We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a curate's egg...”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A bit of a curate's egg...”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A recent stay at the Rutland as part of a University reunion shows that it can be a bit of a curate's egg. I.e. some good things and some less good.

The communal areas, bar etc. were clean tidy and welcoming, as were the staff. The breakfast was tasty and good quality.

So how about the room? I booked a single which was very small, with space for a bed, small wardrobe and desk but had an en-suite bathroom that was as big as the room! The bathroom was very attractive with stone tiles etc. and was very clean with no signs of damp etc. The bed was comfy and the room temperature comfortable. The TV was attached to the side of the wardrobe and is probably the world's slowest TV - click a button on the remote to change channel etc. and wait 5 seconds for the channel actually to change!

So my conclusion - if you are in a group of friends etc. and are likely to spend more time out of your room than in it, a single is not too bad. If you are a family group/business traveller wanting to spend more time in your room then I cannot recommend a single room.

Room Tip: If you are in a group of friends etc. and are likely to spend more time out of your room than in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    117
    115
    65
    51
See reviews for
97
113
59
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed at the Rutland Hotel on four different occasions over the past year. The location of the hotel is perfect for University and the hotel is comfortable and welcoming for an overnight stop. On three of the four occasions I have booked executive double but due to one poor nights sleep due to noisy air conditioning unit decided to book smaller double room this time which worked out a lot cheaper. I was very pleased with room and although smaller the room was comfortable and only real difference was we had shower and no bath. The breakfast at the hotel is well worth the extra £10 and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Over the interconnecting bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diannesmithy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's been done up to a pretty good standard and it was nice and quiet despite being such a large hotel on a bus route. The room was pretty big too and had a settee in which was a bonus.

Negatives ? It was cold, really cold and there was a glass see through door on the bathroom which I found a little strange.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilaclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Rutland Hotel is situated close the the Hallamshire Hospital and Sheffield Hallam University's Collegiate Campus. Check in was efficient with friendly staff. My room I must say, was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in and was quite dark, having part wood panels on the walls. It was also situated down two flights of stairs and it felt like I was in the basement. However, it was comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect e.g. coffee/tea making, free wi fi etc. We ate at the hotel's restaurant which had a limited menu but served delicious dishes that were freshly prepared and served steaming hot. Decor in the rooms needs some TLC and if I stayed here again I'd request a different room as I believe they vary in size, but overall, a nice little place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, have a look at the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked a double room when visiting Sheffield for a friend's wedding. It's nicely located and has enough parking.

The staff at reception were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in quite an old building some of the corridors are starting to look a little dated however, once in our room we were really pleased. A modern, good sized and nicely furnished room with mood lighting with an adjoining wetroom. All was spotless and in good order.

We had a quick late night drink in the bar after returning from the wedding and were made to feel welcome. We had a good night's sleep with no noise or comfort issues and breakfast in the morning was great with very good, friendly service.

We'd definitely stay again. We paid a little more than other travellers who have reviewed - £90 including breakfast - but still think it was well worth it especially as the hotel provides free wifi.

We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arrived in Sheffield about 6.30pm headed for the centre, Novotel and Jury's Inn both £90.00 for a night with Brakfast, hmm, had a look on the Internet found The Rutland Hote, called and booked on the phone, £60.00 inc breakfast! Hotel friendly, service cracking, room had all you wanted! Excellent Hotel cracking value for money, will not hesitate to stay here again. MMoore, Cambs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoore61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for several weeks whilst working over the summer. Very quiet during the week, although it gets very busy at weekends and at the start and end of university terms.
Location is excellent. Good parking in the hotel. On the bus route to the city centre. Very close to excellent restaurants at the top of the Glossop Road (particularly Thyme cafe and Lokanta where the early doors meal for £12 is very good value).
Only had one evening meal in the restaurant which was OK but I was the only one in the restuarant. Again, only had breakfast once which was OK, but at £10 was pricey.
I note the comments about the walk in showers; each of the rooms I stayed in had the same arrangement and it did cause the floor to be wet, but it is an inconvenience rather then an annoyance and the quality of the showers more than adequately make up for this.
The free and high speed wifi is a positive plus, but the further you are away from the reception, the more patchy the Internet connection became. For that reason I tended to request rooms 113 and 115.
An excellent value hotel for business use and the reception staff were superb.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wavydavy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
722 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing