We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The Hilton brand I've always imagined to have quality and esteem, unfortunately I found this wasn't the case. Staff were clearly stressed but kept a friendly, helpful tone. The key card machine was broken so we were told the duty manager would bring the card up, therefore we were escorted to the room by a member of staff. The room had awful decor, the carpet being the worst offender. Window latches were loose and the beds were hard. The TV was awkward to operate and the room was one of the smallest I've seen. The room key never did arrive after waiting around two hours I investigated and found the machine to be working. On the plus side the view of the canal was quaint, the bar is nicely furnished and the location was great but it's certainly not the Hilton experience I was expecting.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank worky8t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry for the issues experienced with the door lock and for any inconvenience that this caused.

Your feedback regarding the bedroom has also been noted and passed onto the Maintenance Manager.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is in a rundown area of Sheffield, hard to get to (fifth exit on a busy roundabout) and they charge guests 6 quid for parking! The restaurant is way overpriced (14 quid for a hamburger and chips) and 15 pounds for 24 hours of internet access (wifi or phoneline). Twelve pounds each for the standard buffet breakfast is a rip off also. The staff are excellent, the bed was massive and the room was okay. A lot of little things wrong with the room and the public areas too. Maintenance needs addressing...For a Hilton its all the little things that should add up to a great experience..this one disappoints. Wife and I went to the arena for a show, taxi ride about 5.50 each way and parking there is only 5 quid but... I didn't want to try and find the Hilton again at 10:30 at night, it was hard enough in daylight. There is a Premire Inn directly across the road from the Arena with free parking, 3 quid internet and a better/less expensive restaurant. Also easy access, walkable to the Arena and a Tesco just off the parking lot.

Room Tip: For the Arena go to Premiere Inn. Easier to Meadowhall also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Hilton Sheffield.

I was glad to see that you did find the staff members excellent and your comments regarding pricing has been taken on board.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed a few times before, for a night, this time, we had a 3 day stay.(with friends) We used the pool, and leisure club,first rate, and really nice people that use it.staff very friendly great start. We were given nice rooms, as my wife is a HHonors top tie member, The Restaurant was fantastic,used our tater card, for 50% discount, best value in town, also given free drinks coupons, which were exchanged for a bottle of wine, a a couple of beers, Please note saturdays can be busy, as lots of weddings, so book early, or pre order your food,if eating in house, great friendly bar.and if weather is nice, you can sit outside, with nice view of the canal etc, there is a coffee bar, and an excellent breakfast, all in all great value for money, if you book early, as prices go up, for some busy periods,.All the staff go out of their way to be of assistances, and it is a first class hotel,maybe could do with a bit of air con , on hot nights, but they now have fans in the room,Hotel is a good location,short distance to city centre, with a car park on site,.where its best to leave your car and walk, or catch the local tram,unless your going further than a few miles,

Room Tip: some of the rooms,can have a bit of noise,if on a saturday night, when the weddings are on,so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website and I am glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects of the Hilton Sheffield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location wise the Hilton was perfect for the occasion - less than 10 min taxi journey to Meadowhall, less than 15 min walk from the train station.

The reception staff, bar staff and breakfast staff were excellent - very attentive, very pleasant, an asset to the hotel.

Breakfast was of good quality and there was a fantastic range - something to suit everyone.

The cocktails in the bar were fantastic - nice that there was an offer on too! (2 for £12)

The disappointment was the standard of the room - we had an executive, and quite what was executive about it I'm still not sure. We had to request a second set of towels (2 people staying in the room you would expect 2 sets of towels), we had requested a twin but were allocated a double, there wasn't an extractor fan in the bathroom and the room didn't have air conditioning. The provisions on the tea tray were basic and minimal.

The swimming pool and leisure facilities looked nice but unfortunately we didn't have time to try them.

All in all for what we paid, I would have expected more.

Room Tip: We were allocated a waterside view - but it really didn't matter - it wasn't that much of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website regarding your stay at Hilton Sheffield.

I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and your great comments have been shared with the team.

I am sorry however that you found the standard of bedroom poor and your feedback regarding the towels have been discussed with the Head Housekeeper.

All of our bathrooms contain extractor fans however air conditioning is unfortunaly not fitted in our bedrooms.

I do hope that you will consider staying with the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel was just right. Easy parking and disabled access and friendly and helpful reception. Clean and bright and spacious in the public areas and rooms. There is a costa coffee near reception for boost after a long journey. The evening meal was good and the prices were very fair. Breakfast provided a tremendous choice for all taste and staff here were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
My best Hilton stay so far!
The only draw back was a strong mildew smell in the bathroom which friendly room staff tried to spray away to no avail !

Room Tip: If you get the room 230 with the smelly bathroom ask for a transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Hilton Sheffield.

I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay however I can only apologise for a strong smell in the bathroom. Your feedback has been passed onto the Head Housekeeper and I am sorry for any discomfort caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel was a short walk from the city centre and ponds forge pool - perfect location for our stay. Very comfortable and great food which was made even better by the use of a gourmet society card which gives 50% off your food bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank juelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your brilliant review on this website.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon at the Hilton Sheffield.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

great hotel very friendly staff enjoyed my stay definately return we only stayed overnight but was made very welcome by reception staff up to bar staff i will definately reccomend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on this website regarding Hilton Sheffield.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing