We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last night having booked on line and got a very competitive price for room and breakfast.
It is about a ten minute walk into the city centre but that did not cause us any problem.
The room was lovely, clean and well equipped. Bed very comfortable and pillows fab. Nice range of toiletries and tea making facilities, was impressed by the complimentary bottle of water in the room.
Breakfast buffet was excellent, egg chef there to prepare eggs and other items (pancakes, waffles.... My omelette was divine).
What really made this a great stay though was the friendliness of the staff, all those we spoke to seemed genuinely happy to be working there and enjoyed interacting with the guests. Nothing too much trouble.
Didn't make it to the gym but the pool looked good, nice size for a leisurely swim.
A good quality hotel, nice restaurant facility, decent pool area. Book on line and get a competitive rate and there should be no complaints.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and your great feedback has been shared with all departments.

I was particularly pleased to read that all the staff members you encountered were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    510
    324
    168
    107
See reviews for
345
519
63
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I spent a night at the Hilton Sheffield as it was hosting a conference I attended. It was okay but nothing more. I paid £91 for the room via an advance internet booking which I felt was expensive, particularly as breakfast was an additional cost. Parking was also extra (£7 a day). My bedroom was clean and comfortable though I couldn't work out how to have the room lights on without also having the bright light by the door also on, making subdued lighting impossible. The lifts and corridors are starting to look a bit tired.

I be more positive about the hotel if the price were more reasonable. As it is, were I to need to stay in Sheffield again on business I would look to the Holiday Inn Express or the Premier Inn rather than the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

Rates do vary online and you will also find that some rates are inclusive of breakfast. Car Parking for guests for 24 hours is also charged at £5.

I was glad to see that you did find the bedroom clean and comfortable and your comments regarding the lighting in the bedroom has also been taken on board.

I am sorry that you felt the corridors and lifts were also looking dated. I can confirm that we have just had the floor tiles replaced in our lifts improving the appearance.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is far end of town so you will need to walk to get into the main restaurants and bars, up a hill along the tram lines before you get there. Beds excellent quality and had a good nights sleep , rooms could do with a make over as getting dated, alright for one night but no longer okay for business

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for feedback on this website.

Hilton Sheffield is located just outside if the City Centre and can take approximately 10-15 minutes to walk into the Centre.

I was glad to read that you did enjoy the beds but I am sorry you thought that the rooms were looking a little dated.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at Hilton Sheffield for the weekend for my fiances birthday, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the city centre and has beautiful veiws of the quays, we ate in the resteraunt and the food was out of this world! they also have a costa coffee in the reception area that was a welcome sight after a long drive and the nicest young guy serving there. All the staff we came into contact with where outstanding, really made us feel at home! .... all that is except the young peroxcide blonde lady on reception (Not what you expect to see on a reception at a Hilton Hotel, who, to say was rude would be an understatement! she had the loadest voice and just came accross as if she was reading everything she said, no personal touch whatso ever, all though all in all a great stay and would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Sheffield but would like to apologise for the rude welcome that you received at reception.

This is unlike the service that the reception team usually provide and I have passed your comments onto the Front Office Manager in order for him to address this with the team member.

I was glad to see that you did still enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
410 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a modern hotel, which is difficult to locate in the dark, using the postcode, as it takes you to a deserted industrial quarter, blocked off from the hotel by an uncrossable major road. When I eventually found it, I was impressed with the spacious lobby and friendly staff. Parking is convenient and costs £5 per day (validated by the receptionist). The room was very comfortable, spacious and well soundproofed. Well stocked beverage tray and a good range of toiletries. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linen. Bathroom was spotless and spacious. Room service is available. The restaurant was good, with a varied menu and appropriately attentive staff. There is also a pool and gym available. In summary, a high quality, good value hotel- worth recommending.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for feedback on this website.

I am sorry that you found it difficult to locate the hotel but was delighted to hear that when you did arrive you found the lobby spacious and staff members friendly.

Your great feedback regarding the bedrooms and Restaurant has also been noted and shared with the team.

Thank you once again for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a double double room. The room was well sized and the bathroom huge. The pool and health club again is well sized and full of the latest kit. We ate in the restaurant on the first night eating from the bar menu and restaurant menu picking dishes to suit us, the chilli squid starter was lovely and the following T-bone steak cooked perfectly and very tasty, I wish I had room for desert but alas no. A selection of superb wines were on offer at 30% off. Our waiter Harry made the finishing touch with enough attention and personality without being overbearing. I do think its about time WiFi is free in all hotels it's as essential as towels in a hotel nowadays but that didn't spoil the stay. If you plan to eat out go to Leopold Square where there are a host if good restaurants but book first we went out at 7pm (a £3.80 cab ride) and all were booked solid until 10pm. A great base for the Peak District and heartily recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt9711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback regarding the hotel and its staff members.

Your comments regarding Internet charges have also been taken on board; unfortunately these are governed by Head Office. WIFI is complimentary however in our public areas.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from staying at the Sheffield Hilton. Rooms clean light and airy, breakfast excellent, drinks a bit pricey, mark up on wines 400%. Directions to the hotel from the Barnsley approach not good especially at night. In a modern city centre hotel, would have expected room safes, none at present.
Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Sheffield and found the bedrooms and breakfast excellent.

Your comments regarding the bar prices and directions have also been taken on board.

We are also in the process of installing safes into all of our bedrooms.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing