn't offered a breadroll or spoon with which to eat spaghetti. The waiting staff although polite and well presented appeared a little disinterested? The food itself was enjoyable and I'd have no qualms eating there again. I must however mention the bar prices, £3.70 for a pint of Boddingtons (why not a local bitter?) and an outrageous £4.75 for a small glass if house red ( the large being over. £6!!)

Bar prices aside I enjoyed a good nights sleep in a peaceful room and the cereal I had for breakfast was more than enough to start my day. I'd stay again but take my own wine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Appart from being sent to our room which was not ready the visit was fantastic and very relaxing. We got a groupon deal for £59 which included wine and breakfast. The room was spacious and newly decorated. The hotel seemed new and well presented throughout. One of the waitresses smelt very strong of BO in the restrant when we are but the food was really lovely and of good standard. We ate by candle light which was nice. Breakfast was also great. Check out was 11am which was a nice time to vacate leaving enough time to relax and pack.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocoachanel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
10.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing