We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beds not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean, modern hotel situated right in the city. Very pleasant, friendly staff. I had booked a double double which to me means two double BEDS. Unfortunately, you actually get one bed and a very uncomfortable sofabed. Even the main bed is a little unnerving because every time you sit on it, it feels like it's going to fold up with you inside it. The stuff of nightmares.....swallowed by a bed.....
But all in all, it was a pleasant enough overnight stay although I wouldn't chose to stay here for more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, however I was disappointed to read your comments on the beds. We are looking into this and I have shared your comments with the team.
I do hope we can welcome you back tothe hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,520)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sheffield Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

We visited the hotel last August and due to the positive experience decided to return. The hotel is very cheap (even when booked a week or so in advance), the pool is lovely and warm and reception ask if you would like the steam room switched on, which after 10 minutes was lovely and warm.

The hotel is extremely child friendly and you really could not fault the customer service, we will definitely return again. The bar prices are very pricey though - (but there's a Sainsbury Local next door!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacksnTressels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

My team, and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay.
it is always good to receive such great feedback and your comments have also been passed to the rest of the team.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friend and I paid a measly £40 for this hotel though hotels dot com. We were delighted when we got there to notice they were charging around £130 a night. I can't really think of anything wrong with this hotel. The most important thing about any hotel for me, is that the beds are comfy - these were as comfy as you can get. Not too hard, not to soft.
The shower was great, the rooms were clean, the location was great, the staff were very friendly. It had a great bar and restaurant, a really nice outside area - it just had everything.
Didn't appreciate paying £10 for parking but really that's me being a bit stingy since we only paid £40 for the night!
What was really cool was the welcoming message (with my name on it) on the TV when we walked into the room. A very nice touch.
I would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. My team, and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay.
it is always good to receive such great feedback and your comments have also been passed to the rest of the team.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you suffer from arthiritus or joint pain the beds are far to hard for a good night's sleep. In all other aspects the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusP183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Had a lovely nights stay. room was lovely staff were wonderful and location great for everything. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginabeaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments and I have also noted your feedback regarding the beds. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything was great with this hotel except the bed. We had a queen bed but really was just 2 singles together was comfy but if me or my partner moved the bed would too and we would end up rolling into the gap

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy250185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsK560
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: $71 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing