We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 14th July. Very hot and there was no air con - a desk fan was provided instead but because we were in a family room one desk fan was not adequate and we were hot in the night.

Good points; big balcony in our family room, breakfast had lots of choice, bar staff and everyone was friendly, great spa facilities

Bad points; no air con, had one towel in a family room and had to ask for more. I have stayed in a deluxe room before and a family room is just a deluxe room but with another double bed squeezed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoaster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the breakfast, spa and found the staff members friendly.

It is unfortunate that our bedrooms do not have air conditioning and I am sorry that you found the fan inadequate.

I would also like to apologise for the lack of towels in the bedroom and I have addressed this with the Head Housekeeper.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed two nights,Friday and Saturday. so hot we were unable to sleep, no air con. and the windows only opened a fraction.There was a desk fan but it was useless. provided with a small complimentary bottle of water the first night but not the second..so it was annoying that they placed large bottle with a £3.95 price sticker on it on the dresser...under the circumstances mean in the extreme....as was the £5 per night parking fee which we didnt know about until we arrived. have stayed in three other Sheffield Hotels while daughter is at Uni and they were all better than this one...but thats not the fault of the staff who were all pleasant and friendly. To be fair the Hotel was clean/comfortable and would probably be good for mid week visits...but not if its sunny outside/

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorras31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I am glad to see that you found the staff members helpful and friendly.

I am sorry that we do not have air conditioning in the rooms and that you also found the fan inadequate. The window safety catches can be removed upon request.

Your feedback regarding water and car parking at £6 per night have been taken on board; thank you for your feedback.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here from the 19th July until 21st July 2013. It was a really Comfortable stay especially the Power Shower excellent for this weather. The only reason I never gave it a 5 star rating was there was no Air Conditioning at all. However they did give us a fan for the room free of charge. The room Service was excellent on both days. We even got upgraded to a deluxe which was very nice. Overall a very pleasant stay....

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the Queys were Beautiful especially if you are lucky enough to get a Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that our bedrooms do not benefit from having air conditioning and I was glad to read that you did benefit from the fan.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the staff, i can not fault them, they were friendly, helpful and welcoming.
But the downsides:
No air con, and although a desk fan was provided the rooms were unbearably stuffy and hot, and almost impossible to sleep, especially in the higher floors. The window only opened slightly, which i understnad for health and safetly, but this meant no air could get into the room. The bathroom had no window or ventilation of any kind, and was even hotter!
I was on the top floor, and had to walk down 3 floors before finding an ice machine that was even turned on
I ordered room service, which was advertised as "fine dining" - and this was a further waste of money - the service was excellent, and the wait wasnt long, however this was truly reflected in the quality of the food delivered. Both items were advertised as specials, but were so greasy they were practically unedible. chicken quesadillas were dripping in grease, and luke warm served with red onion chutney, and turned soggy due to the grease. Parmasan crusted chicken with fresh tomato salsa was again ridiculously greasy, and the fresh tomato salsa was the same pre-bought gloop as the red onion chutney for the starter - nothing fresh about it!
the noise was awful through the night, and really this was not at all what you would expect from the Hilton brand, and far more what you might expect in a budget hotel - just at Hilton prices!
I wouldnt stay here again.
I havent written bad reviews before for hotels, but this really was a disappointment

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegasusAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I was delighted to read that you found the staff members helpful and welcoming.

I am sorry that we do not have air conditioning in the rooms. Fans are provided to help with high temperatures and the window safety catches can be removed upon request.

Due to the hot weather ice machines were in high use and I am sorry that you had to find a machine on a different floor.

I would also like to apologise for the poor quality room service that you received and please be assured that this is not reflective of our usual high standards. Your feedback has been addressed with the Head Chef.

I am also sorry for any noise experienced and we are doing all that we can to improve soundproofing in the hotel..

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Currently 5am in the hotel and have been kept awake all night.
Not only do the rooms have no air con, would expect that at least for the prices you pay, you have just a desk fan that does nothing to alieviate the stuffiness and heat.
We have struggled to sleep for the last 2 nights and have considered the car as an alternative bed tonight.

But the main issue is as its a Saturday night the hotel is as noisy and busy as a jury's inn. Drunk noisy groups of boys and girls playing music, on their balconies (cant have the doors or windows open to cool the room because of this) shouting and drinking, slamming doors and running up and down the corridors. All four surrounding rooms are filled with these types so there is really a snowballs hell in chance of sleep until 9am when they drift off and it's time for checkout.
Someone has come up once about it. But it made no difference. Do not come here on a weekend if you hope to sleep. I expect this in a town centre Jury's inn or trace lodge but not a Hilton.

Had plans to do a nice day trip tomorrow before heading home but am now too exhausted and will just get out of here as soon as possible to get home. If I could get a refund I would....seems a waste of money to pay for a hotel room where you are unable to sleep.
Other than that, the beds are comfortable and the staff friendly but I really have just frittered money away on an oven of a room surrounded by the town drunks.

Oh and parking is just an extra sting in the tail as the NCP parking opposite offer all day for £2.50

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

I am sorry that you found our rooms too hot and for any discomfort that this caused. Unfortunately our bedrooms do not benefit from having air conditioning and I would also like to apologise for the fan not aiding with the temperature.

I am also sorry that you experienced noise from other guests and for the disturbance that this caused. The team will always deal with any noise complaints to the best of their ability.

Once again I am sorry that your stay was marred in such a way and I do hope that you will consider using the Hilton Sheffield in the near future.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

All staff were very friendly & welcoming, especially the staff on reception. The location is ideal, the town centre is only 10 mins walk. The leisure facilities are really good. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff members friendly, location ideal and LivingWell very good.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For 99% of the year this hotel would have received an 'excellent' 5/5 rating. It was unfortunate that we stayed in the hotel on the hottest nights of the year as the room was too hot to sleep well in due to the lack of airconditiong in the room. The hotel did provide desk fans in the room but these did little more than blow hot air around the room. Other little niggle is the overpriced food & wine at the restaurant. They are more in line with what I would expect in a Central/West London location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is unfortunate that our bedrooms do not benefit from having air conditioning and I am sorry for any discomfort that that this caused.

I am also sorry that you found the cost of food and drink expensive; your comments have been taken on board.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $96 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing