We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it says it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sheffield Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
1 review
“It is what it says it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent the weekend in Sheffield and decided to say there. From the reviews and the hotel website, what I had expected it to be was refelcted in what I saw. The staff were very nice and the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Sharon Thandi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    530
    237
    95
    56
See reviews for
294
431
106
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here with my family and friends and loved it! The rooms are large and comfortably fit 3 adults, the staff are very polite and friendly... even at 3am!! The pool is fab and all you can eat breakfast was just perfect with so much choice!! I live in Sheffield myself but stayed here as I was taking part in an event in town so was easier to get ready nearby, I wanted to stay a second night!!!! Great value for money, would recommend to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Hotel is a few minutes walk from the Station and next to Sheffield Hallam University and is therefore a convenient location for coming to Sheffield on business.

The Hotel itself is modern and perfectly adequate without having any particular flair. The rooms are not large and when I was staying I could not access the internet. The bar was expensive but then this is not a place to hang out - there are far better places within walking distance.

A functional hotel with decent standards

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable and I was disappointed that you did not use the bar here at the hotel. I have noted your comments and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location between the city centre shops and the restaurants/bars. The tram line is also very accessible. Hotel was clean and pleasant, staff were very friendly and breakfast was absolutely delicious. Shower in hotel room is great. Got room with 20% off price so thought it was excellent value and if you pre-pay for breakfast the night before, cost is £8.95 rather than £13.95.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Starhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Came to Sheffield on a Business Trip and stayed for one night.

On check-in, there was quite a queue that was very slow moving. Eventually, another member of staff arrived to help after other members of staff wandered by.

The room was OK, quite spacious. Was a standard room and I was a bit disappointed to learn that the other member of my party (non LeClub member) had been upgraded for free whereas I wasn't. Nice to know the non-LeClub members are given priority over the LeClub members! Cleanliness was average, although there were a few stray hairs in the bathroom. Nice there was also an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe.

The hot water in the bathroom took over 5 mins to come through after running the tap. When reported to reception, the gentleman asked "have you turned the tap the right way." I like to credit myself with a little intelligence! Hot water was much quicker in the morning.

Didn't eat in the restaurant.

Check out was slow again. Although the staff are very polite and professional.

The lobby, reception area and bar all look immaculate. However the outside of the first floor entrance let the outside down as the seating area was under several inches of water with a green tinge where the drains didn't seem to be working.

It was an OK stay. Would I stay again? If I had to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happynation500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield centre. I can assure you that I have shared your comments with both the Front Office Manager and the Head Housekeeper to ensure that the service issues you encountered were fully addressed. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay in Sheffield last weekend in the spur of the moment after a nice afternoon with some friends. I am fairly local to Sheffield but decided to stay in the City Centre so we could make a night of it.
On arrival check-in was quick and friendly, staff helped recommend places to go in town and booked our taxi for us. The room was perfect, spacious and clean...more importantly it lead to a great nights sleep!
We opted for a special breakfast deal on check-in so it was £8 instead of £13 and this was fantastic. While both myself and my partner were feeling fragile the buffet option were lovely and the staff didn't make us feel rushed at all, despite us arriving late morning.
It was a great night out in Sheffield followed by a very comfortable stay, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

A very nice hotel. Standard of room, service and cleanliness was very good. The only problem I experienced was that the internet connection did not work. Personally I prefer the more traditional sink design but this is only a minor point. Generally a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank peter_cowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sharon Thandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing