We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Who at Sheffield Arena”
Review of Sheffield Arena

Sheffield Arena
Ranked #19 of 165 things to do in Sheffield
Attraction details
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
548 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The Who at Sheffield Arena”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Arena is a fairly typical large event venue. You get a decent view of the stage from our seats (block 218), although the backdrop videos were partially blocked by speakers. The sound quality was good,and the concert itself was first class.
As at most of these venues, beer and food is expensive, although the queues to get served wernt bad, and the staff were efficent enough.
Good parking and plenty of hotels local if you need one

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    245
    118
    37
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Living near Hull in East Yorkshire this is the closest venue thats worth visiting when something takes our fancy. Ideal also for going on train as you hop off at meadow hall then onto a tram and your there in mins. Plenty of places to eat situated around. Food and drink also available inside. One thing i dont like is the merchandise area situated so close to the exit doors and the toilets that you struggle to get to it and or the toilets as people just bunch around it. With a bit more organisation from the staff and management that could easily be sorted into a queueing system of some kind. Been here to see WWE more than once and also Watch the Throne and Nicki Minaj in concert and im sure i'll be back soon!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmJo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good venue but seating very cramped”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived early to see the Who on the 18th, show was great easy access from motorway, arrived early and parking fine. Quick access to venue, staff very good but seating was very cramped, I'm 6' so not that tall. So if your tall or a 92 stone pork pie eaterexpect discomfort

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best concerts ever”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I went to the arena to see the Who on 18th June. My wife is a huge fan but I've never really been into the Who. How wrong could I be ? It was an amazing gig at a fantastic venue. As regards location the arena is nearer to Rotherham than Sheffield so we stayed overnight in a hotel in Rotherham. After a few beers in Rotharham we got a bus from the bus station and 15 minutes later we were dropped off right outside the venue. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and a couple of pubs. We sat outside a pub called The Arena or similar and then walked the hundred yards to the venue. There was virtually no queue to get in which is pretty impressive for a 13500 seater stadium. Our seats were in the stalls 14 rows from the stage which was fabulous. It is a huge arena so I personally would always try to get tickets in the stalls. There were lots of bars and toilets with no queues at all during the performance. The acoustics in the arena were incredible particularly when everyone was clapping and cheering and the stage show was mindblowing, with 3 huge screens. Would definitely go here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great location for a convention”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great arena for our purpose, toilets plenty and the hot water was HOT !!! The concessions inside weren't too expensive either, I was surprised.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank isaackiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Arena also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sheffield Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing