We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can hardly wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“I can hardly wait to go back”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Sheffield Park Hotel exceeded expectations. We had booked in for just one night - a Saturday - on a package that seemed a good deal, and purely on value the place cannot be faulted. A really nice room - comfortable and quite stylish; a generous dinner offer as part of the package; a good night's sleep; and an ample breakfast. We could have used the pool but opted to go into the city instead. The whole hotel is of a very good standard. What set it apart, though, was the feel-good atmosphere that seems to be a product of really nice staff and a lot of happy customers. The staff came across as genuinely attentive and caring, which makes guests feel welcome and at home. The hotel must be doing something right as it was surprisingly busy and the restaurant was certainly buzzing. That's not to say that everything was perfect in efficiency terms (in the evening, the waiting team in the restaurant seemed to be balanced at times on the edge of dis-organisation) but that was actually rather entertaining. The food was good, too. The fact that at breakfast one of the staff in the servery asked my wife and a total stranger (who just happened to be next in line for the eggs) if "they'd had a good night" just added to the general merriment. This hotel really deserves to do well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay on one of our packages on offer, all of which indeed represent outstanding value for money! I have noted your comment regarding the efficiency in our Restaurant and will address this. I was pleased that you viewed your experience as a whole and that on the whole you had a great time and experienced the genuine approach and warmth of our staff. We do want to do well and do hope you will come back to our Hotel in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    572
    189
    76
    51
See reviews for
269
722
56
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed for one night DBB on way back home from London.
Staff work hard and try to make this a successful hotel but we were not really impressed.
Room was small and bathroom tiny. Safe not working, staff could not fix it - did offer to move us but after unpacking and only there 1 night declined. Our room overlooked the garden so quiet until we tried to get to sleep - extractor fan in bathroom was on continually, very irritating.
Bed also on small side and ,as a previous reviewer mentioned ,pillows were awful.
We decided to use our dinner allowance to eat al a carte as nothing appealed on set menu. Starters Ok, main good. Breakfast basic buffet. I expected more choice. We went to breakfast early as guests we were talking to said previous day it had been chaos with queues and tables not cleared. Service was good while we were there but getting busy as we left.
We were on "Ramblers " deal. Told our pack would be delivered to our room, asked again... still waiting!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience at our Hotel and at this late stage can only offer you my most sincere apologies. All of our rooms are of a similar size and comparable to rooms at other Hotels. I have noted your comment regarding the pillows. The Hotel has not had a change in the type of pillows it provides and I am sorry if it was not to your personal liking. I have spoken to our maintenance team to address the technical issues within the room. I was however pleased to see our staff did offer an alternative room to alleviate the problems which you declined. Naturally, I am concerned to hear that your pack was not delivered to your room and that it was not delivered at all. I would like an opportunity to remedy this and your other comments and hope you will contact me direct on 0114 282 9988.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

First imprssions of the hotel are excellent, on the first night we had booked dinner which took over 1 hour for the starter to arrive, the restaurant manageress was very apologetic and gave us a discount on the next nights meal.
Breakfast however was very slow and on the second morning we were not even offered coffee or toast. We couldn't even find a waitress to ask as they were so busy re-setting tables. The queue was also very long and I don't feel there is enough seating for the amount of people in the hotel.
The rooms are large and spacious but you don't get enough tea, coffee etc.
All in all it was a good hotel but the service in the restaurant at breakfast really lets it down.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you for your time to post a review following your stay at our Hotel. I am sorry to learn that on this occasion you had reason to comment on our food and beverage operation and can assure this is most untypical for our usual high standards of service. With regards to in room supply of tea and coffee I would like to point out that, as listed in the services directory in the room, the Hotel would always be more than willing to provide additional supplies. I am genuinely sorry for any inconvenience caused and trust that my reply and apology will go some way in restoring your faith in us and that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

What a find! Thanks to Tripadvisor I looked more closely at this hotel as a base for a short break visiting Chatsworth.

The hotel is spotless throughout, both in the rooms and the common areas. Everywhere was clean, with sparkling mirrors and faultlessly polished bannisters.

Without exception the staff are friendly and helpful. There is plenty of space, the use of the swimming pool is a bonus, and the breakfast (buffet style) was one of th best we have had with everything kept fresh and loads of variety.

What surprised us was the excellent food in the restaurant. We had a mini break which included the first night's evening meal and that made us want to go back the second night. There was a good variety of fare, a few vegetarian options, all freshly cooked and well presented.

We had to knock one mark off the sleep quality score for the pillows. They were lumpy foam chip ones, and by far the worst we have had in any hotel recently. But that would not stop us going back and in fact we would love to do so.

This hotel is expertly run by genuinely friendly staff who all appeared to enjoy their working environment and take pride in it. Their good humour seems to rub off on all the other guests, and seems to keep the place relaxed and comfortable.

The hotel was well signposted off the A61, had plenty of free parking protected by a code controlled barrier, and was very well placed for visiting Chatsworth and the Peak District. We didn't visit Sheffield itself, but it wouldn't have been far to travel down the road.

It was a pleasure to have stayed there, and we would no hesitate to return. Check out some of the special offer packages on the hotel website for extra value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Dunelmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am delighted you had a most enjoyable stay and that you would recommend our Hotel to friends. As a small independent Hotel the team at the Hotel work very hard to offer all guests an enjoyable experience and can offer many things the typical larger Hotel chains can't. Feedback, such as yours, is a great source of motivation for the team. The Hotel offers many great value packages via its website all year round and the location is simply perfect for visiting the Peak District as well as the Centre of Sheffield. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and meanwhile will endeavour to address the comment regarding the pillows in order to gain full marks on your next visit!

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Booked one night DBB with upgrade and champagne.
Never had to write a disaapointing review before.
Reception = long wait to be seen to,Then "I can't find you on the system" (Even with confirmation in his hand).
Eventually the twin room we had booked turned out to be a double - with a standard bed.
Upgrade? Yes, you have a padded leather headboard!! One teabag/one suger in tray.
Dinner took two and a quarter hours. Thirty five minutes wait between main course and dessert. Sorry, we are very busy in the bar!
Breakfast -two waitresses, one working hard, the other doing next to nothing.
We are very busy (not really) -can you find yourself a table while I set up another table.
Tea - I'll come to you in a minute or two. (Half way through breakfast). Had to ask for virtually everything.
One to be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorksopTarbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Thank for taking the time to post a review following your stay at our Hotel. I am genuinely sorry to hear you found your stay disappointing. Naturally the Hotel would have welcomed an opportunity at the time to positively deal with your comments and is disappointed it did not get that chance. The Hotel always aims to deliver outstanding customer service and it is never our intention for anyone to feel less than satisfied with the services we provide. It appears we did not succeed on this occasion and naturally would like an opportunity to redeem ourselves whilst at the same time go some way in restoring your faith in us. Perhaps you could contact me at the Hotel to discuss your comments, with a view of reaching an acceptable outcome for both parties?

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

It may be a little out of town but this makes for a peaceful setting.Great leisure facilities with an excellent good value interesting menu in the restaurant.Service was good and staff extremely helpful

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Many thanks for your kind review following your business stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great experience at our Hotel. The Sheffield Park Hotel is indeed only a short distance from the City Centre allowing it to offer out of town charm and free car parking. As a small independent Hotel we work hard to offer all of our guests an enjoyable stay and can offer many things the typical larger chain hotels simply can't. I am pleased you have acknowledged this during your stay and hope we can continue to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I was a guest at a wedding in August and just wanted to write and say how impressed I was with the food and service! Despite the wind and rain durig the photos we all had an amazing day! I will definitely be recommening the Sheffield Park hotel to my other friends who are getting married.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bride-to-be072011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that you would recommend our Hotel to friends following your experience. The Hotel has superb facilities and indeed is a great venue for weddings, parties and meetings. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,467 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing