We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night for our graduation ball”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in the Hilton after the Travel Lodge overbooked. This worked out in our favour as our ball was being held in the Hilton as well. We had a 5th floor room that was unfortunately close to the lift so the noise of the mechanism could be heard when ever it was being used.

The room was very clean and spacious as well as being well stocked with drinks and bathroom supplies. The bed was a king size and we both had a good nights sleep. The only down side was the lack of blind in the bathroom (although the window was frosted) which meant that when the door was open in the morning the room was lit up.

Our ball was organised between the hotel and members of my university course. It involved a 3 course meal and disco after until 1am as well as a welcome drink and a photographer who stayed all evening. There wear about 50 of us in attendance and there seemed to be plenty of staff around all night although the drinks at the bar were a little expensive we paid £40 person for which we had wine on the table, the meal, hire of the room and disco as well as some money left over for table declarations and awards for everyone.

The breakfast was excellent, the only thing that was missing being mushrooms.

Room Tip: If you can request a room avoid 522 as it is next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your review on trip advisor.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Hilton Sheffield, however I would like to apologise for any disturbance you encountered from the lift during your stay.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

recently stayed for two nights while attending a show in Sheffield.

Location is good, and a short taxi ride from the train station and arena.

Rooms are large, comfortable and clean...try and get a balcony room...lovely to sit outside on.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay here with us at the Hilton Sheffield.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel as part of a spa break. As part of this experience we had use of the leisure facilities and each had 2 treatments. All of the spa facilities were very good although the steam room could've done with being aromatherapy related also. The staff on arrival were very pleasant and as was the therapist who did our treatments. We found that the treatment rooms were a little cold though the treatments themselves were pleasant as expected.
Overall a good day

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank lks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your review on trip advisor,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable spa day here at the Hilton Sheffield. I have taken note of your thoughts on how we could improve the service that we offer and am grateful for your suggestions.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel staff are 1st class, the hotel is looking a little tired but is quite acceptable. Make sure your rooms are not above the Gym the dance music is very loud, the staff moved me without any problem, fortunately they could. Overall quite comfortable ,I would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay but would like to also apologise for any noise experienced.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I often visit Sheffield on business and always choose to stay here if possible. The staff are friendly and helpful and unlike quite a few places I go, it seems like a "happy ship".
Rooms generally very good, the food also very good. I have stayed often enough to see the menu change and each time new and tasty options appear. Decent breakfast buffet and service always with a smile. Easy car parking and good gym and indoor pool facilities too. Perfect for my business visits in the city and quick access to/from the M1 J33.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank ManInBlack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I am so pleased to read that you always enjoy your stay at the Hilton Sheffield and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for the Snooker final at the crucible, It is a little out of the way but the staff were very friendly. For snooker fans there is even a snooker table in the bar! The room was typical hilton style and had a small balcony with views over the canal.

The room itself was a little grubby with dents in the carpet where furniture had once been and no sofa bed as advertised. The balcony was full of cigarette butts and we got locked out there even though the door used deadbolts!

All in all we didn't spend much time there but personally I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yggdrasil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Hilton Sheffield.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with guest room cleanliness. This certainly does not sound like our usual high standards and the Head Housekeeper is aware of your feedback.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

was happy with he hotel, not how i expected it though. room balcony door had lock issues, and some stains on the curtains. a little out of the way too. I paid for riverside view and balcony but to be honest, it was nothing like I pictured. It was raining the day I stayed though so maybe if the weather was nicer I might have had a different opnion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that the Hilton Sheffield did not meet your expectations and your comments have been reviewed by the necessary departments.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,318 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $93 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing