We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of London Club - CLOSED

London Club
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Small restaurant, food was divine and good value. Lots of steaks and fish. We went in a party of 8 and everyone was delighted with their meal.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmaSheffield_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite a pleasant experience.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Booked a table for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and when we arrived we were promptly attended to.

I personally really liked the interior and the ambiance and despite being in the middle of the restaurant, I did not feel any discomfort - spacious; tables well arranged.

Service was quite good and I remembered there were another slightly medium-sized party (around 7) and few 2-3 pax tables and with only two waitresses, so their service is well commended. They also catered to my request of storing and serving the birthday cake I brought.

The food was not bad, had the seabass for mains and it was well cooked. Menu did not scream gastronomic excellence but good enough to make me want to go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jingely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply lovely!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We went for a meal at the London Club last night following a recommendation by a chap we met in a pub that day ( we are not from Sheffield).
The food was delicious, steaks cooked perfectly and the sweets are to die for!
The service was attentive but not intrusive and i would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys unfussy, perfectly cooked quality food. Honestly give it a go

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nive Service Food Disappointing”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Service and waiting staff were very polite and made us feel welcome, restaurant nicely decorated and feels relaxed, however, this is the end of the good review. We did opt for the express menu due to the fact we were due in the Crucible in about an hour and this may be the problem.

Prawn and Cray fish cocktail was without much of a trace of any sauce more a case of prawns with a little crayfish and lots of lettuce. Tomato, mozzarella and basil bruschetta was ok but could have been finished with a little garlic/herb oil/sauce.

Fish and chips came battered but fish still had skin on.....on a battered fish????
The roast chicken is scandalous, which part of roasting is not understood, chicken escallops in breadcrumbs fried and dripping in oil with potatoes dripping in oil cannot be described as roast chicken!!! The only part that resembled the menu was the egg on top with rocket.

Very disappointing, thankfully the express menu is inexpensive. We will not be taking a risk on the main menu.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“London Club - Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Me and my Mom went to The London Club before going to the theatre. We had the pre-theatre menu from which we both chose the Mushrooms on toast for starter and the rump steak for main.

The entire meal was delicious, the starter was presented beautifully and came with two delicious sauces one of which (the salsa verdi) was amazingly fresh. The rump steak was perfectly medium and the huge chunky chips to accompany it were also lovely.

We also had a bottle of wine (house white) which was tasty and good quality and the service could not be faulted.

All in all this is a lovely restaurant - great ambience, food and service - well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amylouswfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Club also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing