We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day - great to relax but nothing overly special”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was in an ideal location with great scenic river views in the heart of Sheffield city centre. We arrived and the parking wasn't free which was a bonus. We walked in and the man on reception at the spa was lovely - so was great so far. Very quiet but I felt it was slightly outdated as opposed to 'vintage'.

The gym was quite large but we were easily bored due to the monotone atmosphere with little character. Worse of all, some equipment was exclusive to members or incured a heavy charge. We liked how spacious the changing rooms were with plenty of facilities friendly for all groups including babies. The pool was nice if a little dark, except some rowdy people in there. The hot tub wasn't excellent and there was hardley any seats so some people had to sit on the side - if you were lucky enough to get a seat they were soaking wet cushions and stood alone & you couldn't sit with friends or family. The sauna and wet room were great but not special again.

Luckily there were plenty of showers although one only ran cold. There was plenty of space in the changing rooms and private cubicles and lockers so this was excellent, also a vanity area with hairdryers.

All in all, I enjoyed the hilton spa although it was another typical franchise and didn't see or interact with any staff except one man at reception, who was friendly. Lovely visit but nothing special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that overall you did enjoy your Spa day at the Hilton Sheffield however your feedback regarding other areas of club have been noted and taken on board.

All of the equipment available in the gym is for use by everyone. The Power Plate machines are charged at an additional £5 per 15 minute sessions and I am sorry if you found this too high.

Your comments regarding the showers have also been noted and the showers on the poolside do consist of hot and cold showers in order to regulate body temperature after using the sauna or steam room.

In addition I am also sorry that you found the seating area full and rowdy people in the pool. The pool area can sometimes be extremely busy and I am sure if the team were aware of any issues they would have rectified the situation.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to LivingWell again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

butts all over our balcony upon arrival, food beyond expensive and don't order the mash ever room service delivered opened packets of crisps with sandwich's 29 pound for the pleasure, stained carpets and tired furnishings but was clean and bar staff friendly, 11 pound to have breakfast delivered .... im Hilton honours member years and worst Hilton iv been in, never again

Room Tip: stay elsewhere till it ups its game
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munchyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and you found the room tired and dated; we are continually updating the standards of our bedrooms.

I would also like to apologise for the cigarette butts that you found on the balcony and rest assured your comments have been addressed with the Head Housekeeper.

Your feedback regarding the cost of room service has also been taken on board and I am sorry if this was below standard in any way.

I understand the Deputy Manager has also spoken to you regarding this matter and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took my elderly mother for a mothers day treat -staff couldnt help enough. Even had staff running around to help use a lift down to spa for mum. Refreshements were great as were spa
facilities. Hotel staff were very friendly. The Spa environment was very peaceful and calm a great aid to our chill out day
Our therapists were patient and helpful and really great with mum who is not too good on her legs . We had a neck and shoulder massage which was super -had the best nights sleep in a long time after that. The location is fabulous -city centre so easy to get too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor regarding LivingWell Sheffield.

Your great feedback regarding the treatments and staff have been noted and shared with the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a family celebration. Staff in particular made the visit very enjoyable. Lovely room, fantastic restarant for top quality 'full english' and also for a delightful evening meal with impeccable service from all staff. Perfect central location to explore many local attractions. We visited Chatsworth House on the Saturday which was amazing. Great value for money hotel. Ian & Carolyn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on this website.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback regarding the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Sheffield to attend a football match at Hillsborough. The room was nice and spacious which was as requested and the facilities were ok. We only used the bar and ordered a vegetarian burger which was ok, nothing special. The hotel itself is ideally situated for Sheffield city centre and only a 10 minute walk from the super tram stop which took us straight through to the football ground. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would stay there again but would avoid the veggie burger option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you found the hotel in an ideal location for your needs whilst in Sheffield and overall you did enjoy your stay.

I am sorry however that on this occasion you found the Vegetarian burger below standard and your comments have been addressed with the Head Chef.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and left something behind in my room. Not only did the hotel find it, they phoned me within half an hour, sent it on and even phoned to tell me it was being posted. Hotel stay was good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor and I was delighted to read that the team showed great customer service regarding your lost property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in feb 2013 for a concert at motor point! Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Gorgeous rooms and hotel, clean and comfy.. only thing I will say is its very cold in the rooms on a night, also id pre-ordered room service online months before and we never did receive it but weren't charged so no big deal.
Breakfast next morning was wonderful, loads to eat and very tasty! Would definitely stay here again especially for the excellent rate I paid last time. Remember to bring your swimming stuff as there is a pool, sadly didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieJayne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments on this website.

I am sorry however that you found the rooms cold and also for your pre order not being received during your stay. I am unsure why this request failed and I am sorry for any inconvenience that this caused. Rest assured your feedback will be investigated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,328 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $78 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing