We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second stay here. The location is fantastic as it is located just by the Peace Gardens in the centre of the City. The Hotel has a small but usable swimming pool which kept the children amused, it also has a steam room and gym. The breakfast is superb value and the rooms are very comfy. By booking in advance we got a super deal. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Sheffield is a lovely city and we are very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkymunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed in the Novotel for a weekend away in Sheffield and to watch a show at the Crucible theatre. What can I say? It was excellent, having stayed in the past I knew what to expect and despite it being very busy the whole time we were here this time, the staff were great and attentive even though they were clearly busy and being mobbed by everyone in the reception area. They still remember my name from last time we stay, which was really nice given I haven't stay in over 6 months!
We had a few drinks in the bar before dinner and we found the bar very relaxing and had a laid back feel rather than the 'stuck-up' bars you usually get in 4* hotels so it was a great change. Breakfast both mornings was fairly busy but on both occasions we were not rushed and thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast.
All in all, I will definitely be back! Looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Sheffield Centre.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Over night stay. Hotel is one of the few in city with parking which was main reason for choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was excellent.

The room its self was adequate. I had an executive suite. The room was on a corner over looking the square and was quiet. The decor was very dull and dingy and the carpet was stained in places. The bed was very firm but not supportive in the right places. The bathroom was clean enough but a little tired.

Fine for a business trip but for anything else and you'd probably be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by the level of customer service you received. I have noted your comments about the accommodation decor, which we are in the process of addressing.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed one night and booked the hotel as it was close to the City Hall where we had an event. When checking in I had booked for March not February, this was not a problem for the staff who simply moved my booking. Nothing was too much trouble.
I had booked an executive room which was slightly bigger than the standard room and came with extras such as Bose docking station, Nespresso coffee machine and a morning newspaper.
The bar area was clean.
Breakfast was lovely, with freshly cooked food, cereal, fruit and pastries.
An ideal hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Consider booking an executive room for a few little extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnQuorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good, clean, well equipped hotel in central sheffield location. Pool very small but OK for a dip. Could do with a sauna as well as a steam room. Rooms reasonably well equipped and furnished. For a higher quality go to the mercure in the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tombarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Modern and well equipped hotel with good conference facilities. The food was excellent and the organisation was seamless from start to finish. Clean and well maintained. The reception staff were very welcoming. Very easy to find, it is literally 2 min walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A regular visitor to this hotel I've noticed that the rooms are dating and quality of beds poor. TV / films service poor - frequent stops in films and poor choice. Some moderinisation would be benefical - Staff friendly and breakfast good. The outside smoking area needs moving!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel Sheffield. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the hotel accommodation, which we are currenlty in the process of addressing.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $70 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing