We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a good wine will improve with age!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a good wine will improve with age!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This Hotel, I believe, will improve with time. Good facilities, clean and pleasant. Food good, but waiting staff very young and inexperience, although very polite, need good management.
As our walks were quite some distance from the hotel I could not comment on the surrounding area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    581
    191
    77
    53
See reviews for
274
729
57
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kingston upon hull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

There were a few parts to this stay we really enjoyed, then some other bits that were frustrating!
The receptionists are fab and extremely helpful, the waitresses are dreadful - service is slow, despite only being 5 tables in the hotel.The food is good though, breakfast has endless choices!
The "free" wifi is only available in the foyer until 8pm which no one told us.
Room clean and spacious, bathroom mouldy.
We both slept really badly due to awful pillows.
Overall, we had really mixed feelings about this place, it could so easily be much better.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Whittaker, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear scarfgal,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I will ensure you comments are passed on to the Team so that we may offer a better experience in the future. If you have the time I would greatly appreciate it if you could let me know your room number so that I may investigate the mould in the bathroom along with the pillows as they are very new.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at the Sheffield Park Hotel for two nights, sharing a twin room with my sister and her baby son. We were greeted warmly by the staff at reception, and given hot cookies which were very yummy! The room was a good size, at the back of the hotel, so nice and quiet, and the hotel provided a cot for the baby. There was lots of cupboard/drawer space, a fridge, a safe, a kettle, an iron and ironing board - the most well-equipped hotel I have ever been to! The bathroom was clean, and the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries were lovely.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night, a 3 course set menu was £18.95, very good value and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was nice, with music from an electronic grand piano in the corner, and the staff were very helpful. Buffet breakfast was sufficient, although getting a hot drink was difficult with the staff very busy all the time. There was hot food, breads, bagels, cereals, fruit, pastries and juices, all regularly topped up so there was plenty to eat.

I used the fitness facilities which were great - a wide selection of machines to use, bikes, treadmills, step machines, and lots of weight machines too. And there was a swimming pool and jacuzzi, although I didn't use those.

There were computers available to use the internet and print out documents, in a separate room next to reception, and a nice seating area with plenty of sofas, and daily newspapers to read. And free parking too!

The hotel is a 20 minute bus ride from the centre of Sheffield, so it's easy to get to the shops and have a look round, and just a few minutes walk away is a small village so you can get to a pharmacy and convenience store if required.

Overall, an excellent hotel which I would love to stay at again. So many nice touches and all the facilities you could ask for. Staff were so helpful and friendly, and great value for money with the dinner and breakfast package that we had booked on. So thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Whittaker, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear ELCLC,

We are all delighted that you had a very enjoyable time at the DoubleTree by Hilton. I will ensure the team are fully aware of your comments and review as this is a great source of inspiration in keeping us to constantly deliver our high standards.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Regards

Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Last week my husband and I stayed for two nights at the Doubletree, Sheffield. It is a very nice hotel and we had a great room at the back of the hotel. The bed was quite the biggest I have ever slept in. Room and bathroom both very well equiped and spotlessly clean. Loved the extra's supplied like hot cookies, free wfi, free newspaper and good toiletries. All staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a problem with my laptop connection and the assistant manager visited the room to sort it out within minutes of me reporting it. On the first night we ate in the dining room, the food was extremely well presented and very well cooked, however the only negative I have is that a three course meal took over two hours to have. The service was very very slow. We sat with our empty starter plates infront of us for 25 minutes. I do not blame the waiters as they were working flat out, and constantly apologised for the delay. However there were only three waiters and the dining room was full, not only this they had to keep disappearing to take roomservice meals. Often there were no waiters visable for several minutes. This certainly spoilt an otherwise pefect stay and we decided not to eat in the restaurant the following evening but went to a local pub instead. I think the management should look at staffing numbers as we were not the only guests who chose not to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassettEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Whittaker, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear bassettEastAnglia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay; however please accept my apologies for the delay in service whilst dining in the restaurant. Further to your comments are currently reviewing our staffing levels during peak times. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton during your next visit to the area.

Regards

Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Excellent hospitality, with a particularly fine restaurant, including a superb "turbot, king prawns, and mussels"...worth a detour for the welcome, and the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollambyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Whittaker, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear hollambyin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had a superb stay. Positive comments such as yours provide a great source of motivation to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Sheffield Park.

Regards

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel recently changed to a Doubletree. We were greeted warmly, given our cookies, got free parking, and had a lovely clean room with two beds. The entire hotel has a light and warm ambience. It was a good location and we chose it because we needed the extra space found in an American style hotel. I looked long and hard at hotels and lodgings inside the Peak District near Chatsworth but could not find similar for the price and value. The hotel is on the southern perimeter of Sheffield and an easy drive to local sights. This was such a welcomed surprise after a long drive. We were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The car parking was ample and within a short distance to the reception. The reception was very good we did not have to wait long; we were given warm cookies as part of the executive offer on late rooms deal. The hotel is very modern and has a grandiose feel on entry. We were asked what papers we would like. However, we did not get them on either morning of our stay; the explanation on both mornings was a breakdown between day staff and evening staff. The room was fabulous the bed very comfortable, inclusive with a small selection of chocolates and fruit as per the advertisement. The hotel also boasts super fast broadband, this may be true of the business sweet but no broadband either wireless or lan in the two rooms were tried to establish connection in. It must be said that the staff worked hard in moving us nearer the router but to no avail. This was a bore as we needed to have internet for business reasons.
We did not dine in the hotel as seemed overpriced with Lamb shank at 19 pounds however, the restaurant was full. Breakfast really let this super hotel down; the staffs were very good and plenty on hand. There was a very limited choice of fresh fruit, no fried eggs unless ordered and the quality was poor, for example the hash brown very soggy not crispy, toaster either underdone or over done the bread. The bacon appeared to be old or not freshly cooked as with the sausage. The restaurant itself was laid out well spacious and clean. The swimming pool is very small and more than 8 people it felt overcrowded. More loungers needed for people to relax in there was only 3.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing