We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby, run down and need of a complete refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grubby, run down and need of a complete refurbishment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip and needed to be able to conduct video conferences from my room. So, I book an "Executive Room" as that was supposed to have better facilities for working. When I first got to the room, late on the 1st night, I was disappointed to see how grubby and tired it looked with very obvious stains on the carpet, curtains, throw cushions, and walls. I tried to watch some TV in the only to find that their "In-Room Entertainment" system only offers an odd sub-set of Freeview channels rather than the full set and that half the channels it did offer had picture but no sound and several others had neither picture nor sound. I then tried to listen to the radio, but you can only choose from BBC Radio 1, 2, 4, or 5 Live which is pretty useless. So I gave up. The room was very stuff so despite the cold weather I had to sleep with the window open, but otherwise sleeping was fine.

In the morning I tried to turn the TV back on to sign-up for the broadband package I needed for my work, it refused to turn on. I called reception and they were reluctant to send anyone up as they were busy with breakfast, but I had to be online by 9am. Eventual one person came and couldn't sort the problem, then another person arrived and had no better luck. They then decided to let me use another room temporarily to work from and I was able to set up in there, in all it took about an hour for me to finally get online.

The B&B I stayed in the night before arriving at the Novotel offered a simple TV with the complete Freeview selection of TV channels and Radio stations, and it also offered free high speed Wi-Fi to all guests - why hotels continue to offer less service for more money then an average B&B I cannot understand

They clearly don't trust their guests as the iron in the room is secured to the ironing board in a large holder that takes up most of the space at the wide end, this also makes it very difficult to actually carry and set-up the board and makes doing the ironing much more difficult than it needs to be. I have never before come across this in all the hotels I have stayed in.

I expect to be visiting Sheffield regularly over the next few months but I will not be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 01142 781 781.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    565
    256
    104
    62
See reviews for
310
471
115
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have used this hotel 3 times now & it has never failed to satisfy. Excellent location if you want to be in the centre of Sheffield, perfect for gigs at the Town Hall. As always the showers leak, they look & work great but Accor just can't get them sealed!! As I'm tight I feel they could be cheaper & I don't like the fact you have to pay to park your car. Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the bathroom and car park which we have since addressed.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Staff were friendly, location great and had bonus of carpark.
Had to be changed from first room as the bed was slanted and cushions/bedding stained, this was no problem.
However, the second room had a window which did not open and had no air-con. This meant it was extrememly stuffy. Staff could not resolve window issue, but upon my request provided a fan for the room. Unfortunately the noise from the fan meant we had very little sleep and actually spoilt our trip away.
Pool and changing facilities were VERY small and there was some confusion as to whether the sauna was working! ( several guests could not get it to work)
Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Check the window opens!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield Centre. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the bedroom accommodation which we are in the process of addressing. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second stay here. The location is fantastic as it is located just by the Peace Gardens in the centre of the City. The Hotel has a small but usable swimming pool which kept the children amused, it also has a steam room and gym. The breakfast is superb value and the rooms are very comfy. By booking in advance we got a super deal. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Sheffield is a lovely city and we are very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkymunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed in the Novotel for a weekend away in Sheffield and to watch a show at the Crucible theatre. What can I say? It was excellent, having stayed in the past I knew what to expect and despite it being very busy the whole time we were here this time, the staff were great and attentive even though they were clearly busy and being mobbed by everyone in the reception area. They still remember my name from last time we stay, which was really nice given I haven't stay in over 6 months!
We had a few drinks in the bar before dinner and we found the bar very relaxing and had a laid back feel rather than the 'stuck-up' bars you usually get in 4* hotels so it was a great change. Breakfast both mornings was fairly busy but on both occasions we were not rushed and thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast.
All in all, I will definitely be back! Looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Sheffield Centre.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Over night stay. Hotel is one of the few in city with parking which was main reason for choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent.

The room its self was adequate. I had an executive suite. The room was on a corner over looking the square and was quiet. The decor was very dull and dingy and the carpet was stained in places. The bed was very firm but not supportive in the right places. The bathroom was clean enough but a little tired.

Fine for a business trip but for anything else and you'd probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by the level of customer service you received. I have noted your comments about the accommodation decor, which we are in the process of addressing.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night and booked the hotel as it was close to the City Hall where we had an event. When checking in I had booked for March not February, this was not a problem for the staff who simply moved my booking. Nothing was too much trouble.
I had booked an executive room which was slightly bigger than the standard room and came with extras such as Bose docking station, Nespresso coffee machine and a morning newspaper.
The bar area was clean.
Breakfast was lovely, with freshly cooked food, cereal, fruit and pastries.
An ideal hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Consider booking an executive room for a few little extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnQuorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing