We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but ask for a high room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but ask for a high room”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed at this hotel to visit a show in Sheffield and the location could not have been better for the theatres. Didn't experience the problems with the hot water other reviewers have which was great, but had a room on the second floor which we didn't realise until we were back in the room at night, was sounded like it was right above the function room which was very loud. Breakfast was lovely (as it always is in this chain in my experience). Overall nice hotel but if your staying here ask for a quiet room unless you want to join in with the disco!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel in Sheffield very soon.
Kind regards,
Mathieu Batut, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    556
    250
    98
    59
See reviews for
306
459
113
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West of England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Why are my having difficulty getting the point on my a card. appreciate staff's help on issues such as parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigormortis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you for your review. If you are still experiencing issues with the points validation on your A|club card, please give me a call on 01142527480 and I will investigate this matter personally. Kind regards,
Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Only had to stay for one night - thankfully.
Beds was hard, low to the ground and tseemed to be two single mattresses pushed together so very much a split down the middle.
No mattress protector and old thin scratchy sheets sooo uncomforatble I slept on top of the duvet cover and took a spare duvet down from cubpard (which was dirty!) to stay warm.
Old, run down and horrible rooms...don't stay here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to
discuss with you in person. Please could you call me on 01142527480.
Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2010

we went to sheffield for weekend break. the hotel has great location, the first impression of the hall, reception was very good. service was very good as well, staff very friendly and helpful :) also breakfast was great, food and drinks very nice, even it was busy weekend, we were seated and served very quick :D the only thing that we were VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED was cleanliness of bedroom, especially the bathroom was disgusting. the mirror was dirty, there was someone's hair on the floor, in the shower, on the tails behind the doors..i didn't check the shower and sink plug, because i was afraid of what i can find there.. in the bedroom was a lot of dust, but it is not so bad, especially if the room was empty for a few days, it's normal that in that case the dust will show up..but those ling, dark hairs in bathroom was terrible..
so, overall, hotel is really worth to recommend, just be prepared for suprises in your room :D

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your room. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and would like to investigate the matter. I would very much appreciate if you could you call me on 0114 252 7480 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Mathieu Batut, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Very Comfortable hotel.
Great Staff - especially Giovanni and counter staff.
Easy access and parking.
Good food.
Internet access very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mathieu Batut, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had a family break but could not sleep due to loud music from wedding. Hotel was unable (or uninterested?) in getting the noise down from wedding. Did not ensure simple measures like closing doors was attended to. Service very variable. Excellent breakfast, electronic keys frequently didn't work 6 issued in 3 days! Towels for pool always required a lengthy wait. Parking is badly managed and limited, best go elsewhere or better still don't stay here if you have a car with you. Decor fine, bed fair.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorecounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I treat all feedback with utmost seriousness and I would very much like to discuss with you in person. Please could you call me on 0114 252 7480. Kind regards, Mathieu Batut, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just returned from a night at this hotel, which was excellent in every way. Stayed with 2 small children, in a family room on the summer special offer which included breakfast. It was excellent value for money. Cost £7 extra for car parking, and the staff were very helpful - letting us leave the car after we checked out, to collect later.
The room wasn't huge, but was fine for the 4 of us. The children had a pull out bed settee which was very comfortable (had to get in with them to get them off to sleep!), and the main double bed was wonderfully comfortable and big. The room was modern, clean and well kept.
All the staff were very friend and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the local area and happy to help with transport, directions and advice.
The breakfast buffet was excellent - something to suit everyone. It would be good value for money at the £13.50 quoted on the menu if not already included (as it was in our package). Lovely cooked breakfast, as well as good choice for continental and all the usual extras. Lovely coffee.
We didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment - prices looked a bit high (as were the mini bar prices) but this is often the way with such hotels.
The swimming pool was small, but we were one of 3 families using it at the time, and we all had enough room. It was lovely and warm. The fitness suite was actually a few machines next to the pool.
All in all an excellent stay, excellent value, and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mathieu Batut, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
2,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing