We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had booked a two night break including dinner + wine on one night and free tickets to Chatsworth House. The hotel is very well presented and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had asked for a twin room but had been upgraded to a Queen double at no extra cost, but we specifically needed a twin. The reception very quickly, with no fuss, moved us to a luxury twin (at no extra cost). Hot chocolate cookies (delicious) were also presented to us on arrival.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear johnboy1066,

It is fabulous to read that you had such an enjoyable time on our Chatsworth Break package. I am pleased that the reception team were able to quickly remedy the room type for you and that you enjoyed your signature DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip & Walnut cookie!

I hope to be welcoming you both back in the near future, I thoroughly recommend a visit to Haddon Hall next time you are in the area.

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    591
    193
    78
    53
See reviews for
280
735
58
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very central location. Check in excellent. Very friendly. Hot chocolate cookie offered at reception. Bedrooms excellent. Bed extra large. A real King-size Very comfortable. Rooms a bit hot but had opening windows. Leisure facilities were good but pool a bit small. Buffet breakfast very good choice but not well organized. Waitresses could not do enough for you. Had dinner there on both nights. Good selection of food and cook very well. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouplesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear CouplesUk,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I am glad to see that you all had a great week end.

I look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were given a room on the ground floor facing the carpark.

Good: pleasant grounds, plenty of car parking spaces, although room facing carpark / main roads no problem with noise from traffic. Staff generally polite. Good quality bath towels. Provision of water bottles daily.

Average: buffet breakfasts same as most hotels - however, nice fresh orange juice was served after being seated at a table. Room was average size, bathroom was a bit tight but appeared clean and fresh. Shower over bath - shower water pressures were average, but bath water pressures were good. We had room service one night from the restaurant - lamb casserole - it was quite salty.

Bad: hotel supposed to be 100% non-smoking but strong tobacco odour was present in the corridor of the ground floor near our room. Toilet did not always flush properly - button very hard to push. The king bed was really 2 single beds pushed together, hence a gap in the middle. The beds were really uncomfortable (a big disappointment), we did not sleep well like we normally experienced at other Hilton-managed hotels. Bed linen was thin, not crisp and fresh. Pillows were cheap quality, not fluffy and bouncy like new. Duvet was very thin. Lighting was terrible, had to turn on all the lights in the room but room still dimly lit - except for bathroom. While the room facing the carpark and main roads, there was no noise from cars or traffic. However, the thumping noises from the room directly above us were disturbingly loud and annoying - the floor must be very thin.

Overall we did not have a very pleasant stay - which we normally had at most Hilton-managed hotels. The biggest disappointment was the uncomfortable bed - low quality mattresses, pillows linen and duvet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear hotelreviews06,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed.

The hotel is 100% non smoking and whilst all efforts are made to ensure that this is adhered too, I can only apologise that the actions of a fellow guest caused you inconvenience.

I will certainly ensure that your comments regarding the bed and furnishings are passed on to our housekeeping team for review, and I will alert our maintenance team to the issues with the toilet flush and lighting. I do hope that our previous guest reviews will highlight that your experience is not what we consider acceptable or to our normal operating standard.

I am glad that you found our staff members polite and enjoyed the complimentary amenities in your guestroom.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay as it is only through guest feedback we can hope to learn and improve.

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I visited this hotel with my Mum , who is 83 . The staff were very helpful and considerate. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for £19.00 per night which we accepted. Lovely room with lounge area for Mum to relax. We also had a dining table and took advantage of room service. Service was very good and timely, although food a little disappointing. There was an Asian wedding taking place that night and I think the restaurant was a little stretched to cope. The bed was supremely comfortable and the room was lovely and quiet. We didnt hear any music etc from wedding. We did however see the bride and attendents who looked absolutely stunning and the celebration atmosphere added to our enjoyment of the stay. I would definately recommend the hotel and would stay again. Although probably not at the full price. Upgrade to suite excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank SandIP209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I Booked this hotel for a one night stay for a hen weekend for my sister ! Upon entering the hotel the reception are was very nice indeed , friendly staff who showed us to the spa ! Staff at spa reception took us on a little tour to show us all the facilities - all in all the spa was brilliant pool slightly on the small side but didn't cause a problem ! Beauty therapists who carried out our treatments were very welcoming & good at what they do ! Hotel reception. Staff very helpful whilst checking In & heather (one of the receptionist) was very helpful in advising us on where to go , booking taxis etc . Excellent stay & would definitely recommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happydaisy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Happydaisy84,

I am delighted that you all had such an enjoyable time, I hope that your sister had a truly memorable time on her hen party.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I will pass on your comments to Heather and the rest of the team as it is always a great source of motivation when the team members recieve personal recognition.

I hope you will all return for a visit in the future!

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this as a deal which included tickets to Chatsworth house. What a brilliant time we had. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, great room with all modern touches. We used the swimming pool area with steam room and sauna, very clean and staff were friendly.
Restaurant was very good, food good value and the again the staff were efficient.
Brilliant stay we would definately use again. Well done doubletree!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannegromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear joannegromito,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Chatsworth Break, it is one of our most popular packages and is great value. I am thrilled to see that you found the staff to be so welcoming and efficient and both had a brilliant stay.

I hope that you will both be visiting us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just had a 2-night stay at this hotel on a Great Little Breaks deal which included tickets to Chatsworth House (about a 30 minute car ride from the hotel). We were pleasantly surprised by this particular hotel - so often with the large chain hotels one finds them looking "tired" with threadbare corridor carpets etc, but this one was very different. We were greeted at check-in by a very friendly receptionist who presented us with what must be the most delicious warm chip cookies we've ever tasted ! The bedroom itself was spacious and the bathroon, although a little small, was perfectly adequate. The decor and furnishings were to a good standard - if I was going to be a little "picky" about anything it would be that there was no trouser press and the room safe was not working, although on a 2 night stay this was of little importance. The free internet access was speedy and useful - good heating, iron/ironing board (so who needs a trouser press anyway), hairdryer, toiletries etc. For some unknown reason on a couple of occasions the second floor corridor had a slight odour of cabbage (?), but most times it was fine. Although we were overlooking the car park and the main road beyond, we experienced no noise aggravation whatsoever.
The leisure suite was manned by, again, friendly staff, and the pool, sauna, steam room and jucuzzi were all clean and working perfectly. Maybe the only thing I would consider to be lacking would be a drier (some hotels have a small spin drier) in the changing rooms to save having to dry one's trunks etc in the room by hanging them over the bath and hoping they'll dry in time to pack !
The food in the dining room was very good - one night we ate on the a la carte menu (great steak !), and on the second night went with the table d'hote menu which was generally good although my wife was unable to finish her main fish course as the fish was very dry. However, I tried the linguine followed by the beef stew and they were both very good. The only thing that I really could not stand was the depressing and mournful background piano music in the background (maybe that's just me and others may like it) - the seating also needed a good vacuuming due to crumbs etc on the chairs (we saw several guest change seats as we did), and we felt that the tables, particularly those in the window were rather too close to each other to provide any degree of privacy. Apart from those minor points,the restaurant was pleasant enough and the breakfasts left nothing to be desired - a delicious assortment of continental as well as cooked items. Again we found the restaurant staff very welcoming and helpful.
We sampled the bar prior to dining - no complaints whatsoever - a good selection of drinks, cocktails and bar snacks available.
The hotel looks attractive from outside, and there appeared to be more than enough free car parking available.
All in all we enjoyed our short visit very much, and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to future travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky D, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Travelman44,

Thank you for your considered review of your Chatsworth Break, it is great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will pass on your comments to the team and I hope we will be welcoming you both back in the future, perhaps on our Haddon Hall Break.

Kind regards,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,609 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing