We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here whilst I was attending a conference. Very good location, right in the heart of the city centre. Staff quite friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and spacious, but was a little dusty, the cushions had some stains on it as well. There was a half eaten mars bar in my fridge when I arrived also. Breakfast was good. You had to pay for the wifi so I didn't bother. Im not sure whether I would stay here again, possible but I would look for other hotels in the area as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I would appreciate it if you would contact me at the hotel to discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have tried to speak to the manager about the problems incountered, I have sent an email, called the hotel to make sure she had recieved the email and left a message but it seems the hotel couldn't care less about my horrible experience so I thought I'd share my story.
I stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve for one night. Arrival and check in went smoothly and at first glance I was happy with the room that we had paid for, however after
this things turned from bad to worse.
Firstly the heating in the room wasn't working so it was very cold and as a replacement was given a small electrical heater. Secondly when I asked to use the pool was told that I was unable to as I wasn't an eligible guest. I then had to argue that this wasn't the case.
Thirdly whilst making a hot drink all the electricity went off and a member of staff informed us that it was the wiring in our room and so we couldn't make a hot drink at all. We were told to phone reception and any hot drink would be sent up for us, which is was, but then on
check out was told that we had to pay for it as it was room service!!
Needless to say I did not pay!
The plumbing in the toilet must not have been very efficient as it constantly smelt and finally, just to top everything off the bed appeared to be broken as when you sat on it, it made a large bang. I considered discussing these problems with the staff at check out but
was so annoyed and frustrated so thought better of it! All in all a most unforgettable night but for all the wrong reasons, I can truly say that it was the worse hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 01142 781 781to discuss this further. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my 2 friends stayed at Noveotel Sheffield New Years Eve. When we arrived, I went into the car park only to find no spaces left. The website does not say anything about limited spaces, and one car was parked over two spaces. The hotel should take responsibility in asking the owner to move, to let other residents park their cars, especially on such a busy day. I had to therefore park in the Casino car park round the corner which cost me £14 instead of £10 what we would have paid in the Novotel car park. I later found out we could have got a voucher from reception for £10 parking at the Casino car park, we were not offered this.

We were pleased with the room, very clean, and modern, apart from when we were unpacking our cases, the electric went off, we called reception to ask for help and the man didn't understand us and told us to call him back. We were just left in darkness with no explanation. After the electric going off again we went down to reception as we had to reply on the phone.

We had hoped that as we are not local, someone from the hotel would be able to tell us the best places to eat and drink at etc. Instead we had a man on reception that couldn't understand what we were saying to him, so had to ask random locals, who weren't much help.

After our night out in town, when returning to the hotel, we were told by a member of staff that the lifts were out of order and had to walk the 4 flights of stairs to our room. When reaching the top, someone then came out of the lifts. So it was obvious the lifts were clearly working and the member of staff had lied to us.

The morning we were due to check out we had a rude awakening by the maid at 10am, as we were checking out that day we didn't expect to be disturbed.

Breakfast was very nice, although we did have to witness a member of staff being disciplined by another, which wasn't very pleasant. When we returned to our room to get our things to check out, our key had been deactivated and we couldn't get back in. We had to then go back down to reception to get it reactivated to get back in our room to get our things.

You just wouldn't expect to have so many things wrong in a 4 Star, well known hotel chain, we booked to stay there because of the good reputation of the hotel chain. Definatly wouldnt be staying in the Sheffield Novotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 01142 781 781 to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A modern hotel ideally located for a city break in Sheffield, next to the Lyceum and Crucible Theatres and in the central shopping/bar area. We had an Executive room which was modern and quiet, not sure if the upgrade was worth it though. As far as I could make out, room was no bigger but got a gown (to use, not keep), wi-fi and a fancy coffee machine, none of which were particularly useful. That said, room rate, given location, was still good value. Car parking is plentiful (extra £10) but only a short walk to train station as well. We were going to the theatre and it was literally 2 mins from door to door (mostly undercover). Brekky was decent and good choices available (self serve buffet). Room it is served in was modern and airy. Only gripe for me was the rooms were very warm, we visited on a cold day in December, had heating down to zero and window open yet room was only just bearable. Shame because the hotel has so many other plus points.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The location can't be faulted as it's very central and the revamped city centre has arisen around it (it backs onto the excellent Winter Gardens).

The rooms offer poor sleeping comfort - the beds have foam matteresses and are uncomfortble, the rooms are hot and the air conditioning doesn't work, it's too noisy (extractor fans for the nearby apartment block) to open a window and therefore the room is too hot for quality sleep. Also the noise from the corridors keeps you awake with noisy guests going back to their rooms after clubing.

The rooms are basic in decoration and someone forgot to decorate the toilet judging by out room. The shower leaks wetting the whole floor. The shower itself is powerful and hot though.

The pool is tiny but OK if you have it to yourself.

The car park got full after about 2pm. Luckily we were able to park in the Winter Garden car park next door. Be warned if you need to take your car somewhere as you might not be able to get it back into the car park but will still be charged for the full 24 hours ar £10.

My recommendation (and what I'll do next time) is stay at the St Pauls hotel next door. A bit more expensive but worth the extra. Or stay at the excellent Sheffield United hotel and walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $70 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing