We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveler rating
590
641
301
119
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
641
301
119
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate toilet train station car park swimming pool executive room nespresso machine steam room peace gardens winter garden sofa bed mini fridge central location crucible theatre q park afternoon tea few minutes walk bar area
Filter
Updating list...
1,466 - 1,471 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel many times before. Very handy for Sheffield centre and railway station. Obtained an excellent room rate (£35, prepaid) via internet booking made in November. Service very good throughout, especially in dining room, apart from at checkout on Saturday morning when there was only one person manning the desk who was dealing with a large group. Had to leave without properly checking out in order to catch train. No attempt made to summon up extra staff - perhaps there weren't any. Overall though a very good experience as on previous occasions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist312459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have also spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager who is addressing the staffing levels during breakfast at the weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

a very very very good stay! very clean and great service! everyone was very helpful and kind. i would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great vauled place in sheffield. its a 2 min walk to the city centre and the train station on your doorstep! great place A++++++++

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Excursion310982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

It gave me great pleasure to read your comments regarding your stay here at the Novotel. I have today shared your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

.Centrally located and very convenient for those travelling by train, No need for a taxi. just a short walk up a steepish slope. Pleasant receptionists and a good open foyer. Our room smaller than others we have been allocated in the past and access to the bathroom was restricted. Two double doors opened outwards almost touching the bed. As with most business hotels storage for a longish stay was inadequate. Good breakfasts, but where do they keep all their teaspoons?

The city centre with shops, theatres and restaurants is virtually onthe door step. The impressive Wintergardens wiith plants, seating and museum is next door. Not many people contemplate Sheffield as a weekend break, those who do are in for a pleasant surprise. The sister Mercure hotel is adjacent and good for dinner is spectacular surroundings. Dining in the Novotel itself is flexible and can be taken in bar, restaurant or room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianmgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay here at the Novotel. I was disappointed to learn that you felt the size of the room was restricitve for your needs. Upon your next reservation, we will ensure that you are allocated a room which is slighlty bigger than the one you were allocated previously. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel was well signposted from the main road, but good impressions were not made by the car park, which was cramped and haphazard, without signs leading to reception. The reception staff were particularly welcoming and helpful - a big plus after a long journey. The room was clean and comfortable and I elected to order dinner in my room. Contacting room service, either directly or via reception, proved difficult, and ordering dinner required a third call, before it was answered. When it arrived, the food was good, although the ice cream on my dessert was a puddle shortly after arrival; also, there was no bathrobe, so only a towel could protect my modesty when dinner arrived just after I had showered. After a very good night's sleep, I managed to check out swiftly; however, although the breakfast buffet was available, the staff were invisible, so no coffee or, indeed, service. Overall, a mixed experience marred my visit slightly. A comfortable hotel in a central location could do better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at the Novotel on 13th December. I have shared your feedback with the team here. I was very pleased to learn that you found our front office team to be helpful. With regards to the staffing levels at breakfast, my Food & Beverage Manager will be reviewing this particular weekend. We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

would have thought the parking came included in the initial enquiry cost !! other than that wife prefers a bath rather than a shower. I enjoyed the shower though. friendly and good service. Lovely breakfast served in our room the following morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlier310969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here during the festive season. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope also you enjoyed your christmas party also. here at the hotel, we have a variety of rooms which include showers only and showers with baths. Upon your next visit to the hotel we will ensure that we fullfill your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews