We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The quality of this hotel has dropped considerably over the last 6 months - the staff, however are very nice. Management needs to review the key areas of the hotel, eg. restaurant and bar and look at a deep clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Acciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am sorry that you feel the hotel is declining in standards and the issues that you have raised will be addressed. An email regarding this has also been sent direct to you.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

a hilton is always good, but this one is q bit special. Stopped here for one night as a bit of a treat at a swim meet. The staff are top draw friendly and helpful, the food in the hotel was really good. To top it all the room had a patio with table and chairs overlooking the canal basin. Very welcome and quite unexpected. I have no hesitation in recommending this place at all.

Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff members friendly and you also enjoyed your room overlooking the quayside.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Only went for a meal as we had a voucher from buyagift. I went for the steak which was cooked to perfection exactly as I wanted it. The chips were perfectly soft and tasted great. Staff were very helpful and brought us whatever we wanted. Would go again for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyTansley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your great comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to The Quays Restaurant, Hilton Sheffield.

I was delighted to read that your meal was cooked to perfection and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent service, a rare weekend without the kids and couldn't fault a thing. Friendly staff, lovely room and excellent food/drink. Pool and spa facilities good and, looking at other guests, children were clearly made very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review on this website.

Your great feedback has been shared with the team and an email has also been sent direct to you.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My stay did not start well as I had to wait for over 10 mins to get checked in , only one member of staff on reception with over 10 people waiting.

The rooms are ok , usual Hilton decor, but no air con. I know we are in the UK but the rooms are too warm to sleep in and a small fan, which you can find in the wardrobe, does note cut it. Plus you can hear every body function from the adjoining rooms.

However the bar and restaurant are good and the staff very helpful and friendly. The food is quite good, no Michelin star , but as described and very tasty.

It's ok for a couple of nights on business but I would not pay out my own pocket to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leecop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry for any delay at check in and for the inconvenience that this may have caused. We will always try and have two members of staff at reception at any one time.

I would also like to apologise for the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms and noise that you also experienced ; we are doing all that we can to improve soundproofing within the hotel.

I was glad to see however that you did find the staff members helpful and friendly.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton in Sheffield with my daughter for the weekend. First impressions when we walked into the hotel were good. It's a lovely, clean and friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful and the room and facilities were all clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend the hotel for anyone going to Sheffield.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

An email has also been sent direct to you.

Kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Waited two hours to check in and still had to ask for keys-room maintenance poor, damaged bath and window catch-charges for secure parking yet barriers and CCTV not fully operational. My car sustained £700+ damage in this hotel car park

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

An email has been sent direct to you regarding the issues that you have raised.

Thank you and kind regards

Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $104 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing